We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Professional service with a smile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Hartville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Professional service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Positive: Helpful staff, esp. Ulises Estevez, who provided a great attitude in a stressful situation for us. "Thank you!" Beautiful views and easy access for transportation and recreational activities.The friendly conscierge offered accurate information and willingness to assist in reservations. Lovely gift shop. Nice breakfast. Very nice pool and exercise room.
Negative: The room was clean; however, it had no Bible. The elevators were quite noisey, but they had up-to-date quality checked paper work insight.
We felt very safe and comfortable during our too short stay.

Room Tip: "Higher south side rooms offer a gorgeous view."
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    1,207
    675
    398
    252
See reviews for
916
1,218
186
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

1. The hotel seemed dated and in need of major renovations. Honestly my grandparents used to have the fixtures in the bathroom. They were difficult to open.

2. The bathroom water was a light yellow, such that we thought that the toilet was dirty when we first arrived. The toilet also made an incredibly loud flushing noise like a public restroom.

3. The marina building was very far from the parking lot. I think the parking was very much overpriced and the lot seemed lonely and insecure.

4. The hotel property was in need of better maintenance and remodeling. When I looked at the hotel online, it was ALOT nicer in the photos. They misled me to think the hotel was much more upscale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Nashirm,

We appreciate your honest feedback about your stay and regret your disappointment. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We're taking all your suggestions into review and working with our housekeeping and maintenance departments on service improvements. I can assure you we're working to resolve the discolored water and apologize for the concern. The health and safety of our guests will always be a top priority for us and we will work to ensure that you and all other guests feel comfortable and carefree while staying with us. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we welcome any additional comments that may help us become your number one hotel choice in Ft. Lauderdale.

Warm regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Positives: On the beachfront; Free wi-fi; clean, comfortable rooms; restaurant and good deli on the premises; Sun Trolley stops in front of the hotel; free movies on tv; friendly, helpful staff; microwave, fridge and iron in room.
Negatives: Unpleasant smell in hallway and passages; walls a bit thin so could be noise from rooms next door

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I travel extensively for work and primarily stay in Hilton properties. Typically, the DoubleTree is modern and comfortable. Not on the high end of hotels, but suitable for when you are in the room minimally. I was very disappointed in the room quality of this property.

The good:
1) great location just a couple of blocks from the main beach/bar area
2) ample parking
3) postings in several places listing daily activities (paid of course)

The bad:
1) 2 elevators for a large building and they are SLOW
2) the room was extremely minimalist (and not in a good way). think Miami Vice on a shoestring budget. -- plastic furniture, blackout shades with no drapes, no artwork, etc
3) Tiny beds (we upgraded from a King room to 2 beds for the ocean view) not even sure if it would qualify as a Double. Also, the mattresses were lumpy and not very comfortable.
4) Ocean View was limited due to a tiny window in the far corner behind the plastic table/chairs and the drapery pulled into the room instead of into the corner
5) bathroom was very outdated

Room Tip: stay on a lower floor so that you don't have to wait on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnH_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear ShawnH,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us We are very sorry you were disappointed with our guestroom decor and that your room view wasn't all that you expected. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We will be sure to inspect our mattresses to ensure they're providing guests will quality comfort and our maintenance team is working with our vendors to inspect and repair the slow elevators and apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I have celebrated our September wedding anniversary at the Bahia Mar for the past three years. As west coast Naples residents it's an easy commute and a very relaxing weekend away. We love the laid back atmosphere of the hotel and the convenient location to the beach and restaurants. In October I will be back to celebrate the "Big 50" with my best friend for a girly weekend away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to my next stay.

PD Naples, Florida

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear P D,

Thank you staying with us year after year!

At Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach, a DoubleTree by Hilton we are looking forward to having fun during your 50's celebration!

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over a long weekend in January, 2013. They seem to cater primarily to the cruise crowd with proximity to the Ft. Lauderdale cruise terminal. Also within walking distance of the beach and restaurants. Stayed in the main tower. It was noisy with doors slamming well into the early morning. Upon check-in, the bathroom toilet clearly hadn't been cleaned as evidence by the seat. I would have called to complain but needed to use the toilet so wound up cleaning it myself. Not a good first impression. In general, the bathroom was in need of a refresh. The tub needed to be refinished or replaced. The shower and toilet area is very cramped. The breakfast buffet was average, but busy with those eating before the cruise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_Gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
449 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

When you arrive in Ft. Lauderdale, you are overwhelmed by the number of hotels to choose from. Many hotels are near the beach, but the Bahia Mar stands out. You are right next to the
Water Taxi stop. There are several fishing boats that give day trips. There is even a Gondola
that holds 6 people that will take you around the various waterways. You can walk to the Jungle Queen for a dinner cruise. The young people who park your car, are a wealth of information. There are plenty of good restuarants nearby and a wonderful inexpensive breakfast shop across from the main lobby. The staff of the hotel are friendly, the rooms are spacious and they have great rates. I was fortunate enough to have a very comfortable queen size bed with a firm matress which resulted in a peaceful night's sleep. The hotel has a full range of amenities. I almost forgot to mention they have a car rental service in the hotel lobby. The front desk will arrange for wonderful tours. I am returning to the Bahia Mar again this month. Because of the location, you really do not need to rent a car, if your are staying in the local area. I guess it is true, location, location, location - really matters.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear GregH,

We are glad you had a great time while staying at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach, a DoubleTree by Hilton.

FUN, BEACH and LOCATION define who we are in Fort Lauderdale and we are happy you found lot's of that!

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#54 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#26 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Bahia Cabana Beach Resort
#100 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#37 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing