We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #55 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed March 5, 2008

I was a little hesitant going here after the reviews on here. A little advice..you can't trust the bad reviews. The place is nice and the rooms are nice! The only thing that isn't nice is the $18 a night charge for parking and the $50 a day hold on your card for incidentals which by the way I am still waiting to come off of my card. The pool restaurant is expensive. A paper cup drink of margaritta etc is $9! I would not suggest the breakfast buffett inside the hotel is 17 dollars and wasn't that good. I would go to the deli outside the hotel and get sausage biscuits for $2. Good restaurants are Oasis Cafe and Baha Cabana and Coconuts. The cabs are so expensive! It costs us $20 to get to our hotel which is 5 miles down the road! Take the bus if possible! Fort Lauderdale is very expensive..word to the wise. We didn't have a car so we walked everywhere. The closest place to get alcohol is the seven eleven down the road. We didn't find any grocery stores or fast food around the hotel. I suggest taking the Jungle Cruise it is right at the dock near the hotel. Take your ticket stubs and get half off the parking at Bahia Mar. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jwilkes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,456 - 3,462 of 4,034 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2008

This hotel is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at The website is very deceiving. Upon arrival we were slightly disappointed. Our first night we stayed in two story building. The halls smelled terrible and there were no elevators. We waited an hour until we got our luggage and not until we called downstairs to remind them to bring it. The next day we moved to the main building and was given a complimentary upgrade to a ocean view. (Note: Ocean view and ocean front are two different things). The room did not have a real balcony, it just big enough to stand on. Below us all we could see were cigarette butts on the roof below us. But nothing prepared us for what was to come. Valet treated us horrible. We were completely ignored due to racism. After speaking to management the valet guy began treating us like Kings and Queens, however too late too little. The manager offered to take off one night of valet service, what an insult. It would have been better if she just apologized. I have since called the higher management, to date I still have not received a response. My suggestion is to stay somewhere else.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank kaydee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We traveled to this hotel for a short stay from Feb 21st thru the 24th. Our room was a ocean marina view with a balcony.
The room is very dated ... old furiture, burn holes and stains in the carpet, shower was very hard to regulate so you excepted a shower that ran to hot and then to cold . Beds were comfortable.service was so so. very slow but why should employees work hard when everything is taxed 20 % gratuity.
I don,t no why Bahia Mar dosn,t clean up and do some major renovations as the location of this hotel could make this place first class. I don,t think I would return to this place if I was staying for more than a night.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mavmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We booked a two night stay at Bahia Mar pre-cruise, and were allowed to upgrade to an ocean/marina view for free through the hotel website. I would not settle for anything less than this type of room in the tower, as the view makes up for the shortcomings. The cons: outdated room and furniture, slow elevators, smoke in hallways that may get into your room even if it is a smoke-free floor. The pros: $15-20 taxi ride from the airport and to Port Everglades, good location (right across from the beach, you can walk to many shops and restaurants along the strip, 7-11 for forgotten items, near stop #5 of the water taxis) a private bridge that leads across the busy road, computers w/ free internet in the lobby, comfortable beds. The balcony they boast in each room is really a sliding door that steps out about a foot, it's good enough to get the ocean breeze and fresh air though. It did rain hard the first day and a half we were there, a small tornado did some damage in upper Ft. Lauderdale, yes....I know Florida is known for hurricanes, but tornadoes?? It was beautiful though when the weather finally cleared up. I would recommend trying out Coconuts next to International Swimming Hall of Fame, their menu is not extensive but you will enjoy whatever you order. Also Bubba Gump Seafood is good if you have never had the chance to experience this chain restaurant. Tickets for the water taxi were $12/pp, definitely worth it though b/c it's an all day pass, takes you to Las Olas Boulavard (which is otherwise several miles to walk to) and the boat guide gives humorous commentary and facts on the yachts and mansions of Millionare Row. It's a tour and transportation, we rode the whole route and just enjoyed the scenery. Warning: you may become sick after the ride when you find out how much money these people have to throw around, $10,000 per palm tree?! Hahaha! Overall, we were content with our stay at the Bahia Mar b/c it allowed us to have a fun small vacation before the big one, the cruise! Wake up for the sunrise, one of the best you will see and well worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank imsupafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Spent 2 nights here prior to our Cruise. I would agree with some of the previous comments regarding this Hotel. The location is excellent, especially if you are looking to use the beach. However the rooms are badly in need of refurbishment. They are not at all dirty, but tired and worn looking.
We stayed in the annexe, which was fine for a couple of nights but I would definitely ask to be in the main hotel if ever we returned to this Hotel.
In conclusion a perfectly adequate stop-over Hotel, but probably not one for a Holiday stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hijano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Booked for one night pre-cruise. Lobby and room both had horrible smells. It smelled like they tried to cover up nasty odors with a strong disenfectant. Could hardly sleep from the off smells even though I was travel weary & exhausted.

Hotel is old & tired. Has had some cosmetic fixes in the rooms but still looks and smells dated & worn. Carpet in our room had lots of stains. Pretty nasty!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaydee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Recommend for one day stay and for cruisers.
The good:
Excellent staff, these folks are one of the best resort staffs we've ever had! Location for both beach and marina; room size was very big - main room, separate room for hanging clothes and getting dressed and storing luggage and very nice sized bathroom. Several nice places to eat in the area; call front desk if you need a small fridge and they will bring one to your room; pool area was also very nice.
The bad:
Building is old and the rooms can have small problems you'll notice after a couple of days. Getting your room cleaned can be a major chore (send me an email for particulars). Prices are very high (example - beer was $7) and a small breakfast buffet was $13. Furniture in room was in dispair and tv was very old.

My review:
We stayed at the Bahia Mar for four days and while the place is very old, the service was excellent. We stayed there since they have smoking rooms, and believe me, it's getting very hard to find a hotel where you can smoke at in Florida.
Anyway, our room had a full port view and partial ocean view, which was perfect for us. It was wonderful watching the ships (5 sat, 6 sun, 3 mon & 0 on tue) come in to port and leave later in the day. The rooms have a very small balconies, just big enough to step outside, however it was good enough for us. We could open the sliding glass doors and get a very nice breeze and also hear the ships horns during muster drill and leaving the port.
Very nice walkway (above ground) to both beach and pool area.
Very close (3 minute walk) to water taxi which we used all the time.
We spent about an hour a day in the mornings outside of the lobby chatting with folks who were getting ready to cruise. Wonderful way to start the day!
Overall:
As said above, for cruisers this place is hard to beat for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,019 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,739 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,611 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $142 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing