We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Room for the Money Paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed October 15, 2007

The elevator was broken and we had to use the stairs, the room smelled moldy because the carpet was damp, tjhe smoke detector was missing, upon arrival the towels were still dirty in the shower. sliding door to the balcony would not lock, the room lamp was falling over. the exit sign in the hallway was hanging down with just the wires holding it. the pool was closed.
For the price that I paid the owner should be updating this hotel

I will never stay there again, and will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank billymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,509 - 3,515 of 4,069 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2007

I wasn't lucky enough to stay in the main building. Air conditioning gave the room a moist feeling all the time. Bathtub was dirty and trash was on the floor when I checked in. Two days later the trash was finally picked up. During my stay I contracted pink eye, no doubt from something in the room not being cleaned sufficiently. The beach access was the highlight of the trip! The pool deck was large and close to a restroom and bar. The fitness center was very nice and had great equipment.. We were given no choice but to use the valet parking during our stay. The bellmen and restaurant staff were very nice and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank charliebrown105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Great location, they have a walkway above the road the beach. The pool is open 24/7 and the drinks during the day at the pool are reasonably priced for a hotel pool. Music is played all day which is nice. A very wide mix of families with children and couples and this hotel meets the needs of both.
There were 6 computers in the lobby for internet access. Didn't eat at the restaurant but there are many in the area.
Overall good stay, large rooms, great views. The Front Desk was very friendly and gave us a free upgrade since they had rooms available. The only downside was that at exactly 4pm the line for check-in was very long. We were there ten minutes before check in time and they would not let us check in which was a little frustrating seeing that within 10 mins the line became more then 10 people long, that is my only complainant.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank newyorkgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

The Bahia Mar was not a great experience. The front desk manager was a jerk until he realized he was wrong and they had a "system error." They wanted to charge us for four nights after only staying there for two nights. Also, if you are looking to relax in the morning, and maybe sleep in -- this definitely is not the hotel to stay at. If you did nor order a morning wake up call -- plan on one around 7:30 or 8:00 when house keeping comes knocking on your door until you respond. Then an hour later they will call to see what time you would like the room cleaned. In all of my travel experiences I have never experienced such rude customer service from a manager, and housekeeping that does not even respect the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. There are plenty of other very nice hotels in the area for the same price. One other thing - The Bahia Mar does not have central AC. So you get the Motel style swap cooler with the loud fan blowing al night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lifeshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We spent four days at the Bahia Mar and had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was more than helpful. Anything we needed they were happy to accomodate. The pool area is beautiful and is where we spent most of our time. We will definitely consider it for future trips.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank redsox07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Just got back from the Bahia Mar Resort. Booked through Priceline and was a little scared after reading the reviews. Actually it's not bad. The location is perfect. The room, bed and linens are great. Our plane arrived at 6 am and could do checkin right away and got upgraded to a Marina view without even asking for it... The Garden view rooms are awful so I am glad we got a free upgrade. The tower is much better but we did not get upgraded over there, if you go try to get the tower rooms. The building is a little worn out, specially the one were we stayed, my guess is that it is due part because of the rain and ocean but also some cleaning and paint would not hurt.. Carpets look outdated and in general the common areas don't look that good but once you are in your room it's great. We did not use their restaurants because we felt they were pricey (Breakfast for us$16) so instead we drove to the upscale Las Olas for eating (10 minutes away). The ocean is really right acrosss the street and the location is great. Would probably try to find something a little better next time for the same price (us$72) but it's really hard to find cheap prices in the area. Parking and Internet are extra. $18 for Parking per Day.. This really adds up! So if you are having a long stay look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank uribes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Stayed at the Bahia Sept 24-27th. We'll it rained for 3 days straight due to a tropical disturbance. Thank goodness we were in the Bahia - it is within walking distance to many, many shops, bars, food, etc. We ended up having a great time dispite the rain. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was just fine for two - a seperate shower/toilet area, from the sink area. It had a nice balcony and views. The bed was the best part-so comfortable, I did not want to get out of bed!!! The staff was friendly and the pool and fitness center was terific. There is even an outdoor pool table and bar at the pool.The restruant had great food. The marina behind the hotel offered great views of large yachts and a great fishing charter - Flamingo Charters. (these guys are great) Overall, not a 5 star hotel, but I will be back every time I visit Ft.Lauderdale!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank surfbecca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,045 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,856 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,637 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,460 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $150 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing