We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning 3rd trip in a year --- HB Marriott is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Planning 3rd trip in a year --- HB Marriott is great!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I (40+ year old, travel regularly to beachy places but always try to save money) first encountered the Harbor Beach Marriott at the end of a week-long vacation we had last year at the Key Largo Marriott. We were disappointed in that property, and moved over to the HB Marriott for the last night of our vacation. Needless to say we were stunned at the difference in the two resorts, and are now planning our third trip back!

The one downside to this resort are the rooms -- the standard rooms are VERY standard, with the unfortunately typical small Marriott bathroom. On our last stay we had a BEAUTIFUL Oceanfront room -- so if you can afford it, I highly recommend the upgrade. This is not an inexpensive hotel -- but in my opinion what you get for your money is well worth it.

So what DO you get? Well to me you get a real luxury resort feel without the hassle of the Caribbean, only 2+ hours from the NY/NJ area. On our last trip we flew non-stop from Atlantic City -- our flight left at 7:30am and by 10:30am we were checked into our room and on the beach...It's only a 10 minute cab ride from the airport, so we don't even rent a car -- if you like fine dining they have everything you need right on property. If you want to venture out you can walk to several spots, or take the water taxi to dining, shopping, sightseeing....

So...the pool is FABULOUS -- it's huge, with an easy step in end that families with kids generally congregate at....and a deep end with lots of lovely palm trees for shade if you need it (I do). There is also a lovely waterfall feature, and luxury cabanas that you can rent out. There is also great poolside service -- they'll bring you anything you like from the beach restaurant right to your chair.

So...the food is FABULOUS -- it's expensive, yes, but if you prefer not to eat fast food on your vacation it's going to cost money, right? Their breakfast buffet is quite pricey -- but with the coffee and juice included in the price we usually go for it -- although their a la carte breakfast items are great too - especially the omelette with asparagus and goat cheese. For lunch they have the Sea Level restaurant right on the beach. The food there is delicious---my favorite is the arugula salad with lump crab meet and a lemon vinaigrette -- YUM! Finally they have a serious modern gourmet restaurant for dinner, 3030. The food there is amazing -- we have had several things from the menu on our visits and they've all been fantastic. The sticky toffee pudding dessert is to die for!

So...the beach is BEAUTIFUL!! I'm a Jersey girl so I don't mind a wavy beach --- the sand at the HB Marriott beach is super soft, they have great beach service...but the pool is so nice we generally tend to hang out there the most.

So....there's more? Don't forget to get your spa on!!! They have a lovely spa on property that has it's own lounge and pool set up and away from the main hotel pool. The services and amenities there are great -- I had an eyebrow wax and a pedicure while I was there and I felt very pampered!

So....if the rooms were a bit bigger I would love this property even more, but if they were I probably wouldn't be able to afford it!!!! We'll be back the first week of June, and can't wait to be there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JerseyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    891
    303
    133
    80
See reviews for
889
843
75
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

As promised from entreing the lobby to check out. Everything was great pool area, beach area. Restaurants excellant breakfast buffett wonderful a variety of everything you would want. Sea level restaurant service and food great. A nice surprise in the afternoon by the pool lemonade and choc. chip. cookies.compliants of the resort. Worth every penny we spent for the room. We had ocean /pool view. Sat on our balcony watched cruise ships coming and going.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have stayed down the street at the Courtyard hotel. We really liked the area, so we decided to spend this weekend at the resort to compare the two.

I used Marriott reward points to cover the cost of the room, but the weekend would have been $300 plus a night. I was upgraded to an ocean front room, King bed, small pull out couch. The room was pretty tight and I doubt that 4 adults could squeeze in the room because the couch was smaller than a loveseat.

Pros:
-Right on a beautiful stretch of private beach
-The resort has everything to make it a RESORT!
-The staff was fantastic!
-The bed was terrific and super comfy.
-The restaruants are top notch
-The pool is large and in charge (ocean was a chilly in April, but pool was really warm)
-Walking distance to the beach front restaurants and bars.
-Really close to the cruise ship port so it would be great for the night before or after a cruise.
-Jetski rental right on their beach.

Cons:
-Price is oppressively high for the hotel
-Valet will run you $32 a night plus tips (tips were well deserved for the great valet group!)
-Restaurants were also really expensive.
-Jetski rental place was pretty rude and tried to hard sell 30 min rental for $95.


Bottom line is this, I will absolutely go back, but I will need to save for a while to pay for everything. Plan ahead, understand you are at a resort with resort prices, eat elsewhere if necessary, and let the staff take good care of you. You will not be disappointed as long as you are prepared for the sticker shock.

Thanks and Happy Travels!

Room Tip: If you are a sunrise kind of person, spring for an ocean front room. Absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeymoonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborBeachMarriott, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for the posting. Come back now through October for our Summer pricing which will be much more attractive for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Had a very good experience at this hotel. Staff was exremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were what I would expect from a Marriott. Upon arrival was upgraded to oceanfront room which was a nice touch. Only negative is the cost of food at the hotel. Breakfast buffet not worth the $25 per person. Sea View restaurant was nice, but very limited menu. The staff was the reason I rate this so high.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife accompanied me to a company conference at Marriott Harbor Beach. The conference was two days, and we arrived two days early. I don't understand the negative reviews, except for the complaints about the price. My god, you could not breath without being overcharged, for example lunch at Sea Level was $75 for a two sandwiches and two drinks. With that said, we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

The staff was always extremely friendly and helpful--everyone we passed unfailingly smiled and said hello, and if we looked like we needed help (for example, were standing somewhere looking around as if we were not sure where we were going), some staff member passing by us would stop and ask if they could help. So we just can't understand the comments about the staff being rude.

Some reviews complained about the room not being all that special. True, it was pretty much a standard Marriott room, which is to say it was fine, though a bit more sound isulation between rooms would be nice (although we always travel with ear plugs.) The balcony was a bit small. We did request an oceanview room on or above the 10th floor and ended up in 1235. Waking up to the ocean, the ships, and the pelicans was a lovely way to start the day.

Regarding food, we had lunch the first day at the Sea Level restaurant on the deck overlooking the beach. The food was fine, but again the cost. Dined one night at 3030 Ocean and thought it was quite good (and my wife is very discerning when it comes to food). The best was the beach service where the person drove up and down the beach in a small truck containing a full bar, blender and all. The person would even bring lunch to you from the beach bar. Ate several breakfasts at Bahia Cabana a short walk away. The food was decent; eating it on the deck overlooking the marina was great; and the cost for two was less than $20--far less than anything at the Marriott.

The spa was very nice, if extremely expensive--although not out of line with the prices at other higher end resorts. The outdoor spa pool was lovely, although it didn't have a view of the beach; they went for quiet and seclusion, which they did achieve. It has salt water and music piped in under the water--a gimmick but interesting nonetheless. Poolside food and drink service, with a dedicated attendant, was a nice touch. The inside spa facilities were nice but not as nice as others we've experienced.

Take the water taxi even if you do not get off. The views of the mansions along the waterway and the mega yachts was worth the trip alone. We took it to Las Olas Blvd and walked around, which was a nice way to spend an evening.

Finally, I was there for a company conference and want to say that the facilities, service, and food provided were great.

All in all we had a nice relaxing trip. However, we probably would not return because better values exist elsewhere.

Room Tip: The balcony on the 12th floor and I think the 9th, 6th, and 3rd as well, have solid concrete walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidWrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a good Marriott Resort Hotel at Fort Lauderdale. The rooms were excellent size and so were the beds.

The hotel obviously caters for Americans rather than us Brits, but that is a good point rather than a negative one.
The food is excellent. The pool area can get busy but the beach is vast and the water unbelievably clear. The beach is white sand and very clean.

There is good shopping about 10 miles away at a mall, but in essence this is a beach side
experience.
Very hot in May

Room Tip: High rooms ..good sea view ....also intercoastal waterways good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyskennelmate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborBeachMarriott, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Glad that you enjoyed your stay - thank you for your posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a great experience. We particularly enjoyed the beach and the very attentive and friendly customer service. The food was fantastic and very fresh. We definitely recommend this place and we look forward our next visit.

Room Tip: Definitely go for an ocean front view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIGDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,487 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,651 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,837 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the crisp ocean air and soak up the Sunshine State's radiant rays during a stay at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa. Situated along a quarter-mile of private beach, our Fort Lauderdale resort provides tropical tranquility while offering easy access to Fort Lauderdale airport and top attractions including Las Olas Boulevard. Dive into our refreshing lagoon pool, take to the Atlantic for jet skiing or snorkeling, or pamper yourself at our full-service spa. When it's time to refuel, savor innovative cuisine at one of our three restaurants, sip handcrafted cocktails while relaxing under swaying palm trees or perk up with a treat from Starbucks. Looking to gather your group or celebrate a wedding or special event? Impress your guests with a celebration on the beach, or host a night to remember in our spectacular ballroom with the ocean as your backdrop. Our stylish, redesigned guest rooms and suites are an ideal oasis after your adventurous day. Plan a getaway at our resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Harbor Beach Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Harbor Beach
Marriott Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing