We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel w/Fantastic Beach-Close to Las Olas Blvd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Hotel w/Fantastic Beach-Close to Las Olas Blvd”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is our 2nd time here and there have been many improvements to the facility. Last time was 6/2007. We went for 7 nights on points and booked an intercoastal view, but we were upgraded to an oceanfront from the very nice gentleman who checked us in. Never hurts to ask.

Info:
-Very family friendly resort.
-Lemon & Lime ice water available for free all day at pool area.
-New restraurant and bar near pool area (used to be like a cafeteria style). They did a great job in our opinion. Many other noticeable improvements on the property.
-Las Olas is only about a 1 mile walk from the hotel. Some construction going on at the public beach, so you have to walk around it, but it was no big deal.
-Parking is $25/day at the hotel. No way around it.
-Food at the hotel is, not surprisingly, very expensive. Sandwich/buger is ~$13-18 and dinners are ~$30-?? w/o beverages. The food was very good and fresh.
-The is a Primanti Bros (famous Pittsburg restraurant featured on Man vs. Food) about 1.6 miles N or hotel in Las Olas. Right across the street is a nice bar/eatery that has good conch chowder. Nice Irish pub real close also.
-Lulu's bait shack is in that stretch also and they have good live bands in the evenings.
-Hot tubs were excellent most of the time.
-Pool is great but a little too warm (even at this time of year).
-Beach is excellent and plenty of chairs at no additional cost.
-Room is very nice and clean. No microwave or fridge.
-Internet in rooms is 12.95/day. It was pretty fast.
-Smoking is allowed in designated areas, at the outside bar, and in the pool area (which was a shocker to me).
-Staff is excellent.
-Our only real negative is that the hotel offers locals a membership so they may use the facilities year round. So, there were a lot there during our stay in March, but there were a ton more during our last stay in June as school was out (that time it kind of overcrowded the pool area). Good deal if you live in the area. Not so much for out of town guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    907
    303
    136
    83
See reviews for
917
853
78
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis, Indiana, USA
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I recently spent 5 nights at this hotel with my wife and three kids ( 7-12). We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. It is located right on the beach- no roads to cross and the beach is private for hotel guests. The pool is huge. We spent our days at the pool and the beach. The service may be even better than the hotel. The bell captain- Melissa could not have been more helpful. It was great week for the family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emt0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed here over the Spring Break weekend (4/2/11 to 4/4/11). As often as we stay at Marriott properties since we are Platinum members, this is one of our favorite properties. It was a very busy weekend and the front desk staff got us into the room as soon as they could. We were disappointed that we couldn't get an Ocean View room even with our Plantinum status but we understood that they did the best they could (they did provide some additional incentives as a consolation).

We ate dinner the first night at Sea Level restaurant. We made reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival. The food was OK - the housemade chips were burnt (thankfully they were compliementary). The service staff could have been more attentive as they seemed more interested in chatting than doing their jobs. I had to get my child's drink refill myself after waving for service several times. We could understand if they were busy, but this was before 6pm and there were a lot of empty tables around us.

We ate breakfast (full buffet) at Riva the next morning. The food was well-prepared and they had a great selection; the restaurant was very clean and the staff and manager went out of their way to make us comfortable. Taylor, the manager, made us feel at home.

The front desk staff was exceptional throughout our stay. Richard (and another agent) checked us in and were there upon checkout to make sure we had everything we needed. We were surprised, though, that as Platinum Elite members we did not get the same call-ahead service and upgrades that other Elite comments mentioned; perhaps because the hotel was fully booked that weekend. Our overall experience was very positive as the room, pool and the beach were very clean and nice.

On our way out, we did experience a "hiccup" with the parking garage elevator. It seemed to skip floors and return to the original position even though the destination button was pushed. It never got stuck though so we were fortunate; it's the one on the right if you are entering the elevators from the lobby.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLtraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed at the resort for five nights in early April. First, the resort is in a wonderful location---right on the beach. You can walk from the pool to the beach in less than two minutes. When we were there, it was crowded but not terrible---plenty of chairs to go around for everyone. We rented tennis rackets and played tennis one morning which was fun. We also rented boogie boards for the day as well. The resort has many areas just to sit and visit and enjoy the beauty of the resort. The staff was friendly and out-going and all the staff members seemed happy. We ate at one restaurant, Sea Level (I think). The menu was okay, food was good and prices were typical resort-like expensive. The most I can say for the restaurant was that it was handy. Our room was very clean. We had issue with a light flickering in the bathroom and with one call to the front desk, it was promptly repaired. If you're into shelling, the beach didn't have a ton of shells, but my kids were happy none-the-less with what they found. The resort offers a lot of recreational activities that we didn't have time to enjoy---hopefully next time. Off-site, we went to a Marlins baseball game, saw Wicked at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, had a couple of dinners at restaurants on Los Olas Blvd and took our daughters to the Museum of Science and Discovery---so you can see there's also a lot to do in the Ft. Lauderdale area as well. One thing that was a little disappointing was the cost for self-parking at $25/night, which seemed a little high for a resort and not a downtown-type of hotel. When you're researching resorts, make sure that the resort is actually ON the beach (if that matters to you) as there are a LOT of resorts/hotels in the area, but many are not on the beach like the Marriott. Thanks to all the reviewers whose reviews that I read that helped us to decide on the Marriott Harbor Beach!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michigan Mom of three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed and the Marriot Harbor Beach Resort and Spa in Ft. Lauderdale on April 4th and 5th for some rest and relaxation after a 4 night cruise. It was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at! The beach was gorgeous. You could watch the cruise ships come in and out of Port Everglade and the view was spectacular. Everything about the service was impressive...from the concierge that contacted me before our stay to make sure we had everything we needed, to the attendant in the beach buggy that brought drinks and food to you on the beach! The only downfall was the drinks and food were very pricey. But in my opinion well worth it. I don't mind paying for excellent food and service. I can't say enough about this place other than I wish we spent the entire week there.

Room Tip: Request and ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

They checked us into a 80 degree room with broken a/c. We got into another room where it took 2 hours to get a crib that was requested a month ahead of time. All of the tap water was yellow (Lord knows why). The food and drinks at all of the restaurants, room service, poolside, etc., was EXTREMELY expensive. The elevators broke down for half of a day, so everyone was forced to use the stairs. (This was a joy being on the 4th floor with a 2-yr. old, but at least I wasn't on the 15th floor!) The pool was extremely crowded.

The beach area - sand and surf - was very clean and nice, however.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

From the moment I arrived I was delighted to see smiling faces from the staff along with attention to detail with my every need. I only stayed for 3 days but it seemed like a lot longer. I had a room with a view of the intercoastal and enjoyed the room immensely. The beach was amazing and the ocean was crystal clear. The pool has a waterfall by it and attendants that cater to your every request. The have what looked like a first class spa but I never made it to it. Mostly I took advatage of their 24 hour room service and the food made me want more and more. My family spent a majority of their time in the pool or ocean and when I go back to Fort Lauderdale I will stay NO other place. Man it was fun!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the crisp ocean air and soak up the Sunshine State's radiant rays during a stay at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa. Situated along a quarter-mile of private beach, our Fort Lauderdale resort provides tropical tranquility while offering easy access to Fort Lauderdale airport and top attractions including Las Olas Boulevard. Dive into our refreshing lagoon pool, take to the Atlantic for jet skiing or snorkeling, or pamper yourself at our full-service spa. When it's time to refuel, savor innovative cuisine at one of our three restaurants, sip handcrafted cocktails while relaxing under swaying palm trees or perk up with a treat from Starbucks. Looking to gather your group or celebrate a wedding or special event? Impress your guests with a celebration on the beach, or host a night to remember in our spectacular ballroom with the ocean as your backdrop. Our stylish, redesigned guest rooms and suites are an ideal oasis after your adventurous day. Plan a getaway at our resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Harbor Beach Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Harbor Beach
Marriott Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing