We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-cruise layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pre-cruise layover”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here the night before a cruise. I booked using our Hilton HHonors points. Check in was a breeze, but the complimentary infused water was empty every time I went to get a glass. Free sushi was nice as was happy hour with half price wine.

Our room was neat and clean, but was in an older building. The shower left a little to be desired as far as water pressure. Beds were comfortable.

The public places were really very nice. We spent our evening relaxing by the pool in the restaurant outside, then had dinner in the attached sushi/asian restaurant. The food was good, but really expensive. We figured that we'd either spend the money on the food or a taxi to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdobbins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear rdobbins_11,
We appreciate your business and your loyalty to Hilton. We’ve shared your observation about the empty water jug. All three of our buildings are the same age. We’re so pleased you enjoyed our pool, our G Bar poolside, and Nanking, our newest offering. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    1,434
    1,021
    588
    399
See reviews for
981
1,702
242
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here prior to our celebrity cruise. It is in great location as it is minutes from airport and even shorter to terminal. You can see your ship from the front of hotel.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance as well as a liquor store and wallgreens for pre cruisers. Pre book a ride as not many cabs want to come over and wait for an $8 fare and while close, you can not walk as there are no sidewalks in port area.

You are right by bridge and huge yachts docked everywhere. The small outdoor bar / restaurant is on water and next to pool but service is very slow.

Rooms are small and many do not have balconies or views. They are a bit dated and not up to Hilton standards.

Service was friendly and good other than aforementioned bar area.

Pools small but I like that the pool attendant actually worked hard. Clearing chairs and helping people find spots by moving chairs etc...

Overall in would do this again for a cruise but it would not be a place to stay a week or take kids on a vacation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tackitikihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Tackitikihut,
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your pre-cruise stay, and also for sharing your experiences. We have a great location here in Fort Lauderdale, close to the airport, the port, the Intracoastal Waterway, the beach, the Water Taxi, and 17th Street with its restaurants and shopping. We have the best views of Port Everglades and the cruise ships entering and leaving. Almost all of our rooms have balconies although the views certainly vary. We appreciate your acknowledging Demetrius, our talented pool ambassador. Please come back soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a fabulous (and very popular/busy) pre-cruise hotel for a variety of reasons. It's only 2-3 miles from the port, a quick, cheap cab ride. (Warning... The line for cabs to the port on cruise departure day can be VERY LONG!). There is a water taxi directly outside the hotel that runs constantly, up and down the Intracoastal Waterway, with stops at many shops and restaurants. The Intracoastal itself is beautiful. Hotel has a great pool/bar/restaurant area.. A very popular hangout for hotel guests. The marina that the hotel is located on, is a great place to walk along. While there we saw some amazing yachts as well as several fishing boats bringing in the day's catch. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Only complaint was that wifi did not work well at all but the hotel graciously credited our bill on checkout.

The junior suite we had was beautiful. It overlooked the pool and marina. We were pleasantly surprised at how big it was. It had a huge flat screen TV, coffee maker, rain shower heads in the shower ( my son and husband thought this was the best feature).

We will definitely be booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.. This is a popular pre-cruise hotel because of its proximity to the port. Juni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

By far the worst service I have ever experienced. My personal toiletries were thrown away by the housekeepers, I complained and wrote a report but I have not heard from the hotel at all and this was 2 months ago. I was staying for 2 nights but the reservations were made separately so when I arrived I asked at reception if I could stay in the same room for both nights. I was told that this would be absolutely fine so I left my personal items in the room when I went out the following day. When I returned my key card did not work so I went to reception and was told that the room I was in had been given to someone else, and my reservation for that evening had been cancelled and they did not know where my personal items where. The following day my clothes were returned but all my toiletries were thrown out. I have yet to receive any communication from the hotel despite my numerous phone calls to them, I have received no compensation and at no point have been able to speak to a Manager. The room service was also terrible, I called 20mins before closing and it took 3 attempts before anyone there answered, and when they did the woman was calling down the phone "no more calls" when she realised I was a customer she changed her tune but I could not understand why when they were still open it was so difficult to get through. I am absolutely appalled at the repeated failings of this hotel. Do not stay here, the Hyatt hotel just opposite is wonderful and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Alexis W,
We appreciate your detailed review and have shared your feedback with the appropriate departments. There seems to have been mutual misunderstanding about your two reservations, for which we regret our part. Our Safety & Security Manager remembers the incident about the shampoo and conditioner you reported missing and has a different recollection. He told you we would email you if we found the missing items, which we did not, nor did our investigation reveal negligence calling for compensation. We’re so sorry to hear that you had difficulty using our “Fresh Connection” in room dining and have shared your feedback with the manager.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed post cruise in a junior suite in the tower. Daughter and friend stayed in a regular room in the tower.

Good Points - wonderful view, good size rooms although in need of renovations from use soon. Room was clean. Except for management, staff was friendly and helpful.

Not so good points - TV did not work - was told don't worry you don't pay extra for it. Pointed out kind of expectation it would work, was told a maintenance engineer would come, checked twice but one never did.

Went on excursion to sawgrass mall. Van was not air-conditioned and seemed to wander out of the lane with alarming frequency. Was supposed to be picked up at 4 but there were too many people, despite their taking our names down to be picked up. Driver said he would be back. At 5:30 took a cab and paid $50. Saw manager who said they would return the "deposit" the hotel collected for the excursion. Pointed out I was leaving next day and perhaps as Hilton had collected my money they could refund all of it and deal with the company the were using. Manager said no. Asked for name of over-all manager and was refused several times, then told he was not available and was given an email address that subsequently did not work. Suggested one way to deal with it was to have a room credit. Looked up room and then said no. Asked to have her talk with me to Hilton International and was told there was no phone number for them and if I wanted to find one then I could search myself. I called the excursion company and they said they would send the money to the hotel but the "deposit" was a fee that they did not receive, we paid it only to Hilton, not the excursion company. Money never did show up.

So Hilton charged $40 for four people, then we paid $60 to the excursion company, $50 to the taxi but what irks me is Hliton not taking responsibility after taking the money.

Will never stay at a Hilton again and will advocate against them for our conventions.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Anthony W,
We're very glad you and your family chose to stay with us prior to your cruise. However, we're very sorry about the experience you had regarding the Sawgrass Mall shuttle service and charges. We'd like the opportunity to speak with you and alleviate some of your concerns. Please email me with a phone number where we may call you to discuss your situation. We look forward to the chance to speak with you.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the end of our vacation. We chose this hotel mainly due to the convienence of the water taxi stop located right at the hotel. The hotel was average and showed it's age. Bathroom trim was broken and shower head dirty. I probably would not stay here again but the hotel did serve it's purpose for us since we just wanted to explore on the water taxi for a night. The location was nice for walking around and seeing all the yachts.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jered C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

After reading the reviews I had to see for myself and could not find anything wrong with this place when we stayed here. We loved that the pool guy came around and gave fruit and treats
to the guest around the pool. The happy hour in the lobby bar was wonderful. We stayed in the tower corner room and what a sight to behold with the cruise ships going in and out and the ocean. You could walk to local restaurants and stores.
The water taxi was right outside the hotel. The rooms were updated and clean.
The employees we dealt with were very polite and in a good mood even though they had to work
on Easter. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the the hotel. We can not wait to come back to this place and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The tower rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baron418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,228 reviews
1.0 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing