We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jennifer made our visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #58 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were looking for a quick escape to the sun from cold and rainy New England in the spring. My girls enjoyed this typically Floridian hotel. The beach and pool were all that were on our agenda, so this hotel fit the bill. The shuttle service was rough, The ease of getting situated on the beach was negligible at best, the room was clean, The pool area was family friendly, But the wait staff at the breakfast buffet was the highlight. Jennifer was attentive and so very friendly. The service was wonderful. Thank you so much for making our stay memorable Jennifer! Ellie misses you already!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyfranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Kellyfranc,
We’re so happy we could warm you up here in sunny Fort Lauderdale! Thank you for acknowledging Jennifer, in our Waterway Room with its lovely view of the Intracoastal Waterway. She appreciates your recognition and we will recognize her with our team.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,669 - 2,675 of 4,910 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I am a local that works in the area and I love the fun atmosphere of the G Bar, poolside bar. All the bartenders are personable despite being extremely busy. Glenford is very creative and suggested awesome cocktail. Rodrigo has excellent knowledge of other local eateries and offers customers great suggstions to complete their Florida experience. Jaynisa has a beautiful smile and balanced out an all male bar staff with her beautiful personality. Richard and Luis are just "Rockstars", always kind, funny and some of my favorite local bartenders. The bar and tables were packed with guests, but this team still connected with their guests, stopping to talk and take photos. I will continue to be a loyal customer. The pool area is beautiful and there are lots of wonderful accommodations at this location. The hotel may be a bit older, but I find it charming and convenient. I believe that for every negative review there are 100 positive experiences that go unnoticed.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Jessica K,
We appreciate you taking time to write a review about the G Bar and Grill and especially mentioning so many of our team members by name! We have celebrated your review with them.
Warm regards,
Mariana Perea, Director of Restaurants, mariana(dot)perea(at)hilton(dot)com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have to start off by saying that after reading all the negative reviews of this hotel my expectations were not high. However, from the moment we arrived until the morning we left we were very pleased. Greated with a warm smile by a Bellman who took our luggage..check in was a breeze. We were assigned a tower room overlooking the cruiseships and it was very clean. If you are looking for a hotel for a pre-cruise stay this place could not be a better choice! Please don't listen to all the negative reviews!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wally35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear wally35,
We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is closest to Port Everglades and a popular choice for pre- and post-cruise stays. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for the day before flying home at the end of a cruise. We had randomly found this hotel for the same reason ~10 years ago. Sadly, seemingly little has been done to update the hotel since that last stay. The pros (4/5): great location (10 minutes from the ship, 10 minutes from the airport, and awesome ambiance in the middle of the marina), excellent pool area (peaceful and relaxing with plenty of comfortable chairs, umbrellas and lounge areas), above average hotel gym, all rooms have balconies, walking distance to stores (walgreens, grocery store) and a couple of other restaurants. Cons (3/5): room door malaligned and needed to be pulled shut; drain in sink rusted; hot and cold water reversed in the shower; toilet required you hold the knob down while it flushed; walls repainted with rough, cheap paint. If you're staying for a short while and mainly want to relax by the pool, this is the place for you.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank keraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear keraven,
We appreciate your stay with us again and glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location near the port and our pool area, gym and balconies. We are sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed this time and will reach out to you to get your room number so that we can attend to the defects you describe. We hope you will return soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not a great hotel, I think if the cruise companies went elsewhere this hotel would close or at least get a major facelift. Our room stank of cigarette smoke and we had to request someone came up with air freshener. The overall impression in one word - tired! We did not try the breakfast after reading other reviews but highly recommend Fresh First 1637 SE 17th St - their breakfast was superb and even though my friends don't need gluten free food they loved it too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday50Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear holiday50Glasgow),
We sincerely apologize about the room smell and we’re glad to hear that our team responded to make it right. We’re constantly working on improvements and hope you will give us another try.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Room and grounds were very clean and comfortable but that's all you get. -Mini-bar was non existent, empty refrigerator only -No free breakfast -$21 to self park -Overpriced drinks at the bar Also, I called for a taxi in the morning and when I arrived I was told some else took my cab. I was then forced to take an overpriced shuttle van to my destination which was about 2 miles away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Justin L,
Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review and for responding to Hilton’s guest survey. All of our guest rooms have a refrigerator; none has a mini-bar. Hilton Honors members receive a complimentary continental breakfast. We’re sorry that you were misinformed about reserving taxis; taxis pick up the first guest waiting at our lobby entrance. Most days taxis and vans are available at all times. Hotel parking rates are based on the location of the hotel. We frequently compare pricing for parking, and our rates are among the lowest in the Fort Lauderdale beach area. We hope this information is useful.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed for one night on our arrival in FL, and selected the hotel based upon location and a previous visit pre-cruise.

Unfortunately this stay did not meet our expectations - we were allocated Room 3201 in the East Villas and this is probably one of the worst rooms in the hotel! Noisy due to being too near the lift and absolutely no view to speak of - this was unfortunate as we specifically booked a "grande view" room! Apart from this, I thought the room was looking tired and in need of refurb.

I expressed my concern to the Receptionist at check out and was met with complete indifference! A first for me in the US where customer service is usually top notch! Maybe Hilton need to look at their staff training?



Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ScotTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear ScotTourer,
We truly appreciate you sharing your concerns with us and apologize that you did not find them well received by our front office team. This is certainly not typical and we are reviewing your experience and our training to ensure that we always remain one step ahead of our guests' needs. We hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time you visit the U.S. and experience the hospitality you deserve and expect.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#34 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,306 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $135 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing