We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously? This is a Hilton?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seriously? This is a Hilton?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

There is no way around this. The inside of the hotel needed serious attention. Dirty walls and soiled carpet throughout the hallways on various floors. The elevator (of the two only ONE worked) was disgusting and I had to remind myself that I was in a Hilton, it WILL get better. There were red stains on the floor of the elevator and trash in the corners. Once in the room: suffice it to say that the bathroom looked like it was forgotten on all counts. There was still coffee that was placed in the coffee maker for me to use.
I checked in after midnight and was only there for the remainder of the evening. I managed to work through many of the oversights in the room but the used, full coffee cup sent me downstairs. After receiving a sincere apology i requested additional coffee cups be sent up. Shortly after returning to my room i received the coffee cups - with hair in it.
Id rather sleep on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Dev227,
Thank you for sharing your observations so that we can prevent recurrence. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations nor ours. One of the elevators was out of service because it is being modernized; we will be sure to give a thorough cleaning to the other. We are refurbishing all rooms and bathrooms in our West Villa building, to be completed in two weeks. Thank you again.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    1,366
    974
    557
    371
See reviews for
936
1,626
235
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Really nice hotel with a gorgeous view overlooking the marina. Nice room, balcony out to the marina and the boat we went fishing on docked right next to the bar on the property. The bar was ridiculously priced but considering the location was about what we expected. The restaurant is a joke but the hotel is within walking distance of many decent restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here this week before our cruise. We got the "cruise" package which included continental breakfast and transportation to the cruise ship. This package cost $175 a night which we thought was a decent deal. Our room was very nice and comfortable and had a "patio" overlooking the pool which my wife and I sat in before we went to bed at night. Like others have mentioned, you can tell the hotel is a bit older and could use some renovation. Due to thunderstorm, we were delayed a bit and did not check in until around 6:30pm. There were only two people working the front desk so check in took almost 30 minutes. We did ask the concierge for advice on a good seafood restaurant which required a cab ride and was fairly expensive. We then asked if there was a good Italian restaurant within walking distance and they recommended a restaurant named "Bravo" which was very good and only a 5 -10 minute walk. This hotel is also good if you want to use the water taxi service in Fort Lauderdale which I recommend as a good way to get around the city.

The next morning we went to have our continental breakfast which consisted of a pastry (muffin, danish etc), fruit, cereal and beverage (use, tea, coffee) and was perfect for a quick breakfast. The cruise shuttle service needs to be handled better. The service supposedly runs every 15 minutes and we waited almost 30 minutes. You are told to wait in one of the restaurants but you have no idea where and if you are in the correct location.

Overall, I would say the location is great if you are going to leave or return from a cruise. The rooms are nice but you can tell it is getting old. I would recommend the hotel for short stay but hope they work on some of the issues I mentioned above.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Booked a week here before reading the reviews. The property is an older hotel but very well maintained. Updated decor in room and with dated bathrooms. The grounds are beautiful with a nice pool area and an excellent fitness center. The front desk could not have been more helpful.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful which I would attribute to good management. The location is great and allows you to walk to the beach strip in a few minutes. I read a review that mentioned not feeling safe at night. I just don't understand as there are families with kids doing this all the time. Beach across the street, water taxi stop and marina at property are additional assets. I would say this hotel is a great value and would recommend it for all.

Room Tip: The tower has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

A nice Hilton Hotel, just minutes from the cruise ships. We stayed here the night before our cruise and the night after. I found the hotel and staff very nice. You can tell it's not a new property but is kept up nicely.

Our southern facing room faced the docks and saw my cruise ship pull in while waking up in my bed. That was pretty cool.

Unfortunately, like all "full service" hotels, you won't get anything free here. You pay for breakfast (alot), parking, wi-fi, and even though not even two miles from the cruise terminal docks, you'll pay for a shuttle also.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had a great trip to this Hilton. Many of the guests were staying either prior or after a cruise so everyone was happy. The grounds are very pretty and clean. The views of the marina and all its beautiful yachts just add to the experience. The food at all the restaurants was exceptional as was the service.

Room Tip: The corner rooms like 1229 in the tower have wrap around balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is old and tired. It is not in the best area and I would not walk alone at night here. It is close to the cruise lines so it served my purpose. If you ask at the hotel they will tell you there is a shuttle to the cruise lines but when you go to pick it up you will be told you have to wait for a “full” shuttle but can take a taxi for about $12 (slightly higher than shuttle). I see it as collaboration between the hotel staff and the taxi drivers. I took the taxi and the drive was only a couple of miles. You can see the ships from this hotel but cannot walk it due to security. The rooms are older and doors do not open or close well. The furnishings are dated but the view to the marine is nice. It was clean. The bed was adequate. If you are going out on a cruise this is doable just do not think you will be staying in the normal wonderful Hilton you may be used to!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flosser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing