We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the waiting place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed January 15, 2014

we booked the Hilton for proximity to the docks prior to a cruise. First impression at seeing the room was to wonder when the Hilton had become the Holiday Inn Express. Room safe was broken with dead batteries - when those were replaced we discovered the silly thing wasn't even attached to the wall or anything else - anyone could merely pick it up and walk off with it and later use tin clippers starting with the holes in the back (through which it was intended to be attached to something) to open it up and pocket whatever might have been kept inside (were anyone silly enough to do that). Other problem with the room was pretty easy to resolve: there was about an inch or so space between the bottom of the door and the floor carpet and the floodlight right outside made the room too bright for sleeping. We just rolled up a rain jacket and set it against the door. Still, it seemed a negligent way to run a railroad (as it were). The hotel is essentially a waiting area for passengers boarding ships. When we were there most of our fellow guests were bound for a Holland America cruise. Thus there were mobs of people for the breakfast buffet for example. We did that once - waiting through the line while an inadequate number of employees worked to clean the empty tables so people could be served. The buffet itself was good and the service people - when they had time to drop by - were extremely solicitous and helpful. Mostly we ate at the tables out around the pool bar - lovely setting, right on the inner-coastal waterway with boats coming in and about and the food was good - as were the drinks and the people were quite nice. It being outdoors, one did have to maneuver a bit to avoid sitting down-wind from smokers. My wife observed that Ft Lauderdale seemed to be a place where old folks come to smoke…. It wasn't difficult to avoid the smoke and the jest was simply that. We had fish there - tasty if over-cooked just a bit (there's a sports bar - Duffy's - not too far - we walked it - which had superb grilled fish - mahi-mahi). Service was fine. The bell staff was very good. If we were going on a vacation it would have been disappointing but as we were merely among those waiting in that place - and assuming the safe has been fixed by now - it was fine for what we intended - especially about to embark on a cruise on silversea cruise line with all that entails coming right up on our agenda. Yes, we might try one of the others next time but staying again at the Hilton there wouldn't be a bad thing, either

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Barry A,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your experiences – guest feedback is extremely important to us. We’re so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, served in our lovely Waterway Room with views of the Intracoastal Waterway, and our G Bar and Grill, poolside. Duffy’s is one of many restaurants on 17th Street within short and longer walking distances (half mile to one mile). Thank you so much for mentioning our bell staff; they appreciate the recognition. Your comments about the safe were shared with our Security Manager and our Chief Engineer. We are in the process of installing sweeps on the guest room doors to close that gap. Our hotel is closest to Port Everglades, so it’s not surprising we are a first choice hotel for pre- and post-cruise stays; we work hard to have a smooth process to take care of large number of guests with large amounts of luggage.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal.spivack@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,832 - 2,838 of 4,852 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilton Marina before our cruise in December, 2013. The hotel is clean spotless and the room we had was clean as well. The bed was comfortable, the furniture was in good condition, there was not one thing to complain about.
We had lunch at the pool tiki bar and the food was served hot and it was very good. Breakfast the next morning in the restaurant was excellent as well. There was everything you could ever want on the buffet. You could even go to the omelet station and have your cooked to order omelet. I think anyone that is going to be staying in the Fort Lauderdale Area should give this hotel a try. The staff are very friendly if you are waiting for an elevator, they say good morning and have a nice day. We have stayed at other hotels in the past, and the staff walk right by you. We will definitely go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Give this hotel a try you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Dorothy M,
Your review is music to our ears and we thank you for taking the time to write it. Our Waterway breakfast is a new hotel undertaking and we’re pleased the omelets were a welcome addition. It is especially good to hear that you were greeted in a friendly way by our team. We hope you enjoyed your cruise just as much, and we look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal.spivack@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice big hotel with fantastic views if you are in the main building on the top floors. Enjoyed my 6 night stay and the weather was really good. Saw some great yachts and lots of cruise ships docked in the Marina near the hotel. Will stay again if i am in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the high floors in the main tower overlooking the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Bless1,
We’re delighted you enjoyed our fantastic views and our beautiful hotel. Fort Lauderdale has more boats per capita than anywhere else in the U.S. and our location right on the Intracoastal Waterway offers good viewing opportunities. We hope you will come back soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal.spivack@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms were clean and my room was updated. I wont call this the best Hilton i have seen but its definitely a nice hotel for a good price. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Would go back next time im visiting the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Gitty G,
We’re pleased to learn that you had a great experience with us, and we especially thank you for mentioning our helpful and friendly staff. Please come back soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal.spivack@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a retro, cool looking hotel with great views, great location and great rates. I highly recommend it over an 'airport' hotel, though it's just 10 minutes from FLL. Gorgeous heated pool, three restaurants and clean, modern rooms.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank BeachBumDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear BeachBumDE,
We’re glad you enjoyed our cool look; you may be interested in knowing that the design inspiration of the hotel is “Havana chic.” Our location and great views are mentioned especially often by our guests. We hope you will return very soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal.spivack@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

It is fairly clear that the management at this property has simply given up. My wife and I stayed here two nights at the beginning and end of our cruise. I had stayed here over a year ago for business and the service and quality was great. Not so at this point. First if your a HHonors member don't expect anything extra. Front desk was rude and showed no interest in helping me with anything. We actually walked out of the restaurant after sitting at a table for over 20 minutes without the offer of a drink or any service. The hotel is clean however not comfortable at all. Beds are very low and constantly stub toes and shins on the corners. Housekeeping is slow to respond. We asked for an extra pillow and it took 3 phone calls and over an hour. I left a voicemail for the GM and also sent an email, none were responded to.

Never again.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Salesguy1,
This is definitely not the impression we want our guests to have. We have shared your comments with the team so that we can address the service lapses you describe. We are upgrading our low beds in the spring. If you are willing, please send me an email with your phone number so that we can discuss your experience.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

OK, price is high, location is far from the beach. They have a shuttle every 2 hours for their, with 12 (no more) spaces available, but no real ways to reserve for it.
Front desk is plain rude and useless (my luggage was delayed and delivered to the hotel, no one knew where it was at the front desk, I had to go find the bellman myself; remote control in the room didn't work... 4 days later still waiting, toilet leaked, I fixed it myself on Day 2...).
Debit card user beware the hold is for twice the amount of your stay...
Rooms are small, hallways are dirty, hotel in antiquated overall. Food is overpriced. Lobby is a mess and front desk understaffed... although there plenty of folks walking around and avoiding helping even if they see the place is overwhelmed. Not my job seems to be the motto, no team work and no customer service. One night before a cruise maybe but for a stay.... go somewhere else.
Typically I would have given a chance to management to answer me through their typical post-stay survey... but in this case they didn't send one! I am sure it is a coincidence :-)

Room Tip: Away from the pool, west wing a tad better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herve_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Herve_8,
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are only about a mile and a half from the beach and we are happy to provide a complimentary beach shuttle for our guests. We apologize for the service lapses you experienced and have shared your comments with the departments. Hilton sends a guest satisfaction survey randomly to those guests who provide an email address.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#38 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,290 reviews
1.0 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $129 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing