We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, not like courting, old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #53 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Dated, not like courting, old hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a poor hotel at best.
Vintage 1970 with updating
Spraying bugs in my room when I walked in.
Location near marina is nice but hotel is not.
Ran out of toilet paper after they cleaned room and had to call for paper.
Much better choices than this.

Room Tip: Try and get the $25 upgrade on Hilton honors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSTT3959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear RSTT3959,
Thank you taking time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy and we appreciate your feedback. While the hotel was built in the 80s, it was fully renovated in 2008 inspired by a “Havana chic” theme. We apologize for the pest issue; as in any tropical climate, insects will make themselves known, and we employ a professional pest control company that visits weekly for prevention and treatment as well as on demand. We also apologize that your room was not supplied with extra toilet paper, which is our standard; we will follow up with our housekeeping team. We hope you will give us another opportunity to offer a better experience.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    1,377
    987
    572
    379
See reviews for
954
1,651
237
1,023
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in the East Villa the first time, very nice, but the view was obscured by the palms. Had a tower room this time which had a great view from the balcony, but be sure you ask for the intracoastal view as opposed to the flat roof and 17th street bridge view. All the rooms seem to be very clean and well decorated.
Had a couple of drinks at the pool side bar (try the Lime in the Coconut) but the service was a bit scattered.
This is a very, very busy hotel, airline crews and cruise ship guests, regular guests. However, there is a seperate line for Hilton Honors guests and airline crews which eases the crush.
We planned to take the water taxi to dinner so bought our tickets, no extra charge, from the concierge which was a blessing. After 5 o'clock the fare goes down so the water taxis seem to run at capacity, at least on a Saturday. The stop at the Hilton is about half a block away. When the taxi came it was almost full and only those with tickets got on. People at the next several stops were also left to wait. Glad we took the concierge's advice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLORIDAYS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although website claims they have "Heated Pool for year-round enjoyment" this is NOT true. Also much to be desired of cleanliness of hallways. Beds are low and linens flat/cold. Hotel receptionist instead of understanding our disappointments tried to defend the false advertisement and although she and manager said we could leave without our card being charged, it was charged 4 days later.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Draft Management Response to appear
Dear Ana M,
Rest assured, our pool is indeed heated year round. This time of year, when the outside temperatures are in the high 80s, the heaters do not need to turn on. They are controlled by a thermostat to turn on if the pool temperature drops to 85 degrees; at present the water in the pool is 87 degrees. Thank you for sharing your observation about the hallways; your comments were provided to our Executive Housekeeper. Our platform beds will be replaced with a more traditional frame next year. We have investigated the charges to your credit card and they were refunded to your card on 10/23; you will see the refund in five to seven business days, depending upon your bank. We sincerely apologize that you were disappointed.
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Manchester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina in FL for one night before a cruise. We had an appetizer and drink at the bar, the bartender was very nice but once a few more people showed up he had trouble handling everyone himself and it took quite some time to get our bill. We went to the sushi restaurant later and got a great deal on a sushi plate during happy hour - would highly recommend this! Checking in and out was easy, the breakfast choices in the cafe they have are slim at best so I would recommend either buying a real breakfast in their restaurant or just skipping it and going someplace else. Overall the stay was very good and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. Staff very friendly. Andy (Bell Check) very helpful. Managed to get room hours before check in which is always useful. Apart from Andy, staff didnt seem quite as friendly as at Gallery One.Room was comfortable but corridor very noisy on Saturday night - you can hear every word said or song that guests try to sing! Settled down for the other 3 nights. WC pan had serious crack and really should have been replaced. Great pool and useful gym. Our second floor room would have had a good view if it hadnt been for the 4? palm trees just outside the balcony, although I suspect they were there to help keep the room cool. However, it was frustrating sitting on the balcony having my breakfast with only leaves to look at. Good variety of eateries nearby (Must try Carrabba's italian!) Rooms excellent value and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke pines, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I really enjoys my stay at the Hilton, I stay in the tower and I had a great view of the intercostal waters. I had dinner at the China Bar, my ripeye was great, and so was the service. The location was just want I needed for my travel the next day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always stay here when I'm in the area. Right across the the convention center and close to a lot of great restaurants. Rooms are great and the view of the Intracoastal is even better. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Cooper C,
We are delighted to hear from a returning guest! Thank you for your loyalty and for taking time to write a review. Fort Lauderdale is known as the Venice of America, and from our guest room balconies you can see why -- Port Everglades on one side, the Intracoastal Waterway on another, and our marina on a third side. We are the closest hotel to the Broward County Convention Center, a short walk away. Have you tried Nanking, the new Asian fusion restaurant here at the hotel, along the Intracoastal?
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#83 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing