We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The unexpected experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was planning a birthday weekend for my boyfriend and it was just a mess. For one do not get fooled by the pictures on the websites. I reserved my reservation on Hilton.com ,I asked for the tower room with a marina view and balcony with a queen size bed. Now when I got to the room , it was nice and clean but there was no balcony and the view was of the express way and everglades pointing towards the south . Again , that's not what I wanted. So I went to the front desk , they changed me into a room with a double bed, the rugs where dirty and old as heck . the balcony door was dirty with food and finger prints and different residues. The cabinet door broke, the beds felt dusty . there was dust every where. an horrible experience I will not go there ever again! oh and also when I went to the gym the machines where rusted and old with dust omg it was terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Edward O,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your candid feedback. We apologize that we let you down for the birthday celebration. We looked at our website and see that the photo is misleading; it shows a king bed room with a balcony, while none of our queen bed rooms has a balcony. Thank you for bringing that to our attention so that we can correct the website. Cleanliness should not have been an issue; we apologize for the unpleasant experience and will work with those clean and inspect rooms to prevent recurrence. Our fitness center equipment will be replaced before the end of the year. We hope we can invite you back and make it up to you.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,051 - 3,057 of 4,854 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights, my room was a little building next to the main tower. My room was nice and clean and had a huge balcony. Unfortunately my roomkey didnt work anymore on the second day of my stay but I got a new one after I had to show my ID to the front desk - what I think is a good thing. The building also had a small shop with souvenirs and beverages. There are also stores and restaurants within a 5 minutes walking distance. All over I can say the hotel was clean, the staff was nice and I would stay again there at any time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilFlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was sooo convenient for our arrival and departure for our cruise! The only strange thing was the bathroom door, but otherwise both the rooms we stayed at before and after the cruise were great. They even let us check in super early, as soon as a room was ready when we got back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

1- room safe broken. 2- shower not in good condition. 3- air conditioner broken. 4- housekeeping terrible. 5- guest washers has bad odor, half of the appliances are broken. The laundry is in a room with no ventilation (very hot). 6- iron broken. 7-door lock broken, and took a week to fix it. 8- took four days to fix air conditioner. 9- walls are paper thin, and you can hear conversations of your neighbor.
This hotel does not fit Hilton standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Donna H,
We're terribly sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had during your stay with us and we appreciate your taking the time to list the issues so that we can work on them. We will be replacing our washers and dryers with ones that have credit card payment, and we will be adding soap dispensers to our laundry and fixing the air conditioning. I will reach out to you one-to-one to learn the room number so that we can address the specific room issues. We apologize that they were not resolved prior to your departure. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and show you our improvements.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had called the hotel a couple of times to make sure that they knew we would be arriving early. We did not have a choice as the only flights with seats were the night flights arriving pretty early. We had asked for a dayroom or to book the room from the night before, but were told nothing was available. When we got to the hotel, the front desk staff member was disdainful and her body language and tone of voice made it clear that she was not happy that we had arrived at the hotel so early. Terrible attitude!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyV95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stay here often because my company puts us here and we are always placed in the east villas. For a month the elevators have not been working. The beds have no comforters just a bed sheet and thin wool blanket. Even the staff does't want to hear about it anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ras82ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Charlene was amazing she worked in the front desk she went way out of her way to make sure we had a wonderful visit gave us complementary parking and wifi and made sure my room was exactly what I expected for my boyfriends very special birthday. I stayed in the tower now I believe if I would've stayed in the east side of the hotel I would've not been so happy the building doesn't look renovated nor up to Hilton standards in my opinion. Now the parking lot does need some renovation we were stuck in the elevator for about 5 minutes without it moving it was very SCARY and the fact that the floor in that elevator is falling apart not a good appearance at all let alone for liability problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,292 reviews
1.0 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $130 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing