We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Nearby Hotels
snooze(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/29
$166
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fort Lauderdale Marriott North(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$376
$269
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$221
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,230)
Filter reviews
5,230 results
Traveler rating
1,356
1,558
1,136
678
502
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
1,558
1,136
678
502
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsg barwater taxitower roompool barport evergladescruise shippre cruiseintercoastal waterwaypool sidelas olasnankingbalconyshipsftlauderdaleconciergewalgreens
Filter
Updating list...
3,603 - 3,608 of 5,230 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel appearance has slightly impoved over last years stay. This hotel needs some maintenance (new room furnishings & PAINT!!!!!) Don't use the $5.00 extra upgrade charge, it's a big rip off. If possible try and book the tower. The Tower rooms have a wonderful rain shower and the rooms seemed better maintained then the Villas
Should you arrive early (before 4:00 check in) pack your swimsuit in your carry on. There are balthrooms avaliable to change. No need to worry about your extra luggage the friendly doormen will place it in a secure area. A lovely heated pool, clean towels and flavored iced water is available to the guest. We found the hotel staff friendly and very helpful.
Our 2 friends had a $75.00 breafast at the hotel so unless you have a company account or money to burn plan on eating off the hotel ground. For a great breatfest and lunch, walk or take a cab to Joe's Dinner :-). They have great food and wonderful prices. Also Bimini's Boatyard is a good for dinner and drinks.
The Hotel is located right next to the beautiful waterway. You'll be able to see how the other half lives. The crusie terminal is also within view.
Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Ask for the Towers!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yomamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonADOFO, Front Office Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear you did not feel you received the value you deserved and appreciate your suggestions on refresh updates. We will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our guests' experience. It's so nice to hear that our team was able to secure your luggage while you relaxed and hope you will consider staying with us again. If your travel brings you to the area, please contact me directly, so I may provide you with personalized service throughout.

Kindest regards,

Ruben Almiron
ruben.almiron@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayed at this property a few times in the past two years and it appears from my last stay a couple weeks ago, the management of the property needs a wake-up call, so to speak.

The housekeeping department has many issues, starting with hair in the bathroom, stained towels, insufficient amenities placed in the room and dirty refrig/cooler. I don't know if they have anyone inspecting the work of the housekeeping department but it appears they either do not, or the inspector was busy doing something else for a couple days.

If you happen to stay at the hotel during the weekend you are in for a rude awakening as it houses many cruise guests. On Saturday and Sunday morning, the lobby looks like an overcrowded bus terminal with hundreds of people and their luggage strewn all over the place. While I recognize the revenue it drives, just be aware of this mess.

The front desk agents were very slow, inclusive of no one being at the HHonors desk check-in when I arrived. Also, there are flight crews which stay at the hotel and were taking up a significant amount of time from the front desk as I witnessed. Seeing flight crews at this hotel is a red flag to me but at this point I'm still giving the benefit of the doubt to the hotel in its effort to generate revenue.

I have much more to go over with this hotel but frankly, I'm not interested in slamming them any longer. I would be surprised if this property remains with the brand, though it is new into the brand itself. If management doesn't get control of this spiraling property, they too will likely be on the outside looking in. The attitudes of the staff are ridiculous, the unfriendly PBX operators to the front desk, to F and B, all are guilty during my stay. Avoid this property if you can, no matter how enticing it may appear. By the way, I don't know what was wrong with my mattress, but it was unbelievably poor. Sounded like I was sleeping on crinkly plastic all night with springs in my back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonADOFO, Front Office Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your recent experience while staying with us is certainly disheartening and not acceptable. Thank you for alerting us to your concerns about the service issues and I can assure you that they will be reviewed with our team. Our priority is our guests and making sure they're taken care of. We only hope we'll have another opportunity to show you our true spirit of hospitality. We appreciate your loyalty and your feedback.

Kind regards,

Ruben Almiron
ruben.almiron@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived sullen and unhappy. Ft Lauderdale wasn't our destination, the Bahamas were. But a series of missteps by United Airlines and the Ft. Lauderdale airport made us miss the single connecting flight not once, but twice. Realizing we were losing yet another day of our Bahama vacation stuck in Ft. Lauderdale, we opted out of spending it at the awful hotel selected for us by the airline. We pulled Hilton Ft Lauderdale Marina off the web. How lucky was that. For there we encountered Kalina. The gal behind the desk single-handedly salvaged our trip and, in our minds, the reputation of Ft Lauderdale and Florida. We said nothing of our trouble but she observed, no doubt, that we weren't exactly excited vacationers, and noticed on our IDs that it was my husband's birthday and mine followed in two days. (The reason for our Bahama trip.) She went into action.She upgraded our room, gave us free breakfast buffet tickets and, when we got to our room, had a $40 bottle of wine and chocolates delivered. After sipping wine on the balcony and looking out at Steven Spielberg's yacht, we realized our vacation had really begun. We thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the day and night there; the pool, the bar, the water taxi. But none of it was as delightful at Kalina who saved the day. As we left the next day we noticed her one last gift: Kalina had put us into room number 3224; a combination of our birthdays 3/22 and 3/24. What an incredibly nice touch. We still smile when we think about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Due to home renovations my girlfriend and I needed to stay in a hotel for 2-3 days as we wanted to escape the construction mess. The Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is our go-to hotel whenever we have out-of-town guests so we tried it for ourselves.

We booked a Tower Intercoastal room for 2 nights, March 25-27. Upon checking in we were told our room was not ready (3:30pm). No problem, we went outside while they assured us they would call my cell phone when the room was ready. At 4:15pm we checked with the front desk and again were informed us the room was still not ready. At 4:45pm we inquired a third time, becoming aggravated by this point after seeing many guests arrive and sent off to their rooms while we were still waiting. Finally our room was ready at 5:00pm. The front desk staff seemed to place all blame on housekeeping not "clearing" the room, yet the desk staff was not apologetic in the least.

We have been in the rooms before and knew what to expect. Clean, comfortable, with a view of the port and 17th Street Causeway bridge. You cannot hear traffic or the bridge when the balcony door is closed. The bathroom was stocked and clean. Yes, there is no shower door - it does not need it. Modern design, and it works. We never had puddles of water on the floor. No, the sliding doors to the bathroom do not close 100% sightproof. Didn't bother us. Nice feature actually. Better use of space in the room.

THE iHOME ALARM CLOCK DOES NOT CHARGE iPHONES. It will connect when you drop it on the connection, but it will not charge. My mother stayed at this property in January 2013 and confirmed the same with her room. iPhones 4 and 4S will display "charging not supported with this accessory". This one issue is why I am writing this review. The iPhone is likely the most carried phone by guests at this property, and fooling them into believing they can conveniently charge their phone is horrible. Not the end of the world - we brought charging cords - but was a very poor, overlooked detail in a $225+/night room.

Mini fridge in the room was unplugged and warm with water puddles inside. I plugged it in and found the reason why it was unplugged in the first place...it's loud. Not obnoxious, but if you like to sleep in silence, it's loud. The air handler was probably louder anyway.

We had drinks one evening at the pool bar - they close at 10pm, at least on weekdays. A private boat pulled up at the slip near the pool bar and insisted on playing bad 80s music VERY LOUD. Several customers at the bar and tables made comments about the same to the bartender, who really could have cared less. Good thing they closed as we would have left anyway. Bought five bottles of beer and one bottle of water to take to the room from the lobby bar - $50 total. Excuse me?!? Auto-gratuity included (again, seriously...party of two?!?). No vending machines in the hotel. Walk across the street to Walgreens and buy soda, water, or beer.

We weren't looking for it, but there is no spa. They send you to the Hyatt (across the intercoastal, 1000 meters walk). It's expensive as well.

Valets were quick and efficient. Nothing really to say here. They did their job and earned their money. Our car was in and out several times daily - never waited more than 5 mins. Valet is $25/night, self-park is $21. I won't even go there why the extra $4/night is worth it. Parking charges either way are taxed as well.

After writing the above it may appear confusing why I rate it 4/5. They get this rating as similar properties 1 mile down the street right on the beach charge much more and offer the same or less. This location is not on the beach, but there is nothing on the beach anyway except sand and sun during the day. Not much going on at night unless you prefer loud 20-somethings, overpriced everything, and poor quality food. That's a local's perspective. The Hilton Marina is clean and modern. Some areas show wear, but overall it is a good choice. No hotel is perfect, especially in the $150-400/night range in Fort Lauderdale during the winter/tourist season. I would have considered giving a 3/5 rating. however that is "average", and this property needs only small adjustments to be far beyond average. This hotel is frequented by people arriving to/from cruises and likely doesn't help the property when many guests are 1 night only.

To summarize:

- No free internet. At all. Anywhere. Hilton needs to review this. Soon.
- No resort fee. Much appreciated. See above, but there should never be a charge for either.
- Room was clean without problems, sans the alarm clock issue.
- Overpriced drinks at the lobby bar. We are not cheap people and this was excessive even compared to South Beach.
- Waiting for our room. Should this ever be an issue if you check in AFTER the assigned check in time?

Room Tip: Not worth spending extra for "intercoastal view" (facing north). The south facing "harbor" view rooms are scenic as well and just as quiet. The villas or lower tower rooms facing north will be loud with the pool at your roomside.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glbltvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

On a positive note, this hotel is in a good location with marina views and a lovely poolside environment. Note: there is no spa/hot tub (what?!) It's close to port, beachfront & nightlife, plenty of restaurants nearby, and the airport is only a few miles away. All of this is a big tease, though, if you don't have wheels because there is absolutely no shuttle service - not even to the airport!

The atmosphere attempts modern chic with all white decor sprinkled with punches of color, comfy plush down bed dressings, Keurig coffee maker in-room, an open shower with a rain feature (fun), and not completely private or quiet glass paneled sliding bathroom doors. However, the all white only shows dirt more leaving the facility markedly tired...falling short of pulling off modern.

Nothing is included with the room...expect to pay for parking, any food (i.e., no continental), wifi is free poolside but there is a fee in-room unless you are a HiltonHonors ranking higher than silver. There is a laundry room that runs $2.50 per load completed. Walgreens nearby will sell suds at a reasonable price.

Overall, the marina is not worth the price & this is not a kid/family friendly place.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the marina side offer the best views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonADOFO, Front Office Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that our accommodations did not quite meet your needs. We truly want all of our guests to feel comfortable and taken care of. While we do not offer an airport shuttle, we do offer a complimentary shuttle to the beach, which is available 7 days a week. Poolside, you may partake in a game of “bags” or ping pong, as well as other options that we are happy to make available for guests of all ages. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity in the future, as your business and loyalty are important to us.

Kindest regards,

Ruben Almiron
ruben.almiron@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews