We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #53 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Marine City, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from Key West due to an early flight. I upgraded our room to have a view of the Intercoastal and couldn't wait to relax with the views. Well...... we were on ground level and out our floor to ceiling windows was a 90' yacht that left us no view, just a large piece of fiberglass. We went to the front desk and she informed us there was nothing they can do for us so we were stuck with the room.

That wasn't all..... the bathroom door squeaked so loudly we had to put a chair to prop it open for the remainder of the evening. The bathtub drain was so slow it was 4" deep after a shower. There were little black sewer flies in the bathroom. No hair dryer until it was found stashed behind the towles, loose, not even a nice holder for it. The beds have a stationary frame that hang out past the mattress that you trip on. The yacht outside ran some kind of generator all night.

Oh! Parking... $21/night if you park yourself, more if you don't. For a Hilton it was in need of renovation. Now for $239/night I expected a lot more out of a Hilton and won't stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonADOFO, Front Office Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
On behalf of the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, I would like to offer my sincerest apology for the challenges you experienced during your recent stay with us. I can imagine your frustration with the plumbing issue and the noisy bathroom door; I have reported your concerns to our maintenance team to ensure they are fixed. We will also be sure to address the other amenity and housekeeping issues you encountered with our staff. The comfort, health, and safety of our guests are always our top concerns and we appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as well as the pest issue you encountered. I can also assure you we've rectified this issue with our local pest control company and apologize for any inconvenience. As you have also shared your concerns with us through another forum, I will reach out to you to assist you further via email. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    1,415
    1,012
    579
    389
See reviews for
969
1,691
240
1,059
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,068)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

great place and beatiful view of the intercostal, staff is very friendly and hotel is nice and clean, the only bad i found is the parking is too expensive even if you are a hilton honors member, the outside bar is great, very close to the beach and next to the water taxi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place looks good on the outside, but once you pull the covers back, there are a lot of things wrong. TO be fair, the location is really good for meetings and cruises. If you are ok shelling out for the water taxi, its pretty convenient as well. All well and good, but there were too many problems not to list them out.
• NOT a family friendly/safe hotel (especially for younger children). There is no security to be seen ANYWHERE on site. There are doors and openings throughout the property to the “outside” where a child could walk out (and right into the water), or worse. I’m sure there are cameras, but that’s no help.
• Rooms are full of sharp edges (tables, desk, drawer/closet handles, bathroom accessories, etc) all at the perfect height to hurt a child, or the hip of an adult.
• Bedding is dated and fraying.
• Signage in hallways is lacking.
• Stairway doors can only be accessed from inside (so you can’t walk up many of the stairs).
• Uninspired staff. Not a bad staff, but not helpful or accommodating at all.
• Smokers were everywhere. Why have “smoking areas” if they aren’t going to be enforced?
• Rusty and dated fitness room.
I will say that the property was quiet.
I attended meetings on site and was not impressed. Maybe my expectations were too high. Maybe the hotel is just not that good. I’m chalking it up to the latter.

Room Tip: get a room facing the pool or a higher floor facing the ocean (over the city).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godzuki24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
470 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We flew into Ft Lauderdale 2 days prior to our Cruise through The Panama Canal on Island Princess. We experienced some minor delay on arrival at check in but we were impressed by the friendly courteous and efficient service. Good fittings through out and our executive floor room was first class. A very impressive pool set up although on the 2 days of our visit it was too windy to use these facilities.

We regularly use Hilton because of the consistent approach and the bed and showers are always first class. We enjoyed this comfortable Hotel in a first class location. We used the valet parking and had a minor delay because the room number had been incorrectly recorded, this was rectified with a smile and reduced fee and after this initial experience it worked very well.

An enjoyable stay in a modern , well maintained facility with quality well trained and presented staff. A good choice re our pre cruise accommodation

Room Tip: We had a high floor and room away from elevator facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

our second visit to this , for us, transit hotel.We like the friendliness of all the staff especially the porters and especially Rossell who has a great sense of humour. Given the opportunity I'd like to spend more than one night there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashy784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were going on a cruise, and as part of our air and see package the company booked us into this hotel the night before and I must say it was fairly good. That said I have stayed in several Hilton Hotels in the past and this particular one didn’t exceed what I would expect.
Checking in was rather delayed, due to the amount of people checking in and the fact they only had 2 front of house staff on wasn’t very good – the fact we had just travelled for 16 hours this was the last thing (pedantic, maybe but by the same regard didn’t want this).
We didn’t have breakfast and we bought something in the lobby – it is rather expensive, but with that said it’s in a rather plush area and you’d expect it to be pricey. That said the pastries were lovely and the coffee was good!!
We had issues with the wifi and the staff weren’t too concerned with helping us – but I suppose they aren’t technicians.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel is very convenient for shoppers, Port Everglades, dining and walking distance to beach. They have a free shuttle to the beach once and hour. All staff were extremely friendly, lobby bright and clean, lovely pool and charter boats available. Rooms in building 2 are rather "tired". One of the elevators was constantly "down" but if you had time, you could wait for the other. If not, it was a long walk!!

Salsa music is playing in lobby and at front door, giving you the urge to move your feet. Many cruise passengers were present waiting for their transportation to the port. Only downfall-coffee was 3.75 a cup in the snack bar. (In room coffee was not very fresh) GREAT BEDS and pillows.

Room Tip: Even rooms in building 2 face 17th street so there is quite a bit of noise. Odd rooms face the can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing