We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #53 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Staying here now while here for work. Figured Hilton brand and on waterway would be nice. Woke up this morning and tried to make some coffee with the Keurig coffeemaker. It was broken. Called for a replacement. Went to iron my shirt. No iron in closet. Called for an iron, twice before it came almost 30 minutes later. By that time gave up waiting and showered and tub clogged - water up to knees. When got back tonight and tried to iron, iron didn't work and had to call for replacement. Not a good introduction to this place....

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonADOFO, Front Office Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
On behalf of the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, I would like to express my sincerest apology for the challenges you experienced during your visit. I can imagine your frustration that came with such a negative first impression of our services and amenities. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate departments to ensure that we can prevent the challenges you mentioned from reoccurring. The working order of your room amenities and our diligence to resolving any unforeseen issues are a top priority for us, thus I am very sorry that we felt short of the level of service we strive to provide all of our guests. Thank you for your business and I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the Fort Lauderdale area, that you will give us an opportunity to regain your loyalty. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    1,377
    987
    572
    379
See reviews for
954
1,651
237
1,023
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay at this hotel frequently for work. The hotel has great amenities, is clean, and has a very friendly staff. The rooms and views are excellent no matter what side of the tower you are on. From valet to check-in to room service to pool staff, the team at the Hilton Marina is very friendly and happy to help. The atmosphere is also very nice, with the hotel being surrounded by boats (with the cruise port to the South, Intercoastal and Ocean to the East, and marina on the North and West sides of the building), which is a nice plus compared to many of the other hotels I stay at around the US each year. The Hilton Marina is one of my favorite hotels that I travel to for work each week.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great - especially on east side with ocean view. If you are in the tower, does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The convention we attended had a special rate for this hotel. Personally I am a Sheraton/ Starwood girl. room was in the Villa side, maybe the attached tower rooms were nicer. We did meet other who disliked hotel so much they left and paid more than our "convention rate" at another hotel down the street.
Location and comfortable beds was the ONLY 2 things this hotel had going for it.
Wine glasses sat in the hall from another room for 3 nights. Bar was crazy expensive, $12 for gin and 7, $15 for glass of wine. Sat after our meetings at 4:30 pm we go back to room for a quick change of clothes and the room had not been made up yet (not a big deal, we had towels etc). The maid knocked (I was sitting on bed, roomy was in bathroom) I said "coming" and before I could get to the door she just came in! Not only does she looked stoned out of her mind, I can't understand her. Mumbling something about last room and she is going home. I know they work hard, but give us a few minutes to change and you can have the room to make up.
Over all NOT impressed with front desk service, bar service, size of room, cost of any food and drinks.... Next time I will stay some place else even if the convention is across the street.

Room Tip: Walgreens at 17th street corner, has wine, breakfast foods and other shopping that is in walking dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandgirlKS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your convention. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, specifically the interruptions made by our housekeeping staff and your displeasure with our costs and other services. We have shared your comments with various members of our team for further review and follow up. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

bay area, ca
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a diamond hilton member, I expect to get treated well and get nicer rooms at hilton's. This property did not meet any of the criteria I expect from a Hilton, except for a good location.

The room was old. The bed is not really a bed, it is a futon with no box spring! The sound on the tv didn't work and when I tried to call down I did not get an answer. The shower has both an overhead and a wand spray, should be nice, but almost inmpossible to figure out how to get hot and I stay more than 100 nights a year at Hiltons.

Service was geared toward groups and not individuals. When i asked for directions I felt like i was being an imposition.

Overall, a very very disappointing experience, and the bed was really not up to par.

Room Tip: get in the tower and not the adjecent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calbearfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I appreciate your loyalty as a Diamond member and your candor about your experience. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the malfunctioning television, the trouble reaching guest services, and for the issue with the shower. Furthermore, I apologize for the poor level of service you received while asking for directions. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate departments for further follow up. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share, as guest feedback is our most valuable tool for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here attending a trade show at the Convention Center, which is exactly infront of the hotel... At the afternoon the deck marina is the best place to be to relax and have a drink... The rooms are ok, aswelll with the service: The check in took ages, there was only one lady attending for all the guests in the line. Room service was off at night. My tv room was broken and even im not so fan of it, it doesnt shows a good impression.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarCastrejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel close to Port Everglades port of call to join a cruise ship, this is an amazing hotel to stay at! It has a water taxi within close walking distance and nice amenities such as a large and clean pool and great view. The room was modern and clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly overall. I enjoyed my stay here for 2 days in October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailormom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stay at plenty 5 star hotels... and this one... they are going to charge you for parking $21, Internet $15, Breakfast.. infact, they are going to charge you to the point that you think you were in a boxing ring with Mike Tyson.
There was no extra charge for waiting 25 minutes to checkin.. nope, no extra charge for that. There were 9 people waiting in a line to check in,, with ONE girl at reception. 3 additional check in kiosks mind you,, but unattended. I am not sure what else to say. Such potential.. such disappointment.

Room Tip: If you book online to try and get a good rate, they will put you in the west wing ( almost in the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald Dougla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#83 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing