We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Dirty Carpets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #59 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the West Wing on the Ground Floor. I was wary of this hotel from other reviewers, but got it on a blind deal from Expedia, touted as a 4 star hotel. This was worse than most 2 star hotels/motels I have stayed in. The furniture was in poor condition and the carpet was wrinkled, wavy and dirty. I went into the main tower and got off on several floors and peered into rooms being cleaned. Same dirty carpet and worn furniture. The staff, however, were very friendly and helpful and the bed was comfortable. I guess the draw is the two or three bar areas, which looked inviting. Being a non-drinker, I cannot understand why anyone would willingly stay at this hotel. Even the cab driver didn't know where it was!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingGianelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonMarina, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you encountered. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our guests deserve better. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,666 - 3,672 of 5,084 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon entering the Hilton Marina I thought it was a beautiful hotel. When we entered our room I realized it was not. Bathroom door did not even come close to closing. Wood was all rotted near the bottom of the door and after taking a shower I realized why...all the water from the shower goes out to the bathroom floor!! Huge shower but the head did not move so after every shower we had to use all the towels to mop up the water! Room was very small and crowded. Pool area was nice but chairs with fabric were so badly stained that I would not sit on them. Courtyard was littered with a previous nights party debris. Bar service was so so..at one point we ordered a Rum Punch NOT frozen and they brought a frozen one..sent it back for one NOT frozen...came back with another frozen one...third time was a charm and they got it right. Food and drinks served at the bar were WAY overpriced.... breakfast served in a small bar area and again way overpriced! No internet room available. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonMarina, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues with your shower and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. Your comments regarding quality of service will definitely be addressed as we work to provide the best service possible to our guests. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is on the waterway with terrific views of the constantly moving parade of yachts and super yachts that ply the waters between mainland and the Atlantic. Hotel is located next to convention center and easy access to the water taxi. Contemporary look.

Room Tip: Best rooms face north looking up the channel. Rooms have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good hotel directly in the area of the cruiseterminal. Excellent pre cruise hotel. Short distance from the airport and to the beach of Fort Lauderdale. Good breakfast. Many good restaurant on walging distance. Clean and bright room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After finishing a cruise (allure of the sea) decided to stay close to port. Upon arrival ,room was not ready. No buggy. Went for a walk for a while , returned later , still no room. They did offer me a room for an extra change of $20 (i know not a huge amount but its the principle). I paid the extra now bringing the cost of my room to $160 . Once in the room found it to be ok , nothing special , carpet was stained and dirty looking. Bathrom doors didn't shut all the way by design. I really don'twant to know anyone that well. Hotel offered NO inclusions , not even a shuttle to the airport.
Prior to our cruise we stayed at a lower end hotel which was much cheaper , cleaner and gave us breakfast. The hotel did have a nice view , but that's about the only positive. Wasn't horrible just priced horribly. I think I just paid for one of Paris's socks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Walsh3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonMarina, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels in Florida. The views are amazing, the location in the marina is great for walking around and looking at all the yachts and has access to the water taxi. The outdoor bar by the pool is great for spending an afternoon and the service was great. The rooms were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a night at this graceful hotel. Nostalgic settings and architecture, clean rooms, friendly staff. Views of the boats and inlets of Ft. lauderdale were great. Away from the busy atmosphere of the city.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
3,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#44 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
5,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,427 reviews
1 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
4,158 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#13 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $134 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelPower, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing