We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful three days!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I live in Miami but wanted to get away with my teenage son and parents for a few days.What a wise decision to stay at Lago Mar.Everything is excellent about this hotel.Friendly staff, big comfortable rooms, stunning lagoon pool, delicious breakfast, beach area, hammocks, etc, etc.I got room 463 overlooking directly to the pool and beach.Nice comfortable beds.Went to the store and bought a pair of shoes (the sweetest saleswoman).I miss Lago Mar.I will recommend it to all my friends.Also, loved the fla.resident rate.But most of all loooved that pool (heated by the way).I will be coming back, definitely!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank anaglori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 2,538 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at Lago Mar first week of August and unfortunately were at the mercy of Tropical Storm Bertha for two and a half days. Of course it is hurricane season so we cannot control the weather! However, whilst it did interrupt our holiday it did not spoil our enjoyment of the place. The gardens, swimming pools and beach are extremely good , the loungers provided are great and there is plenty of shade if you need it either around the pool or under the palms between hotel and beach. Facilities including shuffleboard, tennis, putting, outdoor chess and childrens swings etc are very good. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful and rooms are generous with good sized verandas.
Despite all the advantages of this hotel we felt that a car was a neccessity as it is about a mile or more to walk to the main seafront area of the city and there does not seem to be any restaurants within immediate walking distance.
Dining at the hotel was disappointing in that the main restauirant was priced slightly high but the menu was such that if you were staying for a week or more then you would find it too repetitive. The sports bar type food offered at the poolside eating was of limited interest too. The Soda Shop proved to be extremely popular with similar food to the bar but with added extras like omeletes and salads. However the best facet of this place was Fran, a New York Italian lady with a great sense of humour and friendliness that was infectious giving you the feeling that you could have been in a NY deli. She is an asset to the hotel and everyone who visits should go and say hello!
Our final comment is that the hotel should add another restaurant for evening dining offering a more varied selection to the main restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RedBarn9021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 14, we loved the place. Right on the beach, with two pools.
Had fantastic meals at both the poolside bar in the day and in the restaurant in the evening. Wife quoted the restaurant meal as the best ever (I need to take her out more!) - no seriously it was fantastic, and to boot it was a set $35 for a 3 course menu which had a reasonable amount of choices.
Service from the free valet parking (as frequent as required), hotel reception and the restaurant staff was exceptional. Would definitively stay here again if stopping in Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great family place near Ft. Lauderdale and terrific setting! Of the highway so it is easily accessible, but you do need a car. Lots of options, in room cooking and other property places to eat. Lots of pools and beach!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank toyo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Nestled into a residential neighborhood, you would never know this beautiful beachfront hotel existed. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Ft. Lauderdale strip (which also means not a lot of spring-breaker types). It feels like your home away from home. It has elegant decor while keeping a Florida beachy feel.

Their on-site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Towards the pool area, they also have a coffee shop with lite munchies open until 9pm. You can get "drink-drinks" either outside at the tiki bar or at any point during the day you can relax in the lounge which has a bar, piano and wine cellar (a good spot to plan out your adventures).

The staff was so friendly, welcoming and accommodating to our needs. The bellman happily showed us a few rooms with different views to give us options to choose from (I like options).

It was a wonderful experience.

Oh - and you get parking passes for you and your guests! (other hotels charge $20+ a day per vehicle). Parking wasn't an issue at all. They have valet and on site parking.

It's a beautiful property and we'll definitely be back.

I would like to extend my sincere appreciation to Lago Mar and staff, for taking such good care of my family! May the same be done to you and yours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweettrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have lived in South Florida for ten years and never new this hotel existed.... My husband and I began our honeymoon here and I was so impressed and surprised by how tucked away it is. It is so beautiful--the staff is very friendly, the pools are great, the restaurant is great, the beachfront area is great...it was amazing. We can't wait for an opportunity to go back.

Here are a few tips: be sure to take advantage of the wine happy hour at the bar, as well as sample the cheeses.

We stayed in an executive suite (so spacious and comfortable) that technically wasn't ocean view, but we could totally see the ocean from our room, and our view was magnificent. It was just perpendicular instead of parallel. If you're interested in saving a little extra money, try this route.

Room Tip: A non ocean view room could still come with an amazing view, including the ocean! Be sure to inquire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the Lago Mar Resort for a weekend get-away for my father's birthday. As a large family consisting of 10 adults, 5 kids (aged 6-8), 1 toddler and 1 baby we were relieved to be able to secure 5 separate but unique suites on such short notice. Let me be completely honest with you, the real draw of the Lago Mar, the essence of everything that works for this resort lies with its ability to cater to the family. If you have kids, the Lago Mar is a dream, the amount of things for the kids to do will ensure the deepest sleep you and your little ones will have at the end of each and every day.

The reason why this resort did not reach excellent status in my humble opinion is that a few small, nominal things could be tweaked to ensure an even higher standard of hospitality. Let me provide a few examples to help you get a better picture of what I mean.

- The private beach is amazing but a bit of a walk. You are offered free blue & white lounge chairs and an option for full-recline loungers ($10ea) or umbrella with 2 loungers ($25). Now I do not mind that there are no coolers permitted on the beach but with that said in the weekend we stayed there not once did we see a wait staff asking people for drink orders even though we heard rumors that they did this. Honestly I could not see how since everyone is able to spread out on this massive area of beachfront making it virtually impossible for someone to cover that kind of space with a tray of frosty goodness (by the way we found drinks start at $9ea which isn't really that bad; for comparison: Disney or Universal resort prices start at $14ea). Remember, Room Card Only to pay no cash/credit!!!

- The hotel does the Old Florida feel excellently however I do agree with other reviewers that although spacious, the rooms would benefit from a facelift of sorts. We booked 4 different room types: Executive Suite w/ 2 Doubles, Poolside Suite w/ King, Oceanfront Suite w/ King and 2 Bedroom Poolside. I stayed in one if the suites with 2 doubles (433). The room was more then adequate for us with great AC and good water pressure/temp control in the bathroom. The negative here is that our balcony provided absolutely no privacy. The only thing separating our balcony from the 10 other balconies was a small white chain. Now another member of our group had the same room type as I, however their balcony was walled off creating complete seclusion, plus it had a poolside view to boot and it almost equaled the square footage space as ours. A far superior room in the same catergory (this is Room# 362 for your reference). It's a bit of the luck of the draw which room you will get so hopefully this may help you if you can request it in advance.

- The food although excellent, is a bit limited. Our dinner at the high-end restaurant (think $30 approx. an entrée or $35 prix fix set-course menu) was delicious but almost a 2-3 hour affair. Kids do eat free which helps a lot however please note it is only 1 kid per mommy and daddy. They offer pub-style fare such as burgers, wraps, fish tacos, club sandwiches, etc.ranging from about $9- $17ea which was fantastic but it would be nice to have at least one more dining option. Buy the way if you are looking to go out of the resort you will need a car, taxi or some other type of transport. Hotel is not walking distance to restaurants and shops.

Overall the Lago Mar is an excellent choice for the family travelers. The minor flaws I presented here in no way seriously marred the experience for any of us, especially not the kids. They truly had a blast and that is what it is all about! The service is truly wonderful, they went above and beyond to do whatever you need and in the end the Lago Mar will make your beach day with the family an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbybb808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
#3 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
197 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,064 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
4,180 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,680 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#14 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $216 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing