We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
south shields
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my husband and two sons. Huge bedroom with a sitting area and pull out bed with kitchen. Rooms were lovely and clean. We had a pool view which was great. The hotel was immaculate. Staff very friendly. It has a swim around pool and was right on the beach. Nice atmosphere about this hotel. Would definitely return. I wasn't too keen on the centre of fort Lauderdale for a night out but we did find some nice friendly family restaurants not far from the hotel by taxi. There was a marina restaurant can't quite remember the name but the tuna was fantastic.

Room Tip: sea or pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddySouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    627
    131
    58
    30
See reviews for
1,259
611
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Made four different reservations for our Memorial Day week visit to Ft. Lauderdale: the Westin, the Atlantic and the W. Although the Lago Mar was clearly an older property, I wanted to be on the beach and away from AIA traffic. I couldn't have been more satisfied.

The resort interiors have a Palm Beach aesthetic, nothing overly modern or flashy. Just comfort and old-school luxury. It was clear that ownership/management takes great pride in maintaining every last detail. The grounds were lush and manicured, the suite was spacious and well-appointed and the staff was friendly and helpful. I will look to stay here next year for some more R&R. Oh, and two large pools, which is somewhat uncommon for Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncboysocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lago Mar has huge rooms with nice balconies directed to the pool or even beach area (you have to book early!). The pool is very nice, also big and perfect for children and there are a lot. They also have a beautiful private beach and a family-friendly restaurant with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Visited for the 1st time with 2 granddaughters (5 & 3) and family. Great family atmosphere, fabulous oceanfront/beach setting; impeccable service at all levels and in all areas. Will return for sure soon and am praising it and advising friends to try it. Good ole southern hospitality in a south Florida setting.

Room Tip: Oceanfront front suite is outstanding with lots of glass views from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just returned from a week at Lago Mar. We went for a 55th High School Reunion & added a few days to our stay. We were in the main building in a one bedroom suite. Microwave, coffeemaker and fridge were provided along with cutlery and dishes. The suite was very well appointed in a lovely tropical decor and had ever ammenity that one requires. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is directly on the beach which in Ft Lauderdale is hard to find as there are only a very few hotels directly on the beach. We watched ocean liners and freighters sail into and out of Port Everglades inlet from our good sized balcony. The conference centre was lovely and had plenty of room for our three events. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and attentive. It was a great place to plan an event and vacation all rolled into one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galianoisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The year of 2014 marks my 9th year of visiting Lago Mar in May. If you are looking for a tranquil vacation, Lago Mar is the place you want to go. Lago has a spectacular private beach, exceptional service and lovely facilities. The dining is above average, the service is second to none. The bar staff is outstanding!!! If you are planning a trip to Lago, be sure to book a massage with Fernando in the spa, it will be the best massage you have ever had! Lago Mar is the place where people visit year after year. We have made friends from New York, Vermont, Germany that we look forward to vacationing with every year at Beautiful Lago Mar.

My only wish is that the pool chair pads would return!!!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view suite, book early! They fill up FAST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and teenage daughters stayed at Lago Mar at the end of April and enjoyed the resort very much!!

I broke a bone in my foot 3 weeks before we were scheduled to go on this long planned get away. Not wanting to cancel the trip, I called the resort to get an idea of walking distances. I was told that they have wheelchairs available to use the entire length of your stay - you just have to call and reserve one of the four available. It made it much easier to not have to walk from our room down to the pool, etc. They also have a great sand wheel chair for wheeling out to the beach. If needed, just ask at the area where you get beach towels. It seems not all employees know about it, but it was great to use to get out by the ocean. I mention the wheelchair since it would be so nice for elderly people to come and stay and relax by the ocean with family. Or, someone in our position who wanted to get away and tolerated the inconvenience of an injury prior to our trip.

The beachfront at Lago Mar is spacious - you never felt crowded on top of other guests at the beach front. We liked that this resort is directly on the beach vs. the resorts down the road which are clustered and share a beach - across a busy 4 lane road.

Our teenage daughters loved the deeper pool here at the resort. We took advantage of having Michael take family photos of us - very nice to have all of us in one photo since my husband or I are usually taking the pictures.

Only thing we missed was an outdoor hot tub - would be nice for relaxing by the ocean when the evenings get a little chilly! Also, our room was a little cramped for the 4 of us - we had the executive suite by the pool. My husband used the pull out couch one night and the mattress was very "saggy." It would be nice to have a memory foam topper in the closet. (Given that this resort is very attentive to detail.) While we expect it not to be as good as the main bed, it was not at all comfortable. This is the reason for 4 vs. 5 stars.

Room Tip: We love the ocean, so we would go for an ocean view next time. The pool view was fine, but loud on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTMILLER2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,549 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,731 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,929 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,992 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing