We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
“little slice of paradise”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent 3 relaxing days at Lago Mar Resort...the service and staff were first class, the room was modern with flat screen TVs updated furniture, kitchenette and a spectacular view. Lots for the kids to do (they didn't want to leave) with ping pong, putt putt golf, shuffle board, two pools, tennis, lots of hammocks and of course the beach. There was also great dining on site, from upscale to snacks. The soda shop was popular. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    607
    131
    54
    29
See reviews for
1,211
599
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KY
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lago Mar is a beautiful resort right on the beach. The beach is very wide and the pools are very nice. The landscaping throughout the resort is beautiful and very well kept. Our condo was a bit dated.... that was a downside to the resort. They also charge 18% gratuity for everything you order. We used the photographer on site, Michael Holmes, for family photos and he was wonderful! Our pictures are beautiful and we are very pleased. If you visit Lago Mar, make sure to set up a photo appt. with him and you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved spending four days at Lago Mar after our Disney vacation. At only 3.5 hours from Orlando we found this gem thanks to tripadvisor.

Nice, clean rooms. Great service. Nice people (mostly families). The hotel is not too big (only 5 stories high per building; they have two buildings I think). The beach area was not crowed at all, and they have plenty of space comparing to other hotels nearby where everyone seemed to be too close for comfort from one another...

The only negative was that you have to pay DAILY $25.00 for the rental of 1 beach umbrella and 2 chairs that on top, are collected at 5pm when the sun is still up. The hotel offers complementary blue, old and ugly beach chairs that are also collected at 5pm. (I have to say that my husband said that those ugly chairs offered a good reading position)...

They have two pools. A bigger one that was a bit crowded. Most kids and families were there, and a smaller one where most adults would be. The pools seamed clean although I never swan there, I don't like pools, particularity when in the beach.

The hotel is well located at only 10 minutes from the airport and has a few places where you can go for dinner (I liked Chucks steak house... Coco Asian Bar was not bad (don't ask for the beef pad thai)...

Our room had a "kitchenette" for what we would have a healthy breakfast in our room everyday (Go to Publix supermarket for groceries)... Or you can eat at the hotel restaurant. My sister in law said it was good.

In sum, I would go back to this hotel anytime BUT I WOULD ASK FOR A KING SIZE BED.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed. We had an ocean view room on the 5th floor... the family pool was just unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our party of 11 stayed at Lago Mar for one night pre-cruise on the Allure and it was near perfect. The location is 5 minutes from the cruise-port, and if you go out on a Sunday cruise, you can walk down to the point to see the ships go out on Saturday. The kids loved it. Of course, the airport is also right there, so it is hard to beat the location, the beach, etc. for pre or post-cruise.

Lago Mar would also be a fine choice for a longer stay, as the beach is huge, and there are numerous activities - shuffleboard, ping pong, two pools, chess, nice restaurants on site and closeby, hammocks to relax in, etc. The hotel was full but there were plenty of pool and beach chairs.

The rooms were very nice but not spectacular. It would be tough to spend a week here with a mini-fridge with no other amenities. The walls are moderately thin, which is a pet peeve of mine, but we've experienced worse. The staff were pleasant and accommodating.

If you like to run, there are interesting options running through Fort Lauderdale from the Lago Mar, but make sure you know your way back.

In all, you could do alot worse, and not much better in Fort Lauderdale. The hotel is old but has been updated. For a more modern experience, but with less amenities, try out the Hilton Waterfront north of Lago Mar. But, it is not directly on beach (which is the case with most of the Lauderdale hotels).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildcatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent a week at the resort for a much needed getaway. The wife and I were pleasantly suprised by the resort overall and the service was first class. There is so much to do or you can just relax and decompress. With tennis, putting course, two pools and a spa there is so much to keep you entertained. Located right on the beach, and rooms and suites with awesome views it is a island getaway right in Fort Lauderdale, just minutes from shopping, restaurants and golf.

Service was supurb from reservations, front desk, housekeeping, bartenders and restaurant staff. We enjoyed a tremdendous dinner and and breakfast. Even the assistant GM made himself available to check on our stay. I would highly recommend this to couples looking for a getaway or families wanting to enjoy all resorts activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abester30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are lucky to be frequent guests of Lago Mar and find more to love each time.
It is a perfect place to relax as a couple even though it is a family friendly resort,
we never feel over run by children.
The decor is constantly updated and/or replaced to keep the fresh appearance.
The landscaping is well done, the beach is very clean, staff is friendly and helpful, the food delicious and the location is perfect for airport transport and access to everything fun in S Florida.
If you are heading out on a cruise, do yourself a favor and check in to Lago Mar a day or two before you sail and you will board the ship in your relaxed state of mind with no worries about making connections.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad view. Even a partial Ocean view or pool view is relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTeam614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here two nights after our time on the keys. It was a great way to end the vacation! The Lago Mar is really well maintained and a ton of fun for our teenagers. We played shuffle board, ping pong, laid on hammocks, swam in the pool, swam in the ocean (with a shark no less) and generally had a great time. I would absolutely come back in a heart beat! The only thing that bothers me is an automatic 18% tip for everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,952 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,022 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
989 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing