We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number One For Family Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Number One For Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I hesitate to even write this review as it has been a well kept secret for decades. For over 25 years we have been visiting this beautiful resort which is unique for vacationing families. Lago Mar is just minutes from the Fort Lauderdale airport and the upscale Fort Lauderdale beach and shopping districts. What makes this resort stand out from the rest is that access is restricted to hotel guests and private club members. The general public is not allowed at any time. Year over year our children would reacquaint themselves with friends from previous visits. This top class resort has everything for the family from a lagoon pool to a rocking tiki bar with outstanding beaches and views. You know it is good when the same staff is there to greet your arrival year over year.

Room Tip: There is a big variety of rooms to chose from which range from standard to full kitchens. I have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    592
    129
    52
    29
See reviews for
1,179
583
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Lago Mar for one night, the night before our cruise. I would highly recommend this resort. I called to make the reservation (as opposed to making it on-line) and I’m glad I did as the woman taking the reservation was very helpful. You could tell she really knew the resort. We stayed in a one bedroom suite overlooking the pool (which was a very pleasant view). The suite was recently renovated. There was a separate bedroom for us. The couch in the living room pulled out into two separate, comfortable twins, which was nice for the two teenage boys. The pools were great. A nice bar right at the pool. Mini golf and tennis. We ate dinner at the main restaurant. For some reason, there were very few people there but all of the food was fantastic. The beach in front of the resort is very wide and beautiful. My only critique might be that the resort in not ‘in town’. This might be a positive for some. I suppose if you were willing to walk down the beach you might get to some stores and other restaurants. I will stay there again on my next venture to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyMom1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for our Spring vacation this year and was very satisfied with the resort improvements! When we stayed here 2 x previously several years ago, when the price was much lower, the room kitchenettes then in the executive and 1-bedroom suites were a bit dated and had a little palmetto bug issue. However, this time, we were pleasantly surprised with updates. The kitchenette in our 1-bedroom suite was updated with granite tops, drawer refrigerators and no bugs! Yayyy! The place is lovely and kept very clean! The staff and cleaning team were terrific! They really make you feel like home here! The pool area was a bit more crowded than in our previous visits, especially with kids during school season!? The beach is nice, I wish the chair/umbrellas were assigned to each room instead of having to rent them, that would've been perfect! We always rent a car and you will need it staying here, unless you just plan to spend time at the resort and pay for taxi service. We were thinking about staying at the Hilton Resort, but heard they had a parking issue. At Lago Mar, there is plenty of 'free' parking available! I'm glad we stayed at the Lago Mar again because it's still number 1 in our book. (Special thanks to Paul in reservations, who caught my error with the double room booking! It's this type of personalized treatment you receive here that makes this place a winner!!!)

Room Tip: We were in what is referred to as 'the 70s building' in a third floor room with pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

At Spring Break, it's definitely for families...children, parents and grandparents everywhere. Gets a bit crowded in the pool area but lots of fun. Beach is wonderful, a bit of a walk but uncrowded and clean. Staff is very attentive and food good. We've been going for several years and have gotten to know families from all over the U.S. A nice service offered is family pictures on the beach and at the resort. Michael Holmes is the photographer on site and does a fabulous job. The hotel can help you contact him. Most days he's at the Tiki Hut Bar. We love our pictures and recommend having yours taken while at Lago Mar. Great memories!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitedkingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for 1 week with our adult kids.after a couple of nights in orlando. Lovely location right on beach, old style deck chairs free, metal beds (charged) not worth it no cushions included! 2 nice swimming pools but a bit cramped when busy. Food at poolside restaurant good, service prompt for poolside restaurant and poolside bar but not friendly, although ate in restaurant inside hotel in evening and our waiter was excellent cant remember his name he has a son who is an enginner in us navy! Areas inside hotel dated but makes a change from the usual ultra modern hotels that can sometimes feel a little cold, lovely bar area with friendly talented pianist playing in evening.. Stayed in 2 large standard rooms each had 2 beds with ok size bathrooms. Housekeeping a bit up and down, baths not always cleaned and toiletries in both bathrooms not replaced when finished. Consierge staff very friendly and informative. Need a car or be prepared to pay for cabs. Definate pros and cons but would stay again if visiting Fort Lauderdale if only for the beach location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here over Spring Break, the beach is awesome. Even tho the resort is on the beach it is a bit of a walk from the hotel on the beach to the actual water, this did not bother us. The pool is nice plenty of chairs, the food is very very good, the room service menu needs a bit more variety. The rooms are large. We had a to bedroom which actually has three baths! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudgethepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
340 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

because it's in the middle of a residential (condominium) area. We had a "customer service" problem shortly after arriving. My husband, son, and his friend sat down at an outdoor table at the cafe shortly before 2pm. After 10 minutes, a waitress finally approached them, saying, "We're closed." Apparently they close at 2pm, which made husband mad as he was sure they sat down before 2pm. She did not suggest the soda shop and my husband didn't know it was even there, so he and the kids left the property to try and find a restaurant. The nearest restaurants are at least 3 miles away. You will want to use GPS to find this place, as it's several turns off 1A. The property is beautiful and I was happy to see families with young children and families with teens. There is plenty to do during daylight hours, but I was surprised how dead the place was after dark. The grounds aren't lit. We reserved a standard room and I was very happy with it. It was 50% larger than a typical hotel room with two queen beds. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was a little larger, too. Room had some angled walls and we had a partial view of the ocean, intercoastal, and the cruise ship dock from our balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing