We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation spot on a private beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh, pa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great vacation spot on a private beach.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights over thanksgiving break. The resort was busy but never gave the feeling of being crowded. In fact, this place is very peaceful and secluded and does a great job entertaining families with children.

Overall resort: Beautiful grounds, and best of all, a private beach! Towels and beach chairs are complimentary,and umbrellas and lounge chairs are available to rent. There is a beach attendant available to help with anything you need. The beach is quiet with palm trees, snack bar and restrooms. A play area with volleyball nets, shuffleboard, swing set, mini golf keeps the kids busy. Some reviews say the resort looks worn and old. This is only the case in some of the common area corridors leading to the rooms facing inland. All other areas are fresh and inviting.

Dining: I suggest taking advantage of the bed and breakfast offer. We enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet that Includes anything you can imagine cooked to order at the buffet. Rosley, the chef did an outstanding job preparing everything from omelet, eggs Benedict, pancakes, etc...
Fresh squeezed juices compliment this outstanding breakfast. With the package, this comes out to costing $5 per person. Regular price is $15.
We only had one other meal we had at the resort was at the bar. It was good, but as all food here, it was expensive.

Room: The room was a suite that had a king bed, sliding doors to a patio, small kitchen with refrigerator microwave, sink and dishes. Two televisions and a sofa bed made this an excellent choice for family with children

Location and transportation.
Resort is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. It was a short cab ride from the airport that cost $15. We took a cab because our flight arrived very late. There is no shuttle service available at the resort, however, the public bus stop is a short 10 minute walk away. We wanted to avoid the high cost of a rental car so we used the bus to get to shopping and attractions. It was very easy to use and only cost $1.75 per ride. And if you only need to run out to get some groceries, you can take advantage of the bus departure at 3:30pm that picks up at the end of the parking lot. It takes you to the galleria mall where there is a publix store and cvs. Perfect to pick up beer, food etc.
Otherwise, we used this bus line to visit restaurants in the evening, and Las olas blvd. A bargain transportation option that more travelers should consider. And we used the bus to return to the airport at the end of the stay. The bus drops off right at the terminal. Instead of the $15 cab fare, our trip cost $3.50.

Staff: I can't say enough about the terrific and helpful staff. Pat, carol, Rosley, ramon, and everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. Great job!

This resort is a terrific spot to enjoy the beach and all that ft lauderdale has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pghdrumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    623
    131
    56
    30
See reviews for
1,248
610
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horseshoe Bend, ID
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here with my two sons for a pre-cruise day/night. My sons are 19 and 8 so we definitely had the age groups covered. I had called earlier about an early check in and they did let me know that even if our room was not ready they would store our bags and we could use the resort all day. When we got there we were surprised to find out we had been upgraded to a suite and it was ready for us. We spent most of the day at the resort. Beautiful property, very nice rooms, great amenities. We played on the beach, the boys played ping pong and miniature golf, and just enjoyed the property. I have to say ALL of the staff members we ran into were incredibly friendly and really made us feel welcome. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandit3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful family resort. Service was excellent. Great playground, pool and beach for children. Booked a 2 bedroom suite. It had 2 twin beds in one room and king bed in other bedroom. Oceanfront view was amazing! At resort to celebrate birthday, dining room made a special cake for birthday girl. Absolutely fantastic! Restaurants on site were very good. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast every day. The kids especially loved the mickey mouse pancakes. Booked photographer, Michael Holmes, through the concierge at the resort. So worth it! He did a fabulous job with our family of seven including two toddlers. Beautiful family pictures at a beautiful resort. Plan on booking again for next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best place to stay in Ft Lauderdale. Beautiful ocean front resort with a wonderful staff. We will come back. Also, wonderful photographs by the resort photographer....... professional photos taken by the ocean. A wonderful momento!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

right on the water, with good activities (miniture golf, pool, giant chess, tennis among others), and the rooms are all suites.

I would ask for a newer room in the tower, although they are a little smaller, But they are all nice and spacious. Beds are very comfortable.

The service was very good with everyone from bellman to bar staff being frindly, nice and helpful. they delivered the service that I hope to receive.

And the location right on the water is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the updated main building. All are suites but the updated rooms are just nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calbearfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

No wonder it is affiliated with the peace lodge in Costa Rica. We stayed there on our honeymoon and were glad to see the affiliation. It was very family oriented. The beach was well kept and groomed even when no one was on it. When we arrived we were upgraded from a one bedroom pool view to a two bedroom suite ocean front for no reason. Well probally because it wasn't busy, but still nice of them. Everyone was very friendly. All kid activities were free. Love that you can sit at the tiki bar and watch your kids play on the playground. This place was great!!! Only wish it were a little warmer during our stay to enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We go to Ft Lauderdale every year and only stay at the Lago Mar it is by far the Best Resort in the area. If you are going for a Quick getaway just you and your spouse it`s Great if your going with family and friends it`s also perfect because you don`t have to leave everything is on site pools,Beach,Restaurants and wonderful relaxing rooms. You can drive anywhere for shopping,Food, Music everything is close by. The staff at the Lago Mar are as nice as can be and will help you with anything you need. You can order drinks at the pool. The views from the room balconies are breathtaking you can park your car for free and go and come as you please. We just left there Oct 20th after 5 beautiful days We are going back in July with a bunch of people and the Ft Lauderdale Airport is 10 minutes away can`t beat that.

Room Tip: Any room over looking either the lagoon pool or the ocean 3rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron44QueensNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,545 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,723 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,990 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,916 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing