We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveler rating
409
360
257
161
286
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
360
257
161
286
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuniversal palms hotelfront deskjoelhousekeeperftlauderdaletiki
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

Got this hotel from a local recommended. But aparently , now the room is smelly like a long time no used room.
Lots of big mosquitos.
No soap bar.
The mites are everywhere on the bed.
Toilet seat can not flush.
Its everything you need for the extremly perfect holiday
Enjoy

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tintin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc b, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

We do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. we are constantly working to improve our customer experience and we are working hard to improve our quality , and we hope that you will enjoy your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

They false advertise there pictures and false advertise free wifi which is a lie.
I spent 2days there in room 201 and it was horrible felt something itching me in the bed woke up with bite marks it was bed bug not only but no wifi couldn't perform my business using my computer.
DON'T GO HERE THE WORST EVER ITS LIKE A INN OR A MOTEL NOT A REAL HOTEL

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Jodiann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc b, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

First of all, we are truly sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We are disappointed to see that the room we assigned you did not please you. Let us assure you the type of room you describe is not what we offer usually to our customers. We take your comments very seriously as they help us know what we do wrong and what we could improve. We are sorry for the inconveniences you lived while you were staying at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

The picture online is not the same hotel you staying in it need a lot work to done to this hotel. It need to paint badly lamp shade were very dirty and old baseboard were old and rusty. There was not enough towels in the bathroom. Very disappointment with the Hotel the rating to me is a 0

Room Tip: Only thing good about this hotel the A/C work very well
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellskimberly671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc b, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Thank you for your feedback
.
This is certainly not the kind of review we want for our hotel, that' s why we are taking them very seriously and i agree with you that what you experienced is not acceptable.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, I've already gave directions to the housekeeper manager to take care of the situation and to avoid any further issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

We booked in this hotel, because our flight was delayed. Old hotel with no maintenance. We stayed in the room 303 and there is a door with an electric generator or something like that and it's very noisy, annoying ... the first night I couldn't sleep, not even so you have the train going by every 5 minutes. Definitely, not recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ivonneramirezalarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc b, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Thank you for your feedback
Some of our rooms are located near the road track and we can’t definitely change this situation. Our front desk team is available 24 hours a day to reaccommodate you if you need it. We really hope that you that you will appreciate your stay on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

This is hotel is horrible. Don't let the website photos fool you. It looks nothing like this. My family was in Ft. Lauderdale for a funeral and had to stay here because Hurricane Irma had left the area without power and water in some areas and this included our original hotel. The Universal Palms would not honor the price we had from Expedia. They charged us $40 more than what our reservation was for. We had to ask for towels repeatedly and they were small and old. They don't advertise as an extended stay hotel, but there are people who actually live on the property. The ice machines were broken and this happened before the storm. The pool was nasty and the parking lot was worse and it wasn't from storm damage. If you have the ability to stay anywhere else, please do so.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zakiya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc b, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017


We would first like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel, it is not in our habits, nor in our wishes to provide an experience as you describe it to our guests. We are sorry to read that your room and our establishment did not meet your expectations. We have very high standards of cleanliness and the comfort and satisfaction of our guests are truly important for us, so we duly take note of your comments and will address the issues immediately. We are sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your stay and we hope that you can give our establishment a second chance, we would like to show you the real Universal Palms experience, one that is really appreciated by our visitors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews