We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My extended stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #76 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My extended stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I traveled from the west coast of Florida to see the birth of My first grandson. Things changed several times and I had to extend my stay 2 different times. The stay here was nothing less than fantastic for the whole stay. During this frustrating time and unexpected delays in the birth, Marital and Megan made my stay an easy and pleasurable one by handling my stay details so I could relax and concentrate on the details of My new grandson and be with my family. These 2 as I mentioned are fantastic and wonderful. I also need to thank Joel for his part along with Marital again for correct a couple minor issues. This is the place to stay here in Ft. Lauderdale and will be my first choice when I return. Michael Annunziata Hudson, Florida.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    325
    219
    126
    161
See reviews for
331
266
99
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Upon our arrival to the hotel, we instantly felt appreciated and valued patrons. The customer service was exceptional.The hotel is conveniently located near public transportation. The hotel stay made for an excellent Fort Lauderdale experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigmalady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise tucked into a quiet little area in Fort Lauderdale! We absolutely loved the hotel. Everything was clean, accessible, and ready for us! The staff was pleasant and always helpful. We absolutely loved the manager Joel Niedle! He catered to our every need and even arranged shuttle services for us to get to airport (usually the guest is responsible). He also recommended places for every budget when it came to dinner and entertainment. The breakfast is amazing! The food, the atmosphere, and the overall comfort of the area was great! The pool was pretty great with the palm trees and lounging chairs. We were there for a wedding and Joel and his team took very good care of us. Great choice! We will be returning in September!

Room Tip: Go with the two room suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkerTrips927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, after 2 sleepless nights I complained to the front desk. The front desk upgraded us to a suite, which was only a bigger room with small fridge,dining table and lounge. The mattress was still uncomfortable the pillows were lumpy and to top it off there is a train that goes right behind the hotel like every hour. This hotel is in the middle of no where you have to get transportation as it is a long walk to anywhere even good food (mcdonalds and KFC are near if that floats your boat). Our first room the shower was good the second was hurtful with the pressure and the water would not drain so the bathtub would fill up. Pool could use a clean dirty on the bottom. Air conditioners leak water on the pathways which gets slippery. Mini golf course is cute and other than needing new mattress and pillows it is a nice room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We spend couple of nights in this Hotel and was nice! The price is ok, but there is a bad think the breakfast it wasn't included! I will recommended this hotel! For a short visit at the area! The pool area is beautiful and the rooms are clean!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caro2granada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I have brought my family to this hotel three times now. The hotel is very well appointed, very clean, the staff is all very attentive and truly interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible. The courtyard and pool is an oasis and very relaxing with all of the palms and waterfalls. Everything is freshly painted and in very good condition. There is even some covered parking spaces to keep your car cool. Don't let the price fool you; I travel a lot for business and the experience here is many times better than I have had in the best hotels in major cities at 4x the cost! I will be back to the Universal Palm again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is much nicer on the inside than it is on the outside.. Maritxa at the front desk was extremely pleasant and gave us many helpful tips on places to take our kids and where to get the best value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#60 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#58 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Lauderdale I-95 Inn
BEST WESTERN Ft. Lauderdale I-95...
#73 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Beach Palace
Royal Beach Palace
#64 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#77 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#75 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Property: Universal Palms Hotel
Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing