We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service at front desk with maritxa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #80 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
1 review
“great service at front desk with maritxa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

she was very helpful at the desk with checking in and giving us what we needed for our room. This was exactly what I needed after going changing rooms 2 times from the last hotel Thanks again Maritxa for your help.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wes n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    354
    236
    142
    194
See reviews for
371
298
107
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Every worker was very professional, patient and helpful. Maritxa made sure we were always well treated and gave us the best advice on how to enjoy our stay, both in the hotel and the city. She was a great help to us during our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njivice, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I got here without reservation and Olmide at front desk accommodated me in no time with a clean room, almost absolute silence, comfortable bed and best of all is a non smoking Hotel.
From now on this is my Hotel whether im on vacation or a business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Un2minikano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I live in that hotel for 2 months, the managers were so rude and the man of the house keping were the worst of the worst.. There was only one person which was polite, friendly and a very good worker and the name is Marisa, she work at the desk but she could be the manager better than the other! I give 3 stars to the hotel just because of her!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertoParlato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have been staying at Universal Palms for the past 5 weeks on business. Olmide & Maritza have been great they always greet me with a smile as I come and go. If i have any special request they are always trying to assist with them and make me feel as if I was home.The entire staff has been great as well. I will always recommend the Universal Palms Hotel to any of my friends and family if the are needing a place to stay..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I apologize for not writing this review earlier , soon after my stay at UNiversal Palms in May 2014. My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was so clean and hospitable. Joel was very sociable and an excellent manager. He made us feel like he knew us for a long time. He made sure our stay was relaxing and memoriable. Our satisfaction was so very important to him. I would also like to acknowledge Maritza. She made sure we knew how to get around and she made us feel very welcomed also. Overall, I (we) would come back again and again and we would (have already) recommend this hotel to others. Keep up the GREAT work Joel!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellybelly01200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Universal Palms-will go again in Oct. Omayra and I just got back this morning, Stayed there 7/11 to 7/13. Somehow I found a booking and price guarantee that linked me directly to hotel's web site. It was for $67.50/night...a steal. The desk staff, Jeffery(and Maritsa/?sp) were a tremendous assets to hotel/resturant layout then getting us to Fort Lauderdale main beach just down Commercial Blvd-straight shot, 5 min from hotel including draw bridge to let a yachts thru the canal...LOL! Hotel kind of all older style 5 story, aqua.tan, but very clean. rooms were super clean and modern-very nice big flat screen, in room free wi-fi and plenty of channels.
Security during day and night very good. Adequate parking-no dings in the doors of the rental.

Then there was Renata(Fri night) at the Univ Palms Bar and Grill resturant in the lobby section. She was sooo cool, Great bartender/host, we had tasty wings, salad and cocktails. Knew how to get us to Hard Rock with exact exit number and "rights and lefts". Thank you and thanks sooo much for turning in my new Oakley "Two-Face"(Sat night) into the front desk...guess we got tipsy on the M-ritas...sweet!
"Chef John"-what a great Mahi grilled steak on my Ceasar salad, grilled to perfection and your special ceasar dressing-delicioso!. Very fair pricing for food and drinks.
We never made it into the pool but the water was crystal clear from out 4th floor balcony...lots of activity with adults and kids.
We had a problem with accessing our safe in 408, they had a maintainence man up within 10 min but unfortunately problem could not be resolved. We won't book hotels without in room safe...we forgive you-haha
See you all in Oct...

Room Tip: **Book directly through Universal Palms web site:that is the best deals over Priceline, Hotwire, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geno131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#87 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#64 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Property: Universal Palms Hotel
Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing