We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #106 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just arrived at Universal Palms Hotel.
It will be a 2 nights only stay.
Unfortunately not longer, because our arrival was a very welkom one.
The hotel is very nice, clean and the people are friendly.
At the frontdesk Jacques was very kind to us.
He gave us a very nice room, even better than we expected.
Also he gave us advised where we should go eat and where to see nice places.
So if you stay at Universal Palms, ask for Jaques, he's a very nice guy and makes you feel welkom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had 3 nights here in May 2013 and it was just ok. The location is not the best as the hotel is next to a railroad track and a main road too, it was noisy. The hotel is old and our air conditioning was really noisy. Breakfast is $4.00 each which is good value. Make sure you get the vouchers from reception for breakfast before you go in to the dining room. The reception area is really nice as are the Reception staff. The beach is 15 mins away and beach parking is $1.25 per hour.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool near to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel01530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for the memorial day weekend with two friends. The hotel is located almost 8 miles from the airport and they do not have an airport shuttle. The neighborhood is a little run down but if you are in Florida visiting, then you are mostly out!!! The hotel reception is decent but the corridor and elevator area needs some serious remodeling. The room is decent and clean. But if you get the city view rooms then you will be disturbed by frequent honks of trains and cars down the street. To put it briefly, this is what you get for the price.


There are few good Mexican and cuban restaurants nearby but it is better to opt for decent restaurants unless you are damn hungry. It is a little far from Miami and South Beach but if you run out of options in Ft lauderdale area, then this can be a decent option.

Room Tip: Get the pool side view to avoid the honks of cars and trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall, I guess you get what you pay for. My room was "upgraded" to a suite. But the suite was on the side of the hotel facing train tracks. Loud train horn blowing every hour on the hour. The room was average for the price but I noticed ants in my bed and on the night stand.

The location is fine if you have a car. Only a few eating places are within walking distance. I think I'll stay somewhere else next time. Remember, you get what you pay for. I'll pay a little more next time and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the far side facing the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank got2go46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The area that this hotel is located at is just horrible.It was so bad that I didnt even stay, took the lost and left because I ordered online and its not refundable. The room had a very bad ordor coming from the vent. It was just an awful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank GH305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in their DELUXE 2 ROOM SUITE COURTYARD - POOL VIEW. The room was AWESOME! It was better than some of the rooms at so called 'high end' hotels along the beach and best of all it offered FREE PARKING! The pool was 8 ft deep and heated which once again was better than the so called 'high end' hotels. I was just blown away by this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again at this hotel in a heart beat or book a room as a gift for friends and family.

Room Tip: Purchase the Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard - Pool View on the 5th floor. I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LORDMOGY365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had read that the staff was not too friendly, but we found them to be great and very helpful, that wasn't the problem. We stayed before and after a cruise, we didn't have a car, there's simply nothing to do around this hotel, we did eat 4 times at the Waffle House next door. The pool area was beautiful, spent as much time by the pool as we could. Train noise was unavoidable since the tracks run right behind the property. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#62 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
946 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Suites
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#47 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
219 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Beach Palace
Royal Beach Palace
#34 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ft. Lauderdale I-95 Inn
Best Western Ft. Lauderdale I-95...
#68 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,539 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#77 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $89 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing