We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“remodeled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #89 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“remodeled”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice hotel. We stayed at this hotel last year and it has been remodeled and continues to be updated. Reasonable and clean. Close to the cruise port and offers a transport service for $10.00 a person. You are able to leave your car at this hotel also until you return from your cruise. Would recommend for families planning a cruise.

Room Tip: Small exercise room not worth using.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    359
    241
    147
    214
See reviews for
382
315
108
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a old hotel, which has been refurbished! The pictures are MISLEADING, it is not a luxuirious as it looks. Not even close!!! Whoever own the hotel put a lot of money in the pool and the front lobby. The rooms had obvious work done, but it is no where close to what was expected from the photos. The wi-fi signal was so weak, I could not access it from the 4th floor. I had pool towels for the shower, no face cloths, and no exhaust fan in the small bathroom. I had paid for a suite, and I was not impressed. My room was next to the commuter train tracks. Every hour, the train roared by and sounded it's horns!!! The carpet is from like the cheapest roll in 1983. Oh, the continental breakfast was $6.00 and that was for bagles, bread, ceral, coffee and milk. You come off better eating at 7-11.

The investors put greek/ mediterainian feel to a old stucco.

As we checked in , we had a long line, the phone was ringing and my checkin was interrupted numerous times. Jacques was making up answers and rude to the people who had questions. When I called to aske what was wrong with the internet, I was told to restart my computer. I told them I had a tablet and laptop and neither was able to connect from my room. There are some computers in lobby, which seemed to work well, slow, bit connected. They were not convienient to my room either.

I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay there! Ask to be on side not by train, get close to lobby to get wi-fi. Ask for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a group of about 40 people, and set up so everybody could book rooms under the name of my wife and I.
Booking were mixed up, which isn't such a huge deal (Roadside rooms rather than poolside rooms). Not big enough of an issue for us to not return after our destination wedding.

On our return, some rooms were not available for our party until after 4pm ! An hour later than normal which may not seem like a big deal, but travelling with infants certainly makes this a bigger issue.). One suite with a pull out bed (which was needed) was found unprepared at midnight, at which point the front desk gave them some linens and told them to make it themselves. One room from our party had a toilet that was plugged and overflowed, which the staff showed up, briefly "fixed" and left, only to not actually fix it causing the toilet to overflow again. Water slows to a trickle when you don't have hot water flowing, beds creak beyond belief.

Lounge open late, partying as hard as ever. staff goes to the pool and warns pool-goers about noise, never mind the party they're hosting a dozen feet away. Let's not forget the trains (Admittedly, out of their control) that cruise by with the horn held in.

Having to fight for tickets to the continental breakfast (Which we didn't have to do on our first stop, but certainly did on our second), which includes warm juice, coffee, and bagels. No fresh fruit or hard boiled eggs which you expect at all others.

In closing, spend the extra money and stay elsewhere.
While you can't fault them for catering to a certain group, this hotel has a very large number of Quebecois guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-Town-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We're calling this the multiple personality hotel. The front desk staff was always great. The pool should be the standard for pools, nice and warm, lots of chairs, thatched roof spots for shade add a 'south seas' ambiance, and the birds are a great touch. The room was up and down. It was well appointed, although the style took a little getting used to, with the exception of the carpet. The carpet was threadbare, snagged and stained, and presented a tripping hazard at the theshold... well past time to replace it. But the furniture was comfy, the kitchenette (we were upgraded to a suite due to our late arrival) was in good order and a nice touch. The bed comfortable, if a bit firm for our taste. The low point was the housekeeping. After night 1, we noticed they had forgotten to leave washclothes, a bath mat and coffee cups, which we easily picked up from the front desk. The next morning we left a note with some things we'd like done... simple things that shouldn't have to be mentioned... please leave sufficient towels and washclothes, please change out the sheets due to a stain (not ours, there when we arrived), vaccuum, coffee cups. These things were not done. So I went to the manager who apologized profusely and promised to take care of it right away. They did, and for night 3 we had a nice, clean, and properly stocked room... if only they could have changed the carpet that quickly. Overall, we were happy with the place, it has tremendous potential, but its past due a renovation and needs to retrain the housekeeping staff. The 3 dot rating is perhaps misleading, its a mixture of 5's (front desk staff, bar, pool) and 1's (carpet, housekeeping).

Room Tip: Hotel is close to I-95 and the railroad. If you like trains, ask for a room on that side. If you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveandmelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel has everything you might want . A great pool for the family is heated to comfortable levels and is surrounded by plenty of lounge chairs, tikis for shade and nearby BBQ area with shaded tables and comfortable chairs. Pool towels are readily available from the reception desk and plenty full.
There is a restaurant in the hotel that serves a $6.- breakfast that is less than remarkable. Dinner, however is reasonably priced, well prepared. The adjoining bar is open from noon to..I don't know..late and serves also poolside.
I found my Garmin indispensable; to me Florida towns look all the same. That said, the hotel is easy to find.
This a great place..except..there are these train tracks that are constantly used by both passenger and freight traffic. Sadly there are multiple crossings a bock away and the engineers are probably required to blast their horn approaching said crossings. That, dear reader is the great fly in the ointment; this all too frequent barrage of thundering trains with accompanying horn blasting will keep you awake throughout the night. Highly advisable are some serious earplugs to be obtained at a drug store; that might help..or not.
As I said, a great place in the wrong location, or let someone do something about these infernal horns.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are at the pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right beside the train tracks & a major highway. We had to listen to the train going by honking every half hour! It was brutal. We hardly slept! The "gym" was really weak too................

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordeywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just spent one night here at Universal so I could catch an early flight the next morning. You'll need good directions or a GPS to find the hotel (I drove up from the Keys) but it's well worth it. The room was clean, comfortable and affordable. The staff was great...from the front desk folks to the personable bartenders and waitstaff. Food from the restaurant was great (best buffalo wings I've ever tasted) and you'll enjoy the heated pool and/or deck chairs to relax. It's not the Ritz but it's a very nice, very clean and comfortable hotel with all the amenities. I'm returning next winter and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cypress Creek
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cyp...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
711 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
736 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,018 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#78 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
211 reviews
6.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Property: Universal Palms Hotel
Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing