We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #101 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just got back from a week in Ft. Lauderdale with my daughters college softball team. I have to say I am completely surprised at some of the reviews talking about the staff and how people are mean and rude. We had such wonderful customer service from early check-in, to the great help from Doug (bartender) who helped us arrange a team party and karoake night at the bar. If you have a chance to order a pizza from the chef - do it. The hotel itself does need a little work, but for the price we paid - we can't complain. Thank you to all the staff at Universal Palms for all you did to make our stay so enjoyable!! Hope to see you again!

Room Tip: You will want to choose a room poolside to keep the majority of the street noise away, plus get a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night while getting ready to do a cruise the next day. Upon arrival, the front desk staff were great. Joel (?)..let us in a few hours early and even gave us a drink certificate for the lounge~from there is was all down hill.

Room was clean but very old. Hallways were in need of much repair. Not much lighting.

Then we had the misfortune of deciding to eat at the restaurant in house. DISASTER!!!

I have been in thousands of restaurants but never experienced such nightmare like the one we experienced in trying to order a simple dinner here. #30 minutes to be recognized before we had a waiter. Then, after ordering a simple meal...we waited ..and waited..and waited while the stafff buzzed around not knowing what they were doing. I finally asked where are dinner was and was quickly told that they are busy!! NO KIDDING....doing everything but waiting on customes!! I was even told by our waiter that unless we are Canadians..it will be a long wait. I guess they cater to local Canadians. That is fine if that is the agenda of the Canadian owner.....but he needs to address the lack of leadership in the restaurnat as it relates to managing people and servicing all customers.

Needless to say we left and never received our food!! HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacckk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at Universal Palms Hotel. Both have been great. Rooms are very, very nice & very clean. Pool area is beautiful. This stay was extra nice due to Renee at the deck. We had a problem with our 1st room, and she went out of her way to change our room and make our stay great. Thank you Renee!

Room Tip: The suites are very nice. Worth the extra price if your staying any length of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in! The pictures on their website must be 20 yrs. old. We booked through Expedia and were treated badly because of this. The hotel is owned by French Canadians and most staff are also French Canadians - ignorant and obnoxious. All newspapers and periodicals in the lobby are offered in French only! First nine stations on the TV ...FRENCH! No phone service in the room and they charge $6.00 pp for toast, cereal & juice breakfast per day. No amenities offered in the room (i.e. soap, shampoo ect.). Then there is the location, warehouse district, and homeless on every corner living in the shrubs. Trains, planes and traffic add to the ambiance!
ONLY good thing would be the bartender "Doug". Offered friendly service and the food in the bar was great.
Stay somewhere else and visit the bar for the atmosphere Doug creates.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandC_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Universal Palms for 1 night to catch a cruise in Miami. Great price and we had a good sleep. Decent continental breakfast. We were put in the older end of the hotel which was more like a motel. Room was clean but would not recommend for a long term family vacation. The location of the hotel is somewhat sketchy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobo_418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As my title suggests, this one of the best hotel stays ever! Renee and Jacques offered excellent service! Great poolside room that was tastefully renovated with excellent furnishings. Pool was heated to a great temperature. In addition, pool area has fountains and lighting at night that makes it feel like true paradise. Through Priceline this is rated as a 2.5 star property but it certainly exceeds that. I would say the property should be rated at least 3 stars if not 3.5 or even 4. Not sure why all the negative reviews?? Yes you may hear a train or plane but this is the 21st Century! The planes or trains did not bother us at all. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you can, try for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rld_Travel_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is old with no noise barriers. We heard the sports cars racing up and down Commercial Blvd. all night long. Then there was the commuter train with a whistle louder than any freight train I have ever heard that blasted at regular intervals. The beds were supposed to be queens but were doubles. The beds were old and saggy in the middles. We had to ask for pillow cases for the pillows and wash cloths. They would only allow us 2 wash cloths. The continental breakfast was hidden from view for a good reason. Only cold cereal and bread that could be toasted. No fresh fruit or danish of any kind.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ft. Lauderdale I-95 Inn
Best Western Ft. Lauderdale I-95...
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Suites
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Beach Palace
Royal Beach Palace
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
644 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#60 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
878 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Northeast
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Nor...
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $85 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing