We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Service beyond.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #76 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service beyond.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I found that the staff in general were very good. Very cordial, responsive and efficient. In particular, Jacques was able to take a bad situation and make it better, making a 3 night stay very enjoyable. We got in late on a Thursday night and although our rooms were available they were not changeable because the Hotel was full. The next morning I spoke to Jacques and he was able to make suitable changes without any of the usual hassles you might expect from a comparable hotel. This Hotel has a garden courtyard with a pool, restaurant patio and a bar which is just a Shangri-La.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    325
    219
    126
    161
See reviews for
331
266
99
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is a very nice place and the staff are courteous and helpful. Having the lounge on the property and a nice pool area was a bonus. The only draw back to this hotel is the noise between people staying in the hotel and the train it got a little noisy. The staff in the lounge were fun and very nice. Special thanks to Joxanne, Chantal, Joel and the rest of the staff for making our stay enjoyable. I will be coming back and bringing my friends. See you soon.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator and face pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were moved into three different rooms during our stay. Our toilet didnt work in the first one. The second room floor had bare foot prints while being walked on while they mopped. A film build up on the floor. Third room had no toiletries. ANd they refused to upgrade us to a better room even though the place was 2/3rds empty. Housekeeping used a old wet towel and just skimmed the floors with dirty water. NO THANK YOU. Free breakfast...what a JOKE. One bag of fruit loops and one bag of corn flakes? two bagels. Just a bit of juice and water. THATS IT. It was more than likely re-used for many days. If you don't get a pass from the desk they think you will pay $6 bucks for it? We were there for over a week and never ate breakfast once. Gee wonder why.

We will never go back even if it was free. The pictures are nice....the rooms are not. No thank you. I am surprised we didnt catch something from the lack of sanitary cleaning in each room.

Do yourself a favor and keep looking. What they say they offer, they do not. By the time you show up for your trip...its to late.

Room Tip: Dont rent a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMYLS4MYLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Renee at the front desk was an absolute delight, she was very polite, and helpful. Every request we had she handled immediately. When I told them that the ice machine on our floor was malfunctioning, she made a phone call, and a maintenanceman was working on it within 5 minutes and it was fixed within a 1/2 hour. The hotel was clean and rooms were spacious. The hotel restaraunt's prices were a bit high, but the food was good. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the multiple water fountains surrounding the pool were very relaxing. The only negative would be that the hotel is located right next to very busy railroad tracks but they didn't seem to lay on the horn, just gave short bursts and it never woke me up. In all I would definately stay here again, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms very nice and fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Calumet, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stay at this hotel for a week, and I really enjoy my stay despite the sound of the trains passing at certain hours. The people in the front desk such as Jacques and Sandra were super friendly and courteous . Even the maintenance guy named Freddy was friendly and helpful when I had a problems with my entrance card. It was regulated in no time. I will certain go back to this hotel when I am in Florida, the price is very reasonable and very close to everything. The hotel is clean and well kept. I will certainly recommended it to my friends if they are going down and looking for a good hotel. Thank you - employees of the Universal Palms hotel, keep up the fantastic and good work.

Linda

Room Tip: Rooms are especially clean and spacious, rooms facing the pool is a beautiful sight to see in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I never write reviews... however, I feel the need to write a review on this hotel so that people such as my self can honestly know what to expect if they come across this hotel and consider staying here. I am usually good with choosing my hotels, but since I was only stating for one night on business I decided to go with something jess expensive. Lord Jesus this was a bad idea. When I pulled up to the hotel I knew it wasn't gonna be good... However, despite the outside appearance, the lobby was nice looking. Get in the elevator and head to your room and things change. The hallways are outdoors, like a motel, and very run down. So run down that on the long walk to my room I actually started to feel unsafe. The room appeared to be nice at first glance but as I looked around, it was nasty. Big stains on the wall, an old box tv sitting on an old wooden dresser (maybe from a flea market) and the carpet was torn up at the edges. I was so disgusted that I called the front desk and asked them to cancel my reservation and refund my money. I grabbed all my stuff and went to the front desk to leave. They then offered me a room right on the first floor , directly in front of the pool. I agreed to look at it. Well I guess those are there "premium" rooms as it was significantly better than the first room; flat screen tv, rule floor and new modern furniture. I agreed to stay but woke up at 8 am, dressed and checked out immediately. Absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had. Also, yes, the very loud train was heard going by often throughout the night. Take my word and pay for a better hotel. I actually consider this a motel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Harvey, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We flew in at 6:30am Sunday morning, Jan. 13-13,,, hoping to get an earlier check in, was not able,,,I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND, as I run a Motel myself. Staff did the best they could do! Upgraded us to a ground floor room!, as we had a 2yr old with us! Never ate, but the staff was wonderful ! The pool area is AWESOME!!!! Are room, #110 was VERY CLEAN!!!! If I hadn't been going on a cruise,,I would have been THRILLED to stay there for a week!!!! ....The Waffle House next door is GREAT! Thanks to you all for making our stay so memerable!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanirazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#60 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#58 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Lauderdale I-95 Inn
BEST WESTERN Ft. Lauderdale I-95...
#73 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Beach Palace
Royal Beach Palace
#64 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#77 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#75 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Property: Universal Palms Hotel
Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing