We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local review of Embassy Suites Ft Laud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #40 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Local review of Embassy Suites Ft Laud”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I live 5 miles from the hotel. I stay here 3 - 4 times a year for a night or two as a mini vacation. It's perfect! The rooms are clean, quiet and have views of the huge open air atrium on the ground floor. The on site restaurant / bar for lunch or dinner are good++. Better yet, walk to La Mezzaluna next door to the hotel on the West side. You will enjoy an amazingly excellent meal and staff rates an 11 on scale of 1-10. Dinner for two with a bottle of wine will run $ 80 - $ 100. If you want to take the price down a bit, walk across the street and two block east ... you'll find Waxy O'Conners. Waxy's is an Irish Pub with excellent Irish fair. Most of the folks are crew / yachties from the private yachts docked at Pier 66 / Port Everglades. They are the friendliest bunch of folks from all over the world. Breakfast at the hotel is good++ as long as you get there an hour before it ends. If you get there 15 minutes before they close .. don't think they are going to put out more freshly scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, toast, etc for the last party of two that comes down to partake. If you are staying more than two days, while the pool area is great (private, palm trees, koi pond, etc) .. bite the bullet and spend $ 10.00 for a taxi to the Ft. Lauderdale beach. This is the BEST hotel to stay at if you are staging for a cruise out of Ft. Lauderdale. Most of the others are either twice as expensive or have NOTHING within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    969
    482
    225
    125
See reviews for
963
900
87
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delicias, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I loved the Suite, the sight over the sea, the athmosphere in the patio where the breakfast bufett is ready for everybody between a Tropical Environment and between pools with splashing Waters and green growing plants all over. We had a great time bevor our cruise to Mexico etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discoverer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very friendly employees and room was great! From linens to flooring to shower...clean, clean, clean. Anything that you needed was brought to you promptly. No waiting! No questions asked. Try dinner in the dining room. The ambiance was great and the service was terrific. Don't want to forget how great the food was. And the breakfast was great! What a surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Arrived on Saturday AM after an all night flight with 7 year old. Dolores (front desk attendant at Honors window) was rude and non-accommodating. I had requested an early check in (Gold Honors member) only to be told check in was at 3 PM. I asked for any available room and was told nothing available. Immediately after I checked our baggage, a group of 6 were checked in. She also said she doubted anything would open up sooner as the housekeeping staff didn't come in till 10:00 AM.

I was then directed to the bell desk to store my luggage and join the throng of people in line for free breakfast. After waiting 20 minutes without moving, we left in search of a better breakfast option.

Once we arrived back at hotel from a day of deep sea fishing (around 8 PM) we were given keys to a room that had barely been cleaned. Looking forward to a nice shower, it immediately backed up. Both sinks also backed up within seconds of use. We found the room to have a foul order, dirty carpet, stained sofa, molded and crumbled bathroom coving. The mattresses are probably 10-15 years old and the pillows had no fluff.

After a wonderful dinner down the street at Carruba's, we returned to find the hotel in complete party mode. Needless to say the hotel didn't quiet down until after 3 AM. I called down numerous times only to be told there were a number of 'parties' on the property and there was nothing that could be done about the noise. At 2:30 AM, I peeked out the window to see kids running around or sitting outside their room with laptops talking, laughing and screaming at others in a similar posture. At 5:30 AM the next morning, I asked the front desk about why no security or concern for guests wanting a good night sleep and was simply told 'sorry' about that.

In conclusion, I would highly recommend NOT staying at this hotel on a Saturday evening in August if you want any chance of getting any sleep. Hilton should be ashamed to have their name associated with this frat house dump of a hotel.

Room Tip: stay down the street and a real hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60isthenew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Please accept my apologies for your experience recently at our hotel. I apologize that we could not accomodate your early check in request. We were completely sold out the night before. Check out time is noon and our housekeeping staff does not arrive until 8 am to begin for the day. We do check people in in the order that they arrive as soon as the rooms check out and are cleaned. I apologize if Delores did not explain that to you clearly. I apologize for the condition of the room. If you would like to contact me personally at Don.Friedman@hilton.com, I will be happy to discuss this further with you. I am happy to say that we are beginning renovations in two weeks which include the lobby, breakfast area, meeting rooms and new mattresses. Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me. Thank you for your feedback, as we can only make our hotel better by listening to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location - as is near the Port of Fort Lauderdale, has a shopping center behind it with a few restaurants, a great pool to relax, and the great Embassy Suite Manager's Reception and free breakfast.

From the back of the hotel you can see the ships (Note: it is too far to walk with luggage, but the hotel has a shuttle company that can take you to the ship for $6 per person. The only down side if you drive to Fort Lauderdale, the parking for the week can be expensive. A shuttle from the Airport to the hotel is also NOT available.)

Room Tip: The higher the hotel floor, the quieter the room. Also request a room in the back so you can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam13010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I only had one proble and that was checking in. My compnay reserved the room for me and although I did not have the CC with me they had them E-mail the info. I really apprecaite the Desk staff with being so helpful and courteous while I was waiting on this info.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

July 2013 we held our family reunion at this location. We were extremely please in every aspect of service. Even when rained out they made provisions for us to bring the picnic indoors. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Samuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,726 reviews
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing