We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay before cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here 2days before cruise .Rooms cleanish found a few things under the bed ,bed on the small size a small Queen . Great location for restaurant and supermarket for the last minute things .Outside Publix your can pick up the sunshine trolley for $2 a day will take you to the beach and shopping mall Gallery Mall not sure of the mall name. We did the public bus to sawgrass Mall $4 ,but it did take a few hours we did a taxi on the return for $50 which was great and much better my son said(by son said people on bus alittle nutty) .More on hotel breakfast was good ,very busy after 8.30 we had no problem at 7.30-8.00 .Hotel bus to cruise terminal was $8 we went about 10am and missed the rush from the hotel . The free drinks from 5.30-7.30 was great .Nice pool and outside sitting area..

Room Tip: Top floors can see port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,455 - 2,461 of 3,254 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've stayed at a lot of Embassy Suites and it is clearly our favorite brand when the whole family travels since you can get more than four into the room. What I like about this hotel is the location....easy to get to downtown, the beaches, the expressways, etc. What I didn't like is the cruise crowds. If you are trying to check in, as we were, on a cruise day it is pandemonium. The staff does a great job, but trying to check in at noon and already having 72 people ahead waiting was quite a surprise. Nevertheless, the staff is very good and the pool area very nice as well as all the standard Embassy Suite advantages (reception, breakfast, etc.). The worst thing about this hotel: the internet in the business center or kiosk. It was slower than the first dial up connection I ever had (no kidding). It is soooo frustrating when it takes 20-30 minutes to finally get through a flight check in process only for the connection not to be strong enough to trigger the wireless printer. Simply incredible for this day and age and something they have to fix. We had heard from another guest that they had the same experience at 3am so it wasn't just a high use issue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlinfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice hotel to stay in Fort Lauderdale. The location is excellent. Minutes to beach and walking distance to most amenities like multiple restaurants, some shopping etc. it is also close to highway so you could be on your way fast. The parking is only problem with either self service or valet. We chose valet and these guys were very courteous and immediately brought the car to us. The breakfast is above average and they usually have it going another 20 minutes past 9am and manager reception is also nice with drinks and munchies. Some people on trip adviser had complained that the bathroom door opens in the bedroom. Not a biggie for us. It is a bit odd considering all the space in the suite but practically was not a bother for us. Housekeeping staff was very good and courteous and friendly and the rooms were nice and clean once they were done. We stayed there for 4 nights and we would choose this property again in a jiffy. Hopefully next time we are not traveling in a busy season and get better rates.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lparsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Huge room, nice pool, great staff. Really needs to provide wifi or Ethernet access to the web.

Out back steakhouse just across the street.

Shuttle to airport was very reasonable ($8.00 per person). And ready to go right on time. We came in from the port after a cruise and allowed access to pool and storage for our bags prior to check in

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idakop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having stayed in this hotel in previous years it was an obvious decision to book again for our family. having 2 teenage sons the bedrooms are very convienant. However, the exchange students were over in force dominating the pool area and gym, I appreciate they are kids and I was one myself but it was too over powering. The lifts were always full in mornings, they would barge themselves in, breakfast was so over crowded we gave up. The room itself was not cleaned every day. The waste was cleared and beds made but actual cleaning was non exist ant . The washing machines were always broken a very disappointing stay, I did fill in the questionairre but no response was made. We went to the Keys and on return we booked in to the Pier 66 far superior in all aspects totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go here unless you want to be surrounded by exchange students and have a dirty room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeriMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this hotel before and after our cruise in March 2013. We arrived Friday evening and there was quite a line of other cruise passengers checking in. Long wait but finally got a room. They charge you a parking fee ($17.00) which we weren't aware prior. The rooms are fine and comes with breakfest which was enjoyable. We also stayed here on our return stay the following Saturday night. I had gotten sick on the ship on Thursday (Norovirus) and my wife got sick on Saturday morning 2:00am before we disembarked the ship. I rented a car and got to the Hotel around 10:45am but there were no rooms available. I asked the check-in people if there was anyway to get a room as my wife was ill and they said "Everybody claims that they are sick". My wife found a chaise lounge at the pool and I layered her with towels and she went to sleep, then we were called about an hour later. My wife then slept all afternoon and we left the next morning on an early flight home. The hotel is fine if you are taking a cruise but we noticed tons of noisy children at breakfest running around and at the pool.

Room Tip: We had a room on level 10 with a nice view of the cruise ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We're back from a much needed, one week, vacation at the 17th Street Embassy Suites in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. This was our second stay at this location. Last year was an over night stay prior to sail aboard the Oasis. Our check in, this time, went smoothly, not so much the first time. The hotel lobby is nicely done, the water fall and rock formation in the atrium and restaurant area very attractive. Our room on the second floor facing the atrium was quiet and clean. The sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable, however, this was quickly rectified. The only other complaint was the lack of towel racks in the bathroom. With three of us sharing the suite...it was a challenge to find somewhere to hang all the towels and wash cloths. The evening reception a nice touch; drinks and snacks plentiful. Breakfast buffet had plenty to choose from (yummy). While the staff as a whole were pleasant and helpful, I give a special thanks to Emancia, our housekeeper; Delores on the front desk and Ian our restaurant waiter. Hopefully the towel rack situation will be addressed prior to our next visit.

Room Tip: Stay on one the upper level floors facing the port were you can see the ships come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puff04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,381 reviews
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,315 reviews
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,168 reviews
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,949 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $161 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing