We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-cruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #39 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice sized suites. Complimentary full breakfast and cocktail/social 2 hours! The gift shop gets special mention! Reasonable prices (for a hotel) and the most eclectic variety of merchandise. Need an umbrella, duct tape? Swim suit plus the normal stuff? It probably has it. The hotel is next to several stores, restaurants,. Nice pre/post cruise hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,445 - 2,451 of 3,162 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

i was unimpressed with the embassy suites. we stayed here because we were flying in and out of fort lauderdale and it was convenient given our flight times. yes, the rooms are bigger than the average hotel room but you will pay for that. if space is an issue then this hotel may be good for you. the second time we stayed there we had a room on the 12th floor with an adjacent conference room and extra bathroom.

the room are very outdated. the bed was nice enough though with modern sheets and blankets. the bathroom looked like it may have gotten a facelift a few years ago with a new countertop but the rest of the bathroom is very old fashioned.

the worst thing about this place is the breakfast. we were there on a sunday morning and it was horrendous - no seating, nobody clearing breakfast trays and dishes off of tables, no coffee cups, not even tables or racks where you could buss your own dishes. the line for eggs was 25 minutes long. if you go stick with cereal and bananas. or skip it and eat somewhere else.

they do have free cocktails every evening. that was nice.

Room Tip: 12th floor rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lemonjuicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the quality amenities and breakfast selection you expected. Our complimentary, cooked-to-order breakfast is comprised of a variety of hot and cold food items, but we are constantly looking for ways to improve the guest experience, and as a brand, are looking at additional items we could include. We appreciate all of your suggestions and will take them under consideration as we make improvements to our guest experience. I am sorry that breakfast on that Sunday did not meet your expectations. We have several different stations to help space out the crowds that sometimes occur later in the morning. We have a bakery station, cereal station, fruit and yogurt station and separate line for cooked to order eggs and omelets and then a separate station for a hot buffet consisting of scrambled eggs, meats and potatoes. Most of the time these lines are only 5 minutes long, but sometimes again with the timing of everyone coming down for breakfast at the same time may get longer. On your next visit to the area, I hope you consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate the excellent service and hospitality we are known for.

Sincerely,

Don Friedman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed at this Hilton-owned property for three weeks. The suite was large and tastefully furnished. Everyone - absolutely everyone on the staff was friendly and service oriented. The lobby and pool area are filled with waterfalls and beautiful landscaping. A very tranquil setting. They provide a cooked to order breakfast every morning and a cocktail reception each evening gratis. If you want to leave the hotel there are many fine restaurants in the immediate area at every price point. Things to do are a good walk or a short trolley ride away. Many people staying here are arriving from or departing to a cruise line, so there a lots of people from all over the world to meet here. It is also a pet friendly hotel. My two dogs were treated like royalty by the staff. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before a cruise. We arrived at the hotel at 3:20pm and I was surprised when they told us that our room was not ready. They said that we would need to wait 10 minutes and they were true to their word and we had our keys in 10 minutes.

As other reviewers have said, this hotel could use some updating to the rooms. Our room was very clean and we had no complaints at all. We asked for a room near the elevator and they gave us a room across from the elevators and they did not disturb us at all.

All of the employees that we met were friendly, helpful and nice.

My complaint is with the breakfast. We went downstairs at 9:15am and it was a madhouse. I understand that there were lots of cruisers at that time but the big problem was that there was no one cleaning tables and there was nowhere to sit but lots and lots of dirty tables. Everyone was frustrated and cleaning tables and putting dirty trays everywhere.

I would stay here again because I like the 2 room suites but I will pass on the breakfast craziness.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debs0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived early and were pleased with the bumped up check in. Lots to see and do in Ft. Lauderdale and as such didn't spend a lot of time around the hotel. The only criticism we had was our room faced 17th Street and the traffic was very loud all night.

Room Tip: Avoid north side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great size rooms, with pull out couch. Great buffet breakfast. Not your typical continental one. Very clean through out. Pool was dreamy and hot hot tub! Gold fish in pond huge! Only negative is the self park is $17 a night!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luker350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Three things I liked about this hotel:
1. Our suite was very large – great when you are doing a share
2. The complimentary, full buffet breakfast was a nice addition
3. The complimentary evening cocktail hour was a fun place to meet with co-workers

Three things I didn’t like about this hotel:
1. The bed and pillows were not very comfortable
2. Housekeeping did never honored the “Do Not Disturb” sign
3. We could hear a lot of noise from the functions going on in the banquet rooms below

I stayed at The Embassy Suites – Fort Lauderdale for a business conference that was being held at the convention center. On this trip I was sharing the room with a business associate. Our suite was very large and had about everything you would want in a room, especially during an extended stay.

The suite had a separate living room with a dining table, sofa, chair, flat screen TV, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and teas, and small bar sink. The room also had a large window looking out into the atrium interior of the hotel.

The bedroom had two queen beds, a flat screen TV, an armoire, ironing board, iron, sink and vanity and chest of drawers. The room did not have a closet. The outside view from this room was very unattractive. It was of the top of the roof of another section of the hotel. The interior view into the hotel was nice.

The bathroom had a tub, shower and sink with a large counter space with storage underneath.

Overall, the décor of the suite was quaint but a bit dated. It was very spacious. This hotel is an atrium style with a nice garden area in the center. They have a fairly good restaurant with a nice view of the gardens and a lot of space to sit and meet with other people. The bar is a good place to meet with people as well, with both indoor and outdoor seating.

There is also a store in the hotel that has about everything you could need in stock. I’ve never seen a hotel convenience store with so much stuff!

The hotel is located down the street from the Convention Center and is a bit of a hike to get there, but it is doable. Ladies – if you are going to walk, beware of the high heels!! This hotel is also used by the cruise lines and can get pretty busy at check-in/check-out times so be prepared for a wait if you are on a strict time schedule.

This property has “pet-friendly” floors so keep this in mind if you prefer to avoid these types of rooms.

The next time I’m attending a conference here, I would consider this hotel as an option. I stayed at the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina the year before and the public rooms were OK. The sleeping room was run-down and not very clean and it had the worst shower I’ve used. So, I would defiantly choose The Embassy Suites over it! I do however recommend the China Grill Restaurant at the Hilton – It was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the banquet rooms due to the noise. Some rooms are "pet friendly"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna_Watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $155 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing