We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PRE-CRUISE STAY!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #38 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for one pre-cruise night in December. As expected our room was not ready - this is not uncommon on a Saturday as the weekends are very busy with cruisers. We were grateful to a special valet who put our luggage in an unused room - I hesitate to mention his name for fear of getting him in trouble - believe me when I tell you these guys are great.

We had lunch at the E-Spot. While the service was great I think $16 is a lot for a burger - even at a hotel. It was just OK. My husband enjoyed a bowl of seafood chowder.

We got our room about 2:45 - not bad. We took the easy walk to Total Wine and Publix before settling in.

The 2-room suite is a very good size but I have 2 complaints. One is the sitting room portion is extremely dark and depressing. Secondly, the room smelled like Febreeze! And yes, I'm a smoker so understand why they use it - but we could actually see it! It had not been vacuumed up totally. The bedroom portion was very nice and bright and we opened the sliding glass door (to the Juliet balcony) to relieve ourselves from the Febreeze.

The public spaces in this hotel are really beautiful and the Christmas decorations were lovely. They did a nice job in this regard.

We went to the Manager's Reception for drinks and that was quite nice. We took ours outside and sat near the pool. It is a gorgeous space.

The breakfast included is really terrific. Everything from grits to cooked to order omelettes. They do a very nice job with this and no one should walk away hungry. The coffee was also good and plentiful.

The pool area is beautiful and we enjoyed watching the koi in the ponds. Unfortunately, we did not have time to swim but it sure looked inviting!

We had planned to take a cab to the port but ended up taking a shuttle with Walter. He promised we would be the only ones onboard and we were. $7 pp plus tip and we were there in minutes. Painless.

Here's my tip for the Embassy - leave before 10 AM so that you can get a valet and an elevator. After 10 everyone wants to go at the same time!

I would definitely stay here again but wish the hotel could do some updating in the rooms - the brown carpet and mustard walls need to go!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will have a view of the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,491 - 2,497 of 3,160 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here before taking a cruise. It was summer and the hotel was packed. The hotel design is prepared for this kind of operation but the staff just looks as if they don't care, as if whatever they do their business will still keep on going. When we asked the concierge for a good dining restaurant instead of listening to our tastes she just brought up obvious promotion based choices around the hotel.

Breakfast is buffet and a whole organized mess. I felt as if I was in a school's cafeteria. Food quality was below average.

Rooms are big and clean; the lay-out was well thought even though decoration is a little bit tacky.

Location is good but still I wish i had stayed in Miami in the Epic Hotel (also offered by our cruise line bundle). We would have still had enough time for boarding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabHito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip. I apologize that you had a disappointing experience with the level of service you received. I regret that our staff seemed less than helpful. Part of great hospitality is anticipating guest needs and exceeding expectations. I'm terribly sorry we fell short of providing you with that experience. We hope that if you return to the area, you give us another chance to show you what we're really like.

Sincerely;

Don Friedman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed overnight prior to a Caribbean cruise. Excellent property, close to the port, with numerous restaurants in the area. Included in the room rate was a pick up at the airport and transportation to the ship. Excellent complementary breakfast and manager's reception. Highly recommend for pre or post cruise accommodations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hrochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is starting to feel dated and old. Rooms are dark and the two we had booked smelled. Note that interconnecting rooms not available. Proximity to cruise ships great and a couple of good steak houses within walking distance. Free wifi was a bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sduch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the look and feel of our property. We're always looking for refresh opportunities and appreciate your feedback. I also want to apologize for the unpleasant smell you encountered. Our housekeeping staff is taking steps to freshen guestrooms and eliminate any unwanted odors. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope we get another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerly;

Don Friedman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I enjoyed the hotel, accommodations are good, housekeeping was fair at best. Make sure you are clear with housekeeping about vacuuming and not just making the beds. Lots of good restaurants and shopping near by. Take the 50 cent trolley to the beach for convenience.

Room Tip: rooms above the third floor seem quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on a few occasions, but this experience was different than the past.
We checked in about an hour early and our rooms were ready, which surprised me because in the past the rooms were never really ready on time. So, we checked in and as I entered my room I noticed a strong smell of cigarettes. If they would have had the on the air conditioners it may not have bothered me as much. It was 85 degrees and the room was hot and smelly.

I went downstairs and I asked " what made you give me a smoking room?". She said that we can move you if you like. What do you mean, I asked, I never requested a smoking room, plus the fact that I don't smoke. Well, I was moved to another room, which didn't smell any better.

At this point I just wanted to unpack and go to work.

We asked the concierge about restaurants listed in hotel brochures and she had no clue about any of them, even after we brought down the books and showed her. I have never seen such a clueless concierge when referencing a hotel brochure. So we decided to strike out on our own to find the places listed in the HOTEL brochures.

The beds were comfortable and the midnight staff were excellent and helpful. The breakfast staff were excellent and actually gave an d cooked what I asked for this time.

This stay would have been better I'd my first impression would have been better. This hotel is still a great deal for the location and its proximity to the cruise lines.

Due to this last experience I will now consider non-Hilton hotels when in this of the country.

Cheers
Marylandvacation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarylandVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed before and after our cruise in December and enjoyed our time. Hotel is well located for cruise transfers and the shuttle is fairly priced and convenient. The room sizes are excellent and the breakfast was reasonable given that it was complimentary. It can get busy on cruise days as a lot of people come in and out on Satudays and Sundays but this is to be expected. We would stay again and would probably spend more time in Fort Lauderdale as it felt a nice city.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $155 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing