We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They could do a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #41 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
México
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“They could do a lot better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here before taking a cruise. It was summer and the hotel was packed. The hotel design is prepared for this kind of operation but the staff just looks as if they don't care, as if whatever they do their business will still keep on going. When we asked the concierge for a good dining restaurant instead of listening to our tastes she just brought up obvious promotion based choices around the hotel.

Breakfast is buffet and a whole organized mess. I felt as if I was in a school's cafeteria. Food quality was below average.

Rooms are big and clean; the lay-out was well thought even though decoration is a little bit tacky.

Location is good but still I wish i had stayed in Miami in the Epic Hotel (also offered by our cruise line bundle). We would have still had enough time for boarding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabHito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip. I apologize that you had a disappointing experience with the level of service you received. I regret that our staff seemed less than helpful. Part of great hospitality is anticipating guest needs and exceeding expectations. I'm terribly sorry we fell short of providing you with that experience. We hope that if you return to the area, you give us another chance to show you what we're really like.

Sincerely;

Don Friedman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    950
    476
    221
    124
See reviews for
943
884
86
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed overnight prior to a Caribbean cruise. Excellent property, close to the port, with numerous restaurants in the area. Included in the room rate was a pick up at the airport and transportation to the ship. Excellent complementary breakfast and manager's reception. Highly recommend for pre or post cruise accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hrochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is starting to feel dated and old. Rooms are dark and the two we had booked smelled. Note that interconnecting rooms not available. Proximity to cruise ships great and a couple of good steak houses within walking distance. Free wifi was a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sduch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the look and feel of our property. We're always looking for refresh opportunities and appreciate your feedback. I also want to apologize for the unpleasant smell you encountered. Our housekeeping staff is taking steps to freshen guestrooms and eliminate any unwanted odors. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope we get another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerly;

Don Friedman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I enjoyed the hotel, accommodations are good, housekeeping was fair at best. Make sure you are clear with housekeeping about vacuuming and not just making the beds. Lots of good restaurants and shopping near by. Take the 50 cent trolley to the beach for convenience.

Room Tip: rooms above the third floor seem quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on a few occasions, but this experience was different than the past.
We checked in about an hour early and our rooms were ready, which surprised me because in the past the rooms were never really ready on time. So, we checked in and as I entered my room I noticed a strong smell of cigarettes. If they would have had the on the air conditioners it may not have bothered me as much. It was 85 degrees and the room was hot and smelly.

I went downstairs and I asked " what made you give me a smoking room?". She said that we can move you if you like. What do you mean, I asked, I never requested a smoking room, plus the fact that I don't smoke. Well, I was moved to another room, which didn't smell any better.

At this point I just wanted to unpack and go to work.

We asked the concierge about restaurants listed in hotel brochures and she had no clue about any of them, even after we brought down the books and showed her. I have never seen such a clueless concierge when referencing a hotel brochure. So we decided to strike out on our own to find the places listed in the HOTEL brochures.

The beds were comfortable and the midnight staff were excellent and helpful. The breakfast staff were excellent and actually gave an d cooked what I asked for this time.

This stay would have been better I'd my first impression would have been better. This hotel is still a great deal for the location and its proximity to the cruise lines.

Due to this last experience I will now consider non-Hilton hotels when in this of the country.

Cheers
Marylandvacation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarylandVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed before and after our cruise in December and enjoyed our time. Hotel is well located for cruise transfers and the shuttle is fairly priced and convenient. The room sizes are excellent and the breakfast was reasonable given that it was complimentary. It can get busy on cruise days as a lot of people come in and out on Satudays and Sundays but this is to be expected. We would stay again and would probably spend more time in Fort Lauderdale as it felt a nice city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is one of the properties used by several of the cruise lines using the Fort Lauderdale/Port Everglades Cruise terminal. They are accustomed to dealing with large groups of people and handling luggage for the airport/cruise terminal transfers, and have several dedicated areas throughout the main floor for cruise passengers.

The hotel itselt is built around a beautiful central atrium or courtyard with waterfalls and fountains, however, it can be very noisy at times. We were fortunate in that we had a room on the top floor where it was quiet. The room itself was comfortable and spacious, and was well appointed. The only odd thing is that the walkway to the other suites on each floor passes directly outside the bedroom window, so it is impossible to leave the drapes open even a little to admit natural light as people passing by are able to look right into the room.

The staff was professional and helpful, even during the most stressful of times when literally two hundred or more cruise passengers were gathering there for the night and checking in and out at once. They have a great system down to handle the volume of people, and never seem to get frazzled.

There is a free breakfast buffet, but not a lot of seating in the dining area, but it is a short walk to the lobby area where you can find a place to sit with a cup of coffee, of which there is an endless supply. There is also a small gift shop in case you forgot any last minute travel items, and ample, clean restrooms on the first floor off the lobby and dining area.

We will most certainly stay here again the next time we cruise.

Room Tip: Select a room near the top floor if you want to be above the noise echoing in the atrium area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeiMomiNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,616 reviews
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing