We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you don't mind not staying at a hotel right on the beach, this is the place to stay, especially pre or post-cruise. It is conveniently located near the airport and cruise terminal and definitely a great bargain for the price of a room with all the free perks. First off, all suites offer two large rooms with one TV in each, a large sofabed, tons of electrical outlets, lots of lighting, three sinks, lots of mirrors, two phones & big table desk. We loved the free hot breakfast every morning and the daily two-hour free open bar with free snacks (pretzels, potato chips, popcorn, goldfish crackers, tortilla chips and dip). The location of this hotel is within walking distance to everywhere we needed to go for our cruise items -- wine outlet, Payless, CVS, Verizon, and more. Our stay was more enjoyable than we expected it would be and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. PS: Staff was very cordial, helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csavyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,693 - 2,699 of 3,327 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I selected this hotel for two reasons: it offered an affordable option for 6 people to share a room for a single pre-cruise night, and it had good reviews. (I always look for reviews!)

This place is absolutely amazing. The pool area is very nice, with theming and vegetation making it feel like a tropic oasis. You don't notice the adjacent parking lots and commercial locale! The breakfast is top of the line, and the atrium setting is delightful. I didn't get to the Manager's reception, but it looked like a great way to relax with friends. Hotel staff were without exception friendly and helpful.

Our room was on the 4th floor, and I was a bit concerned about noise from the atrium area, but it was very quiet. The space was perfectly adequate and we appreciated the little counter area with kitchenette facilities for a late night snack.

The location was perfect, a very short ride to the cruise terminal, and a good variety of shops on the block behind the hotel, including a Publix, and several places to eat, Loved the sports bar where we had dinner!

There were only two small negatives - don't expect that an adult can sleep in any comfort on the sofa bed. Usually true of any sofa bed, so not a real surprise. It would be fine for kids up to mid-teens, though. Also, the bathroom can only be accessed through the bedroom. This may or may not present a privacy issue for some travelers.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone. It was great for our family, and exactly the kind of place I like to stay when travelling for business as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b0rn2travel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

i give the embassy suites a 10.....all suites.....business center,....jacuzzi, pool....everyone working there is so friendly.....great free breakfast, and great managers reception....everyday...walking distance to EVERYTHING !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoJosicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This Embassy suites is an older property. But, it has great character. The breakfast was a complete breakfast and included in the price, as was the evening Manager's Reception. The pool area is very tropical including a waterfall.

It is convenient to everything. The hotel offers it's own drivers and vehicles to take you to all the sights for a reasonable price, including the airport for $11.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Embassy Suites has now become my go-to hotel for any city we visit, simply because we love breakfast included and they sure know how to do it :) The staff is very helpful, and there are several great restaurants in walking distance, there is also a Sun Trolley stop at the publix around the corner, and nightly Manager's reception. *One Tip* I'm not sure if this is a policy used by every hotel, but we reserved our rooms on our debit card and they put a $200 hold on our checking account at check-in. The front desk agent didn't ask for another card, so I'm not sure if we could have switched it at check-in, but you should call to clarify. We'll just use a credit card from now on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the hotel should have a view of the cruise ships in the marina nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmaddix915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I just stayed at this hotel and found it to be very average. It is an older property, with that outdated peach and yellow tropical color scheme, and the old "water-feature laden" lobby that is so 1980's! The rooms are clean and decent, and the service is very standard Embassy Suites.

The drinks at the Manager's reception were good, but after FIVE NIGHTS of the exact same snacks (popcorn, tortilla chips & salsa, and dry pitas with hummus) you think the "chef" might have a new idea or two to "spice it up"! It had to be the most boring Embassy Suites Reception Snacks I have ever encountered! The location is good but be ready for the ridiculously-priced parking at $17 per night. That's fine for NYC, but this is Fort Lauderdale, folks!

Also, this a very typical hotel on the cruise ship circuit so be ready to see the "about to board" partiers and the recently docked Midwesterners who are so ready to be done with their vacation! It makes for an interesting mix of people!

Room Tip: Just make sure you close the inner bedroom door to your suite for a quieter nights sleep. The sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtnWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked the Embassy Suites for one night before our cruise and for two nights after. The people at the front desk, the concierge and basically everyone we spoke with during our stay were very helpful. They offered transfers to the airport and the cruise port for a nominal fee ($7 per person). The Manager's Reception is a great perk, as always, at Embassy Suites.

Our suites were very clean and on our return stay we were given a suite with a great view of the port.

The concierge was very helpful in booking a sightseeing trip on the Saturday of our return and she arranged transportation for us as well.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to be back before and after our next cruise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DittoExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,408 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $181 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing