We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #22 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Kenmore, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise. We wanted to stay by the beach and walk around. This hotel is across the street from the beach, but there are cross walks. The staff were very friendly and nice. Our hotel room was nice and I think we got a slight upgrade for free, but the location of our room was not good. It was so noisy near the elevator and near the ice machine. One night someone was out by the ice machine talking/face timing with someone at 2am. It was so loud. Then our fridge in our room started making noises and I couldn't sleep. We had to unplug it.
Aside from the lack of sleep, the hotel is pretty good. They have a small pool, but the pool is kind of in a weird spot so it doesn't get a ton of sun. That being said, they have lots of lounge chairs that get sun on the sun decks. They have a nice little pool bar and decent food. The buffet breakfast is a little expensive at $16 a person, but it's good.
There is not much for kids to do within walking distance except for the beach. The water taxi and sun trolley are very close and you can walk to them. Take the sun trolley around town for $3 for the whole day. But not all routes run every day and the drivers are not very helpful.
There is a 7-11 about a block away and many restaurants within walking distance. Also you can park your car in the lot next door for $10 a night instead of paying the hotel price. It's a public parking lot.
Bubba gump restaurant is below the hotel, but you can order dinner to your room for free I think. This restaurant is great.

Room Tip: Not near the ice machine or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 677Erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are always pleased to have guest stay with us pre or post cruise. Our location is great for the airport, beach and the port. I appreciate all of your comments and would like to extend a personal apology for the noise disturbances. Overall, it appears that you were able to explore the hotel and the surrounding area. I hope that you enjoyed your visit enough to come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    700
    267
    56
    37
See reviews for
498
598
63
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I will start off by saying that we are Platinum Marriott Rewards members and have stayed in a lot of Marriott Properties and am always happy with our experiences. That said, this was not one of my favorites. I will preface this by saying we should have asked to be moved to a different room, but we didn't feel like dealing with the hassle of packing our stuff up again and moving. We had been up for over 24 hours when we got there so we really needed a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, our room was located by the elevator and they gave us a connecting room. The walls were very thin and we could hear people getting on and off the elevator. Then, at 2 am, the phone rang in our room for no apparent reason waking us from a sound sleep. Then at 5 am, the neighbor in the adjoining room got a wake up call. This also woke us up with the walls being paper thin and probably made worse by the fact that the rooms had a connecting door. Our "neighbor" was very loud and an early riser every morning unfortunately for us. But, again, with the walls being that thin, we could hear him sneezing and even details from his conversations.

The room itself was average and the bed was not very comfortable. The view was great though. We had a view of the swimming hall of fame and the waterway filled with beautiful yachts. We also had problems with the tub not draining properly and I would be standing in ankle deep water that was a nasty yellow color.

Now on to the good things. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the location is perfect. Just a few steps across the street and you are on the beach. You can walk pretty much anywhere you need to go with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. There was a nice outdoor bar on the pool deck but it was expensive (over $6 for two diet cokes). I also don't think you can beat the price for a great location right on the beach. If you are wanting to save a few bucks, then this is a good place to stay.

I would stay here again solely for the location but I would definitely request a room that was not adjoining to another one and also one not near the elevators.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelle_Ians_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I appreciate all of your comments and certainly want to extend an apology for the disturbances that you experienced. I take both positive and negative comments into consideration when sharing praise or addressing shortcomings. I do want you to know that water in the beach area sometimes looks discolored when the city chlorinates the system. It is at all times safe and sanitary for bathing and drinking. Thank you for being a Marriott Platinum Rewards member and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed 1 night pre cruise. Large comfortable rooms. Located right by beach so great to get out and walk and explore. Lots of food choices close by.
Transfers to Port arranged by hotel concierge was $18.00 for both of us which was extremely good value compared to the taxi ride from the airport which was over $30.00. Good and convenient hotel to stay when vising Fort Lauderdale

Green Features: The same as every other hotel that I have styed at that preaches "environmentally friendly practices" so I don't know if Marriott is doing it any differently
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunburyTim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for recommending our hotel. Our proximity to the beach, airport and the port does make for a great location prior to a cruise. Conservation is important to us and we are very pleased that Trip Advisor has designated us as a 2014 Green Partner. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. The overall hotel condition was good. The Pool area would be the a downside, it was very cramped and right up against the bldg on one side, and adjacent to the upper bar deck on the other side. If your going to lay by the pool, I might consider another location. The tikki bar was great, good bartenders, and company. The walk to the beach is minutes. Also, before i forget, "no" balconies at this property!!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and hotel. Please come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Fort Lauderdale for one night on February 15, 2014. The hotel is located at a prime location, right on the beach and walking distance to restaurants. The staffs at the reception desk were very helpful and welcoming. We had booked two rooms, one overlooking the beach and another one by the marina. The breakfast was delicious which was included in my room package. Both rooms were super clean. The room overlooking the ocean is a little bit noisier because of the pool and bar; however, I really enjoyed the view of the ocean. The one located on the marina side was quieter and my son really enjoyed the marina view also. The one critique I have is as previous customers mentioned, the thin wall can be annoying if you have noisy neighbour. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room on the marina side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FritzTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I thank you so much for your comments and excellent rating. We are very fortunate to have such a great location and we make every effort to match it with a friendly environment and a clean hotel. We have many repeat guests and most have distinct preferences as to whether they want an oceanfront view or an intracoastal view. We are happy to provide either one. I appreciate your interest in returning and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Perfect place to stay before a Cruise out of Port Everglades. Right on beach - walking distance to everything. Outdoor Bar and Fire Pits would have been nice but we didn't notice them until day we left. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Taco0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel prior to your cruise. You apparently had a chance to checkout our hotel and some of the surrounding area. I hope that you will return to spend a little more time with us on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This Courtyard is a pleasant surprise with a nice view of the ocean and a well planned patio and pool area. There are lounge chairs with shaded canopies that require no extra fees, dining tables, regular pool loungers, a pool bar, all directly across from Fort Lauderdale beach.
The rooms offer a mini fridge and reasonably comfortable beds. Wifi is free, although parking is not.
Everyone working at this property is friendly and conscientious of providing good service, from the pool attendant to the cleaning personnel, to the front desk staff, and the valet guys. While it is not a posh resort, it does offer more than the average Courtyard.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank liveitup101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I appreciate your comments very much especially regarding our friendly staff. Our Team is always eager to receive guest feedback and I will be sure to share your remarks. Thank you for submitting a review and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Marriott Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,570 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard
Fort Lauderdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing