We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #20 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was what we would call just OK. We are Marriott Rewards members and were staying here for 2 nights using points.

When we booked, we were expecting a King room with a water view. When we arrived, we were given a choice of a King room on the 3rd floor or a Queen room on a higher floor. To avoid street noise, we grudgingly accepted the higher floor room.

We get the impression that they aren't going to do you any favors at this hotel, and the next time we're in the Fort Lauderdale area we'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K2V2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We appreciate Marriott Rewards members who have earned points to stay in our hotel. We do our best to fulfill preferences, but choices are dependent upon their availability. I thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and hope that you will decide to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at this property Feb 2-3 pre-cruise. It is in a great location and is about a $14.oo cab ride from FLL. The hotel is real nice and sits across the street from the beach and across the street on the other side from the intercostal waterway. The hotel is located close to shops, restaurants and all kinds of stores. There is a Buba Gump Shrimp restaurant attached to the hotel on the beach side. There is also a great small breakfast place right next to that.

Arrived after a early morning flight and they had a room available immediately upon arrival (10am). The front desk person was so friendly and helped us get the room right away. I think his name was Van.

The room was clean and everything was good, We had a marina view which as fine. The pool area is real nice with great comfy chairs facing the beach on an elevated deck. Although the price was a bit steep ($200+) you get location, location location!

Check out was a breeze and the bellman at the front were very helpful. The shuttle to the cruise port was $8.00pp and we were at the ship in no time.

Overall a nice place pre or post cruise to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and recommendation as a great hotel for pre and post cruises. We are fortunate to have a great location between the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway as well as near shops, restaurants and of course Port Everglades. The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach thanks you and looks forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

BEAUTIFUL surroundings & friendly staff. The rooms might not be the "newest", but it was clean & had everything we needed, for the time we spent indoors (too much to do outdoors!). EVERY staff member was helpful, friendly & a pleasure to work with. The only "surprise" was having to pay $30/night to park the rental car....if you're renting a car, keep in mind that parking is at a premium in Ft. Lauderdale & you will pay to park, almost everywhere you go.

Room Tip: Our beach-view on the north end, gave us a gorgeous view & quiet surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank degirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach thanks you for your comments especially regarding our friendly staff. Our goal is to be the friendilest hotel on Fort Lauderdale Beach and I will make sure that our team sees your comments. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love this little property. We stumbled on it a few years ago and hae stayed numerous times over the past few years. It's right on the beach and has a great pool deck that captures late afternoon sun. It is a great place to stay before or after a cruise but honestly is a great place with excellent value for price paid. Rate is very competitive for a beachfront property.

Rooms are in nice shape. Restaurant on site is decent but if you want to treat yourself go across the street to _Coconuts_. It's on the intercostal and has the best food I have had in FLL.

Parking is an issue but welcome to beach hotels anywhere! It comes with it. Save yourself the hassle and valet.

Staff is AMAZING. They extend the warmest possible hospitality. Lance and Tenille at the front desk are superstars!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the end of the hall have views of both the beachfront and coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach appreciates very much your return visits. Returning to a hotel is the greatest compliment. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

They have everything you need and it is centrally located, so it's close to the Galleria and the port/airport. The beach is beautiful and the pool is too! The pool bar has a gorgeous view of the beach, but no wind and sand in your face and drinks. The food at the pool bar is better than the close restaurants and less expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela31152121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation as a great place to stay before or after a cruise....or anytime at all. The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach is centrally located to all the things people want to do or they can hang out on our pool deck for food, drink and sun like you like to do. Your comments are greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had never been to Ft Lauderdale and being close to the beach was an uppermost desire.This hotel met that. It is perfect. The staff, having to handle all the issues of an old hotel while keeping customers happy makes them exceptional by any standards.
The rooms are outdated and need serious renovation. They are clean and all that but really old. The biggest complaint is the elevators. They are slow and often not working or stuck on floors and will not move. This is a big problem as the hotel has a great deal of cruise line customers checking in and out with lots of bags every day. It is not unusual for the 2 of the 3 elevators to be stuck. We requested assistance with our luggage and had to wait for 45 minutes as 2 elevators were stuck and people were trying to get up as well as down, with luggage, on one elevator. At one point there must have been 30 people waiting to go up (with luggage).
On the bright side, the and breakfast restaurant service and buffet (or al a carte) is very good, the poolside deck and bar is a fun place to spend some time. Views are spectacular. The location is perfect, beach across the street, lots of amenities within easy walking distance, and most of all, the exemplary staff, in spite of an old building, makes it a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view but, poor elevator reliability makes lower floors a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your description of our staff as "exemplary" and our views as "spectacular". I also want to apologize to you for the elevator problems that you encountered. I know that it was frustrating during very busy period. I hope that you enjoyed your cruise and that you will visit us again before or after your next excursion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nites here, first time pre-cruise and for two nites post- cruise. Upgraded to a suite on arrival, liked the location, rite in the beach. We had a view of both the ocean and waterway and could also see the cruise ship terminal from our room. Lots of places to eat within walking distance and seconds from the beach. Nice pool bar and lots of loungers on the pool deck also. Very good service from bellhops and decent enough restaurant on the mezzanine level. We would return however the price is a bit high if you are looking just for a room pre or post cruise... Guess you are paying for the location

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacks0n57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,943 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
4,158 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
#3 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
190 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#14 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
5,554 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#28 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $193 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard
Fort Lauderdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing