We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from the states which included six nights at the hotel. After travelling five thousand miles and Ben travelling for 23 hours we were looking forward to a good nights sleep. We had booked a room with two double beds for ourselves and our young daughter and when we arrived we were given a room with only one bed. I complained immediately and was told that our daughter would have to sleep on the sofa, not sofa bed, SOFA! Not a good start. The issue was sorted the next morning and we were assigned the room we had booked. No apology or refund though! The hotel is nicely situated and is clean and well presented most staff are extremely helpful and polite. Make us of the parking lot next door though as it is half the price of the valet service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doncasterstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience you encountered with regard to your room the first night of your stay. We are glad to hear that the problem was corrected the following morning and that the remainder of your visit was enjoyed by your family. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your compliments for our hotel staff. We hope that the next time you are in the States your visit will include returning to the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach as we would love to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    678
    261
    55
    36
See reviews for
473
580
60
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This location is good as you could stay without a car. Many good restaurants are withing walking distance. The pool is good and they have a bar by the pool although the service was below average. This is a great location for a morning run. The price is summer made this a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We're thrilled that you felt your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach was a good deal while in the area for business this past summer. Our hotel is adjacent to famed Las Olas Boulevard where guests can enjoy shopping, fine dining, and evening entertainment all within walking distance of our front door. Please come back and see us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

On the beach. Love staying at Marriott hotels. You know you will get a good experience staying at most of their hotels. I like eating breakfast there. Get the package that has breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your appreciation for the Marriott brand and for your continued loyalty. We are delighted your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach and breakfast was enjoyed so much. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

With over 100 hotel nights already this year, I recognize a well managed property, and this is it. Although an older property, our stay of seven nights was near perfection. From the valet parking staff, to the wonderful breakfast server, Yvrose, who greeted us with a warm smile each morning, to management Ms.Apple and Mr. Zunt, we had no complaints. Fresh cookies in the evening helped, too! Pool bar food was delicious, and we dined at Coconuts across the street three nights, as we have been disappointed with Bubba Gumps repeatedly. Very well appointed room with fridge and microwave, and gorgeous views. Will bring family here in February, and looking forward to another exceptional experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank divingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We can't thank you enough for such a complimentary review of the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. Our staff always considers the hotel guest's needs to be a top priority and it brings us a great amount of joy to learn that their efforts helped to create a near perfect stay in Fort Lauderdale for you. All of us here are looking forward to welcoming your family in February for another great vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a great relaxing trip here. Easy access to beach right across the street and walking distance to many restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room was nicely furnished and clean. I had a wonderful ocean view overlooking beach and pool area. Room had a refrigerator and coffee maker and they had my favorite Paul Mitchell brand shampoo and conditioner as complementary toiletries which was a major plus.

Now just a warning, I asked for a cab at checkout and rather than the local cab co. arriving a large white van with name of a limo co. pulls up as my "cab" who then proceeds to charge $25 to the airport. Had flight to rush to so I just went ahead. I just wanted to throw this info out there because fare with the local cab co.is $20 and rather than calling that popular local cab co. 954-777-7777 which has cars running up and down the block all night long this hotel will call you a co. i'm sure they have some financial interests with. This may or may not result in higher fare for you depending on where you're going so grab your cell, call around independently and compare transportation rates on your own beforehand to get the best rates.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Your review and compliments for the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach are greatly appreciated. We were so delighted to learn about your relaxing stay at our hotel where you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from your room. Please be assured that the hotel does not have financial interests in any of the cab services and we apologize if you were not happy with the airport transportation that was called for you. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will once again allow us to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sseattle, WA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I reserved the room using the AAA package for approx. 30 dollars more. The package included a buffet breakfast for two (but I was a single) and two drinks. The first, a mixed drink, was very watered down. The breakfast buffet was above average and had an omelet station.
The location is good as one can cross the road to the beach or walk with in a couple of blocks each direction and have several choices for food or drinks. The concierge service was good and the gentleman at the desk helped to get a taxi in the morning that would take a credit card payment. The machine in the yellow cab a day earlier would not work so had to pay cash. The driver of the second cab, the one gotten by the concierge, wanted cash also as she said there would be extra taxes with the credit card payment. Strange??
It looked like the rooms had been redecorated recently and were nice. I had men staying in room on each side of my room that went back and forth, evidently, to each others rooms. Each had to knock several times and then use their voice for their greeting and to exchange information before, perhaps, going into the other's room. This was happening as late at 11:30 pm. At that time I left the hotel to get something to eat and the disturbances were gone when I returned and resumed early the next morning. Location is the big plus for this location. One side of the hotel has large windows in each room looking out at the marina and Swimming Hall of Fame. The other side looks out at the ocean. Try to get a room in a quiet area of the hotel if you stay there. The staff made every attempt to be helpful except when I could not get the attention of the pool bar server.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a quiet location within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. We appreciate that you have mentioned the helpfulness of our hotel personnel. Our staff's top priority is our guests and they are happy to help them in whatever way possible. We were sorry to learn of the noise disturbances from neighboring guests and hope that it did not greatly impact your stay. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife, my grown son and his former college roommate, and I spent five nights at the Courtyard Ft. Lauderdale Beach just in time for Hurricane Isaac. We arrived early and tried to check in about 10:30 a.m.. As we wanted to check in, hordes of guests were checking out to avoid the storm. I had reserved two one-bedroom suites and one guest room and asked the young lady at the desk if by chance they were ready. She said that she had one suite that was ready and the other two rooms would be ready around noon time. So I gave her my cell number and we went up to the room. The room was very nicely appointed and faced the parking lot.

We dropped our luggage and went to lunch at Bubba Gump Shrimp which was next door. Just as we finished lunch, my cell phone rang and a gentleman said our other rooms were ready. When we got back to the desk, Lance said he had upgraded our third room to a suite (nice) and we went up to the 5th floor. When found none of the rooms faced the ocean. My wife asked me to check to see if there was an ocean view available. I explained my request to Lance and he said an ocean view suite would be ready in about an hour. So we put our luggage into my son’s room and went for a walk on the beach.

Although the storm was 24 hours away, the beach surf was up and a steady breeze was blowing. We visited the many shops and stores that littered Rte. AIA. After a final stop at CVS, my phone rang and Lance said the suite was ready. When we went up we found a corner suite that was 50% larger than the other suites and had two walls of glass, one facing the ocean. We were going to get an awesome view of the storm. Thank you Lance!

The next day the storm turned out to be pretty much a dud! The wind blew 30 to 50mph and the rain came and went in bands. People were out on the beach all day. We never lost power (Thank God!) and other than a few palm tree branches falling on the road saw no damage. The hotel was great. They had an indoor happy hour! After the storm the weather was sunny and hot!

For the next three days, my wife went shopping at the Galleria Mall which is about three miles from the hotel. We walked along Las Olas Blvd. Where there are many shops and restaurants. We also went to Butterfly World which is about 20 minutes north and west. This is a great take if you like butterflies and birds.

We went on a water tour (On Riverfront Tours) of the intercoastal which was very nice. The boat was huge and the narrator pointed out all the homes of the rich and famous. The cost was minimal (There is a discount coupon in the lobby of the hotel.) and it included a free drink.

The hotel requires valet parking. Although I usually find this a p.i.a. but the guys were great at parking and fetching your car. On several occasions they got very wet!

Check out was breeze and all the bills were exact.

Room Tip: Corner one-bedroom suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We're thrilled that your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach was one which you enjoyed so much. It was our pleasure to have been able to upgrade your room and to accommodate your request for an ocean view suite. From the shopping on Las Olas Boulevard and the tour of the Intracoastal Waterway to visiting Butterfly World, it sounds as though everyone had a lot of fun exploring the area. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,724 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing