We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Location is perfect on the water and near great bars and shopping. Hotel is tired and one of the less appealing Courtyards I have ever stayed at. Third elevator was inoperable all the days of our stay and led to us taking the stairs 7 floors down a few times. Room seemed to have been upgrade recently. Service is somewhat attentive and the breakfast Buffett ($16 a person) given as a gift for all three days to make up for a check in mistake. The parking at $30 a night is excessive. Parked right next door for $15 a night. Pool is small, pool deck was nice as was the pool bar. No lobby to speak of. Close to airport but no shuttle. We would most likely not stay here again and were tempted to switch to the full service Marriott across the street.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

It is regretful that although you have shared with us an appreciation for our location, you're overall experience did not live up to your expectations. The public self-parking adjacent to the hotel you mentioned is an option for our guest; however you do not get in and out privileges. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to one of the elevators not being in service at the time of your stay. The next time you are in the area, we hope you will consider giving us another try. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just returned from a four night stay and again we were not disappointed. We really enjoy staying here. The location is perfect. You can walk to some of the great restaurants Ft Lauderdale has to offer. Water taxi is a 5 minute walk and will take you anywhere along the intercoastal you need to go. 5 minutes to the cruise port and 10 minutes to Ft. Lauderdale airport. This hotel has everything you need (except a hot tub!). The sundeck is a great place to chill and enjoy some good food and great frozen drinks. The bartenders were all very attentive. I enjoy the breakfast buffet as it quick and easy. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, clean and well-kept. Rate was very good. $29 valet is a bit much but they were very attentive so it was worth it. Highly recommend this hotel. We miss it already!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finsfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your recommendation and review of the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. We're thrilled that our close proximity to the area's restaurants and attractions was appreciated by you. The Water Taxi which is just a quick walk from our front door, is a unique and fun way to get around Fort Lauderdale and see the sites. We hope that we can return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I will be back here for the 5th year in a row at the end of the month for the Ft Lauderdale Boat Show. For those of you who don't know, the Ft Laud boat show is the largest boat show in the world, so as you can imagine it is incredibly busy during that weekend. And the hotel is directly across from the show site.

Even given the near chaotic scenes that happens directly across the street, you would never know it inside the hotel. The staff has always been top notch, never flustered by the crowds.

I do consider myself a rather easy going traveler, so I rarely ask much of the desk staff, but when I do it's usually urgent or out of the ordinary. I have needed rush dry cleaning, shipping services of large items, short notice accommodations to entertain clients and room juggling for my employees. Each and every time I was taken care of very well with a great attention to detail. Many kudos to the staff, and I wish I would have jotted down the names of the individuals who helped me so they could get the well deserved credit.

Many of the previous reviews have mentioned the wonderful views from all the rooms and i couldn't agree more. I personally prefer a room on the west side, ICW side, because i really like to watch the happenings of the boat show. But for serenity and gorgeous views, the ocean side rooms can't be beat.

I've never encountered an unclean or unstocked room. I do a few hours of work in the evenings once i return to the room, and the desk and internet connections have always been sufficient. It's definitely not a business centric hotel, so the work area could use a little improvement, but it certainly works well for an hour or two a night.

I have not been able to use the pool/deck area much during my stays, but my wife has come down for the weekend and was very pleased with both. She also said the service on the deck was wonderful as well. She left her book behind one time, and as she was walking into the room as she realized it, and the phone rang and it was the Server, who offered to bring it up to the room for her.

The breakfast is good, nothing spectacular. I found this little place next to the hotel (south) on the ocean side called St Barts Coffee Company, which is my go to Breakfast place now. I did order Bubba Gumps one night when it was pouring out, the hotel uses Bubba Gumps as their room service. It came quickly and the food was OK, but I'm not a fan of chain places, plus there are so many good places to eat along the beach within walking distance.

I'm looking forward to my return in a few weeks. This is a hotel i would recommend, and have already, to anyone looking for a place to stay in Ft Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms can't be beat for the views. But the ICW side, is fun to watch the boat traffi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

As a loyal guest to the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, we truly appreciate you sharing your impressions of your stay. It is always our pleasure to be able to accommodate the requests of our guests and we are proud to learn that we continue to live up to your expectations. Thank you for providing such a detailed and thorough review regarding each area of your visit, as we're certain that our future guests will find your comments helpful. We especially appreciate that you have recommended our hotel to others. Thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for the Fort Lauderdale Boat Show!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights before our recent cruise out of Fort Lauderdale. The location was perfect, the hotel itself was nice,service was good, and the breakfast and pool areas were both nice. I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank journey803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We can't thank you enough for your recommendation and review of the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. Staying with us either before or after a cruise is a great way to extend your getaway a little longer. We're delighted you enjoyed our location, service and breakfast; and we hope that you will return again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 5 nights from Sept 17 to 21. I can make it brief, if you need more details please contact me .
-Location: 10 min drive from Fort Lauderdale airport.
-Service: 5 star service! Some notables I'd like to make mention of are :
*Glenn the Concierage, he helped us get a car for a day from an amazing smaller company who also excel in customer service. Glenn also explained the amazing water taxi and got us discount tickets. You can see he enjoys people and his job. He even remembered my name after 1 meeting. That means a lot.

*Max at front desk. We arrived at 10:30 am not expecting a room and quite willing to wait till later. Max got us into an amzing room early, however the point is he showed he cared & even if we had to wait till mid afternoon I'd still be saying good things about his level of service.

*Staff in restaurant at breakfast. Sorry did'nt get all names but they are first rate.

*Bill the general manager who we happened to run into while having difficulty with the printer trying to print out some customs forms. He easily could have passed us on to some one else late on a Friday evening, but took the time to get some help and eventually made it possible for us to print out our forms at front desk. Thanks Bill.

Their are many fancier hotels in Fort Lauderdale, however if you want decent pricing, proximity to beach, amazing service I could not suggest a better property,

Room Tip: We were very fortunate to get a corner room, even better views. If you can get such a room you will...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bflojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach and it brings us great joy that you have taken the time to praise our team members. We will be sure to pass along your comments to everyone so that they are aware of their impact on your visit. Thank you so much for your review. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent location across the street from the beach (there are very few hotels on the beach side of the street) and easy walking distance to restaurants and beach-shops. Be sure to ask what’s included when you make reservations, because the second time we stayed here they told us at first that some of the amenities that were included the first time were extra. The hotel has a Bubba Gumps on premises. I didn’t try it, due to the no-chain rule (Never eat in a chain restaurant while traveling) but it was crowded and it smelled good. The rooms have a refrigerator and flat screen TVs in both the bedroom and the living area. The room has a French-door type of divider to separate the bed/sleeping area from the living area with the couch, table, refrigerator. Free internet access, but the first time we stayed here our room didn’t have a chair that you could sit on while on the computer. The second time, the room had a chair, but the table and chair height was not a good set-up for a business traveler who needs to do work in the hotel room - very awkward. The hotel only has valet parking, at an extra charge. Although the valets are friendly and very quick to bring your car (they promise 4 minutes, but you can call ahead and they’ll have the car waiting for you) I find the valet-only parking a bit of an inconvenience because you can’t easily retrieve or stow things in your car. There’s a very nice pool with plenty of lounges, towels, and iced drinking water available. Also at the pool, the Sea Breeze bar, with drinks and food (wraps, salads, burgers.) The bartender will bring your drinks and food to you at your lounge (hope that Jonathan is on duty, he’s excellent!) Instead of umbrellas at the pool they have these hoods that look like giant baby carriages. Although they’re attractive and they do block the sun, they also block the breeze and it gets too hot under them. The hotel has a nice buffet breakfast with a variety of hot and cold breakfast items, including fresh orange juice and omelets made to order, but rather than totally self-service, a server comes around with coffee and juice. Although the server is very pleasant, it’s not conducive to a quick in and out. The staff is friendly and genuinely appears happy to help, from Jonathan the bartender, to Lance at the front desk, to the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CSI-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We truly appreciate the many kind comments you have written about our staff members. Everyone at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach is eager to help our guests in any way they can to ensure a great stay experience. It is regretful that there was some confusion at the time of your first stay about the amenities and we would just to let you and everyone else know that you can find a list of guest room amenities on our website. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast buffet; we're so glad you like it. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at this property for only one night before departing for a cruise. The hotel is very nice and clean. The view of the intercoastal is wonderful! Late night food choices, however, are minimal (potato chips, etc) and quite expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach prior to your cruise. We're glad you enjoyed the view of the Intracoastal Waterway and hope that you will return again soon and maybe stay a little longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,757 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,962 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,124 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $152 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard
Fort Lauderdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing