We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A work in progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fort Lauderdale East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale East
Ranked #42 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is undergoing a major renovation project at this time. The top 2 floors of the hotel are closed and construction was underway, but was only minimally disruptive. The renovation is way behind schedule as it was supposed to be complete by December 31, but I would estimate they are less than 25% done. When I stayed here last year at this time, the renovations were supposed to start shortly after. The bathroom sink smelled musty, but I would hope the renovations to fix that problem. The rooms have very small refrigerators and no microwaves, surprising for a Courtyard. One nice side effect of the delayed work is that the full Courtyard Cafe is still in operation, it will unfortunately be replaced by the "Bistro" when work is complete. Possibly due to the construction (which the Marriott web site warned of) the hotel was not that busy, and I was able to get a room right by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room pool side (odd numbered rooms 101 to 111). These rooms have patios with a small table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    174
    68
    24
    15
See reviews for
125
122
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed at Courtyards, Holiday Inn Express, Hampton Inn's all over the country and this was one of the worst, by far. The hotel is old and musty right out of the 1980s. While the rooms looked somewhat clean there was a disgusting moldy/musty smell throughout. The carpets, furniture, and elevator made me nauseous, along with the overall feel of the place. I don't know how Marriott let them use their name, but it makes me think twice about staying at one of their other hotels. As of right now, I wouldn't let my mother-in-law sleep in this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My gf and I just returned home to Montreal,Canada after staying 5 nights (August 22-26,2012),at The Courtyard. Staff was extremely helpful,especially with the mysterious clogging toilet lol! They cleared it 3 times,and after each phone call,there were up to the room within minutes! Pool and whirlpool were both great,location perfect,Denny's across the street,Dunkin Donuts,Starbucks,within a few minutes walk down the other street. Breakfast at the hotel was amazing,chefs were very friendly!The hotel is currently being renovated on the 4th and 5th floors,but only during the daytime will you hear the construction noise. We had a car rental,so leaving for the beach and even to Miami,we seemed to be perfectly located! Again,a very big and appreciative thank you to all the staff and management at The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale! Thanks for making my 4 year anniversary holiday with my gf a fun one!Hope to return soon!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel has a good feel to it but we were still disappointed. We expect more than this from a Courtyard by Marriott. Only stay here if you get a good price.

The room seemed clean but the towels had foul dirty spots on them. Sounds from the corridor outside the room could easily be heard and the noise from the ice machine was annoying.

The price during our stay was about $ 110 per night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel which I had stayed at previously for business travel. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very friendly staff and they accomodated my request to get a room pool side. Upon arriving at my room it was in excellent condition. The room was very clean with a fresh smell. The bathroom was spotless you could not ask for a cleaner bathroom at any hotel. The wifi worked very well during my entire 3 day stay.

They have a nice workout room, refreshing pool and hot tub, Their location is close to several good restuarants and is close by to the Wilton Manors neighborhood. I enjoyed having a hot breakfast with cooked to order eggs both mornings during my stay. The entire staff is extremely friendly and goes above and beyond to ensure guest have wonderful stay, I will definately be staying at this hotel when I am back in the Ft. Lauderdale area.

Room Tip: A Room by the pool is very calm and relaxing. I opened my door and listed to the pool and misting r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I chose this property because it was extremely close to a business meeting that I was required to attend and not because a marriott Courtyard would normally be my first choice of hotel. While the accomodations were standard for this type of property, my rook was clean and well kept. In addition, I cannot say enough about the staff. They were friendly and went out of their way to be accomodating. If I find myself back in the area, I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriV49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is an older hotel - which would be OK, but it really needs new carpets and paint. The rooms were clean, but the carpet slightly - tacky - not nice.
The staff were super nice and it was a good location for me

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuxMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale North/...
#40 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#23 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cyp...
#44 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#31 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale In...
#7 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Sheraton Suites Cypress Creek Ft...
#71 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale East

Property: Courtyard Fort Lauderdale East
Address: 5001 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-3811
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale East 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Lauderdale East Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing