We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Concierge Rip Off” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #51 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Concierge Rip Off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I went to the concierge and ask for the cheapest most economical way to get to the Fort Lauderdale Port as we were taking a cruise. He said the shuttle service was the most economical ($35.) as the taxis would cost $10. to $15. more. We used the shuttle service he recommended. After our cruise we took a taxi back to the hotel to spend the night. the cost for the taxi was $12.50 cheaper ($22.50 total) than the shuttle the concierge recommended. The taxi driver said thats the price any taxi would charge. I thought the concierge was suppose to help the hotel guests, not rip them off!!!

In addition to the concierge rip off, we had requested a specific room when we booked two months earlier. The desk clerk said no problem. When we got to the hotel they had already rented out the room we wanted and we would have to take another room. also, they messed up our room keys which we had to have redone. Very bad service all around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    487
    329
    177
    157
See reviews for
431
539
60
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

When you read bad reports about this place you may think they are writing about a different place. Since you get to this hotel you find a great welcome, the valet parking guy who remembers you from the last time, the nice people at the desk ready to help you out. Check in was perfect and smooth. The room great, clean, excelent view of the ocean, the best location. People don't get this is a hotel by the sea, there will always be a rusty thing, it is obvious, but the hotel is in great shape and all the personnel is courteous and make you feel special at all times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoyocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
I want to thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the kind words. It is greatly appreciated by all of us here who try our best to make your stay comfortable. We all read the reviews too and feel great pride when we see these comments. Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark , nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

first thing customer service was horrible, we booked a king bed and they gave us two queens, as we went downstairs to ask for what we had booked on first place the lady was rude and said she would do us the favor of getting us a king bed which we paid for.... the hotel smells bad, the room it self looks nd smells old ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocksk8br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my family and it was all about the dollars. You will have to pay extra for parking and also extra for someone to park your car or else you have to park across the street. You can't bring your own chair or umbrella - you have to rent it from the hotel. Housekeeping was terrible - we had to ask several times after 3 pm if our rooms were going to be cleaned, everything was terrible, please be prepared to spend more or else you will be hassled. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemy and we definetly will not be staying here again. Plus no activity for children. Please AVOID going here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niamadfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Thank you for posting. I apologize that you feel that way but that is certainly not our intention. We hope to have you back with us in the future and would be so grateful if you felt differently on a return visit. Feel free to contact me directly at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Beautiful mesmerizing beach! Professional personnel. Great views of ocean from three sides of hotel building. Lovely lobby. Pool deck is so relaxing and pool towel/deck staff make you feel welcome. Swaying palm trees. Safe Jet Skis. Restaurant on site and variety of restaurants and activities within walking distance. Rooms very clean. Lobby elevators are reliable and prompt. However, separate beach side elevator needs work. Pools clean and not overcrowded. Bottom locks on patio doors sometimes jammed (door wouldn't open) due to rust (lubrication worked though). Lever on front door of room did not lock if I did not jiggle the lever after leaving or entering the room (discovered when returned from outing and although door was completely closed, when door was pushed it opened without key card. Nothing was taken though, as it is a trustworthy place.) Great location and amenities. Comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEA-fun-in-the-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at the Ocean Sky for 8 nights. We had a lovely room with an ocean view from our patio. The room was not too large but it was well appointed and the bathroom was redone with granite etc.

The best feature of the hotel is the location right on the beach. The pool and jacuzzi were
great For those people who complain about paying for parking-all the hotels on the beach charge. Most of the parking fees are way higher than at this hotel.

There are more than a few restaurants that can be walked to, however I would recommend renting a car so you can see some of the tourist attractions and interesting
sights. The cabs are very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max46767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Most favorite thing we liked was swimming in the ocean everyday. We are a couple in our late 60's who were served a delicious breakfast right on the patio in our bathing suits by a very courteous male server. Pricey hotel restaurant prices. We arrived at midnight to very courteous valet person & staff. The sheets were clean but mattresses too soft. Maybe hotel should consider newer, firmer mattresses. Daily housekeeping ladies kept us supplied with clean towels, shampoo, soap and TP. Adequate refrigerator & microwave. The bathrooms have some mold. Hotel should raise prices & remodel bathrooms like their lobby has. Computer access very slow and costly. We will return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meyla4palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing