We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People are crazy, this resort was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“People are crazy, this resort was great!”
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I booked this hotel even after reading the bad reviews, because I know that human nature dictates that people will expect way more than what they are willing to pay for. We rented this hotel (3 adults) for $74 per night, which is including the $9 for valet parking (which was GREAT) and the daily resort fee. I was not expecting the Hilton. For $74 per night, ON THE BEACH, I assumed I would be grateful to have a bed and a bathroom, which is all I really needed. We spend our time outside, not in the room.
Imagine my surprise when we entered the lobby and saw beautiful marble floors, a fabulous chandelier, nice furniture and even a piano. Still waiting for "the other shoe to fall", I figured the rooms would be horrible according to what I had read. Wrong again. Old, yes. But clean, good sized rooms well equipped with towels, linens, and every appliance (fridge, microwave, coffee maker) in good condition. We asked for extra coffee the first day, and the maids saw to it that we got extra coffee every day. My daughter needed extra conditioner for her hair, it was supplied each day, without us having to ask. The room was cleaned at our convenience, and always a pleasure to come back to.
Yes, the building is old. IT'S FORT LAUDERDALE. Many of the hotels on the beach are this same age, and I think it's safe to say that many of them have not been updated. But if you want a brand new resort with a 4 or 5 star rating, don't bother to look at anything under $200 per night. The door knob to the patio door was a bit loose, but there was a deadbolt lock that meant the door was not going to be opened no matter how loose the doorknob was.
The pool was fantastic, as was the hot tub. On the last day of our visit, the hot tub was closed for about 5 hours for maintenance. I have a hot tub at home, you do have to do maintenance on them or they will totally break down. It happened to be while we were there, on a Wed. so it was not like it was the weekend or a peak season. Big deal, we could live with it.
As far as renting the beach chairs and umbrellas, yes, you do have to rent them. But again, most places that rent rooms for less than $100 per night will charge extra for the beach equipment. I thought it was great that they had the "beach toys" available right there on the spot (jet skis, kayaks, etc.) As for the price on those, the places at the lakes here in MO charge substantially more to rent jet skis than what the resort in FL did, and you get a much better ride there on the ocean.
We did not eat in the restaurant often, but what we had was good. The same goes for the tiki bar. But, comparing their prices to what we paid in other restaurants in the area, they were totally in line.
I firmly believe that you get what you pay for, and if you by chance find a place where you get MORE than you paid for, it's an unexpected benefit. We will return to this place often, and if others think it's too old or too expensive, let them try to find another place with a great beach, wonderful pool, clean rooms and good service for this price.
One more thing... to those who said the service was poor - perhaps if you had treated the employees with kindness and respect, you would have gotten the same EXCELLENT service that we got.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemccanless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    501
    348
    182
    160
See reviews for
449
554
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Think twice about staying here. Unfriendly Front Desk, wrong bed type than what was requested, mildew in room...stunk and had to switch but couldn't till next day, hidden charge of $150.00 or couldn't check in (they called it for ammenities). Room service rude and answered phone, "What do ya want?" Never even said goodbye. $30 for a Cabana and not even on the beach.
I have worked as a Manager of a Holiday Inn and spent many many nights in Marriott Hotels and even Days Inn and have NEVER felt so unwelcome. They wouldn't even let me speak to a Manager.
Taxi ride from Airport to Hotel cost $50 when they said $35. $15 a day parking. These people are after one thing...money. DO NOT STAY IN THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warprunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

If you listen to one thing make it this. I am in no way a picky person but this is the worst hotel i almost stayed at. Arrived at hotel with all good intentions the there website makes the rooms look nice but that all changed when i got to the room. Opened the door and was hit in the face with the worst smell , That bad that it made my stomach hurt. That was the best part, the bathroom had mold everywhere and the comforter had bloodstains on it!!! then i went down to the lobby and tried to talk to a very rude manager and all he said he could do is give me another room. so i looked at other rooms and it was much more of the same. so i asked for again for a refund and he would not do it, my guess is that they get alot of complaints and would end up refunding everyones money. ended up leaving and staying at the hilton marina very nice. also they will charge you $9.00 for parking in a little uncovered parking lot , not sure what your paying for here??? Just please dont stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cletez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2009

As a family of five it was oky. some staff were friendly. the rooms were not nice needed a good clean. also look out 30 dollars a day to hire deck chairs around the pool also on the beach. also 9 dollars a day to park your car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboo611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The Pictures on the internet makes everything look nicer but I think that goes for all hotels. The hotel is a little outdated. However, it was clean, has friendly staff, and location was awesome. For the price you cannot complain. All though parking/valet was $9.00 per day it was well worth it. People at the valet were great!!! I definitely will stay there again. Great Location!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham, al
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I booked this trip through hotwire and in the past had very good experiences. This time I was given the hotel from HELL... This dump has the furnishings of a 1970 motel 6. Even the lamp shades have stains. The hotel smell aweful and the employees are very rude and unprofessional. The closet doors won't close and the safe does not seem to work. The mandatory parking and safe deposit is a gimmick to get more money. The customer has to leave their automobile keys with the valet or park across the street in a lot. After calling hotwire and they confirmed this nightmare I was moved to another hotel the following day... AVOID THIS HELL HOLE!!! I would not recommend this dump to my worst enemy...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stayed at the ocean sky hotel for 1 night before a cruise. Overall, the hotel is OK but it's the location that makes this hotel a potential good one.

HOTEL PUBLIC ROOM AND AMENITIES : The lobby area is good looking with marbles and nice furniture. The pool deck is really nice with lots of lounge chairs and it's just in front of a large clean beach. On the other hand, the restaurant of the hotel is not good. The service is pretty mediocre and the food doesn't taste very good.

HOTEL ROOM: First, let me say that the elevators and the hallways to the room are old and not so clean. The actual room is OK. The bathroom was clean with good size towels. The bed sheets were nice but the mattress and the pillows were pretty hard. The room is really not luxurious. The hotel really needs to do some refurbishment, in the rooms particularly.

SERVICE: The service overall was ok. Nothing more, nothing less. The service was representative of a 3* hotel.

OVERALL RATING: I give the hotel 3* out of 5* because the rooms need some refurbishment and the restaurant needs to improve dramatically (food and service).
But the location in front of the beach is what makes this hotel a good one if you want proximity to the sea.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinceg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,018 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,661 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
180 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,656 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#59 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing