We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #61 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed at this property for 3 nights for a mini-"spring break" getaway. Overall, the hotel and surrounding facilities have seen better days. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms and décor are extremely dated. The beach is great and the area outside the hotel is nice and feels very safe. Parking is $15/day which seems reasonable for an oceanfront hotel. The parking is also just across the street from the hotel and is very convenient. The major issue at this hotel, however, is the service! When checking in, the front desk didn't know anything about the breakfast vouchers that we're included with our stay and asked us to return in the morning. When we came back the following morning, none of the staff knew anything and made us wait 15 minutes while a manager created vouchers for us. We had requested a rollaway bed when making the reservation and when checking in and still had to call the front desk twice before it was delivered hours later. The staff at breakfast is very slow, disappears for long stretches of time, and messed up our (simple) order every time! If you don't interact with the staff much and are just looking for a place to rest your head after spending the day at the beach then this hotel is fine. If you prefer more amenities and attentive service, consider one of the other hotels in Fort Lauderdale or even the Hollywood Beach area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Sorry for the inconvenience with food and beverage and service. We realize that things go wrong in every business, but they can be handled with the right customer service to remedy the situation, This is what we strive for.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Ocean Sky hotel and resort for the last seven years. The changes over those years are very positive. The hotel is old but it is on the beach. The concierge service is awesome Eddie is very helpful. Parking is 15 bucks but that is with Valet service. they have treated us very good and we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SchulteSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for such great loyalty to us. Thank you for the nice words as well as favorable comments on Eddy and our concierge service. We are very pleased to know that you will return to us.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The recent review by torricus says it all! I stayed at Ocean Sky from 3/17-3/21 and I loved it! If I return to Ft. Lauderdale, I will stay there in a heartbeat. The service was great (especially from Eddy and the other concierge guy). My room was fine - a great place to sleep with an amazing balcony overlooking the beach and the city. I would recommend staying on the south side if possible - my 9th floor room was great too. I really enjoyed having my morning coffee on the balcony while I watched the sun come up. I also really enjoyed having my evening beer on the balcony watching the sun go down. It was hard, but not impossible to hear the waves over the fan units. I was freaked out about the comments about the walls being thin comments, but I slept great!

The pool and beach area were really nice. I spent two days by the pool and two days on the beach. Five dollars was nothing for the convenience of a nice beach chair on the sand. The food and drinks by the pool were pretty expensive, but maybe that's indicative of the area.

Lots to do nearby or by taking a short cab or bus ride. I stumbled onto Lauderdale-by-the-Sea and really enjoyed meals at 101 Ocean and Aruba Beach Cafe. And Anglin's Beach Cafe can't be beat on ANY beach I've been to for its location. It was nice to be away from the crowds in the main part of town. Also in terms of location, there's a grocery store and a CVS within a short walk to get all you might need. I bought breakfast food and milk for coffee and having a fridge in the room was great!

I took the bus a lot - it picks up and drops off close to the hotel and is pretty easy to figure out ($1.75 per ride, or $4.00 for a day pass).

Again, the previous review says all I would stay. There were minor issues (old rooms, spotty elevators) but so not a big deal. The room was very clean, and the shower was great! I had no hot water issues at all.

Again, I was really nervous about this place after seeing previous reviews, but it was great. I mean it.

Room Tip: Stay on the south side of the hotel for good sunrise views, late afternoon sun (at least in March...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are very happy that you are looking forward to a return visit. Thank you for the nice comments about concierge Eddy and staff. The balcony views cannot be beat. We are lucky to be so close to restaurants and attractions. There are some excellent ones in the area. We are glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Before booking our stay at this hotel, we read through a lot of the other reviews on this site and took note of the many, many complaints. We decided that, for the good price we were getting, it was worth taking a chance. We're very glad we did. Here's our responses to the more prevalent complaints that we read:

Having to pay for chairs on the beach: When we went outside late morning, there were still PLENTY of deck chairs available in the pool deck area; when we wanted to stop sunning and jump in the ocean, we walked down the whole six steps to get there. If you're really that picky about whether your lying on a lounger beside on sand versus on concrete but still looking at the ocean and soaking up that Florida sun, then maybe it's worth the rental fee! But the deck area was lovely and still had a fantastic view, so we didn't feel there was any need to rent anything.

Bugs: We saw no bugs at all in our room or the hotel grounds whatsoever. It seems like this problem existed prior to the renovations.

Walls are thin: Okay, this one is true. You can hear the people next door, but we personally never discovered this to be a problem.

$15/day valet parking: Also true, but we didn't drive, so it wasn't a problem for us. A note for other non-drivers: The hotel does offer a shuttle to the airport. I can't remember exactly how much it was, but I think it was $10 deposit and $25 on arrival at the airport, cash. And Ace, our driver, was the best!

Location to amenities: This hotel has so many great hidden gem restaurants nearby, I don't know where to begin. Head north to Lauderdale-by-the-Sea to Pa D's, where they have terrific (and well-priced) homemade Italian food. Head west to Flip Flop's on Sundays for $3 beer/wine/spirits during all-day happy hour (this is also where the water taxi picks up).

Friendliness of staff: I think all of the staff members we had interactions with were nice. The shuttle driver (Ace) in particular was wonderful, and the front desk was extremely warm and helpful. The housekeeping staff even gave us a friendly hello in the morning.

Slow Wifi: We definitely noticed a slow-down connecting to the wireless internet in our room. When we were on the balcony side of the room it was almost impossible to get a signal, but if you moved closer to the door, the signal improved. However, we were also on the far edge of the building, so that might be a more room-specific issue.

View: Our hotel room did overlook a parking lot if we did look straight out, yes. But we saw spectacular sunrises and sunsets if we turned our heads gently to the left :) No complaints about that view.

Beach Elevator: This was a great feature! No need to walk through the hotel in your bathing suit!

To sum up: When you need a room that will put you right on the beach, is in walking distance of lots of restaurants, and has some added perks like an in-room fridge and safe and nearby grocery store, this is a fantastic choice. This hotel is perfect for bringing you to the beach and close to the water taxi.

Last note: I can't recommend taking the water taxi enough. It travels along Fort Lauderdale's canals past the multi-million dollar homes and and mega-yachts, and takes you right to the Las Olas Blvd. shopping district in downtown Fort Lauderdale, as well as several other notable locations. The trip was wonderful and a real highlight for us.

Room Tip: Rooms with a higher number (e.g. 520 vs. 501) are closer to the ocean, and therefore have a better o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for the great review as well as your review of other reviews! As you mentioned, the view from the pool deck is second to none. Thank you as well for the nice comments on staff including Ace and the front desk friendliness. That really means alot to us.
The beach elevator is a great feature!

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We purchased a package which included this hotel. We asked for a king suite, but were told that since we didn't book directly through the hotel, those rooms were given to other guests. To park in the main parking lot, guests must pay $15 a day for valet parking. To sit on a lounge chair by the pool is free, but you must pay to rent them on the beach. The hot water is non-existent & you need to run the water for at least 15 minutes to get it tolerable. Elevators worked off & on. There has been an attempt at a makeover, but it's still mostly dated. However, most of the staff were very nice & attentive, especially the valet attendants. The price mostly matched what was received. By far not the best place I've ever stayed, but certainly not the worst either. In fact, some goofball stayed there who brought their Rolls Royce. They clearly had other options & chose this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RustyNickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

That is not accurate about renting suites. If you reserve with us through another website, we offer upgrade pricing to move into one of our suites from a standard room. We offer that every day if suites are not sold out. Our suites are a tremendous value and recently renovated. We did have a temporary problem with the hot water but that is now fixed completely. The elevators were being renovated and are also now completed.
We are happy to receive all guests, Rolls Royce or any other vehicle of their choice!

Regards,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Check out my reviews, there is an equal balance of reviews from great to terrible and everything in between. So this is not just another whining rant from someone who is never satisfied.

The lobby and pool area appear very impressive and suck you in to think that this place is really a "resort" as advertised. However, this is sadly just a façade. The hotel is in terrible condition and there is no sign of any motivation to change anything.

The rooms were horrible. Any 40 year old 2 star hotel has better rooms. The first we were offered stunk of stale smoke. The second had a broken lock between it and the adjoining room next door, meaning that anyone from the adjoining room could enter your room at will. The final room we were offered was also dirty and falling apart but we were tired.

There were numerous things in need of repair in each room and there was an overall feeling of dirtiness. Other than a run around with a vacuum, it is doubtful that there has been any real cleaning or repair/maintenance to these hotel rooms in over a decade. There were marks up high on the walls where something had splattered years prior and had not been cleaned. There was very old dust, grime and mildew around the baseboards and in crevices around the room. This place needs a good power hosing and bleaching before it could be considered a 2 star.

The walls and doors were also paper thin. You could literally hear people in the next rooms going about their daily business. They weren't noisy, it was just that there is no sound insulation at all. I listened to one phone conversation from the next room and heard every word, even though I turned on my t.v. in an effort to not have to listen.

The elevators are hit and miss, but even if all three are working (which is rare enough) they are always filled and you often have to wait up to ten or fifteen minutes.

The pool area is nice. There are lots of chairs and there is soft music playing. But the pool itself is quite dirty and too small for the quantity of people at the hotel. And because the hotel has a restaurant and tiki bar connected to the pool area, the over-zealous security dude takes it as his responsibility to create business for the restaurant and bar by telling children (not their parents!) that they could not eat potato chips on the loungers because it upset the restaurant staff. What foolishness. When I asked the manager whether this was hotel policy, he said it was not, and then he.........did nothing!

The food at the restaurant was bland and boring, but passable. They impose a 15% gratuity because the service is so poor that tipping might not occur without this. The lady in the towel dispensary was morose and used a cumbersome check in/out system for towels that could lead to long line-ups. Has anyone here ever heard of the simple system of leaving a couple of towels with each room and just letting people "leave two and take two" when they needed new ones?

I wouldn't ever recommend this to anyone. There are so many nicer places to stay in North Lauderdale. Try any of them first.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

With all due respect, anyone can see that we are not "a dump". In fact, the owners have been very motivated to making changes on the property. The adjoining rooms have locks on both sides for security so you cannot simply go into the next room if one lock is broken. The elevators were recently renovated and that is why at times recently one would be out of service at a time. Our pool is very clean as we take great pride in keeping it that way and is quite a good size in fact. Most of our guests appreciate that we provide security to keep the area secure and safe for our guests to enjoy. I would appreciate if you gave us another opportunity to change your mind about Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have stayed at Ocean Sky several times now and always enjoy it. With this property it is all about expectations. It's an older property that has been refurbished and updated. It is a nice newer version of an older Florida resort. We have stayed for twice the price in the main hotel zone but found it was noisy, expensive and you had to cross the street to visit the beach. At Ocean Sky you are right on the beach, no traffic noise or party people on the side walks interrupting your evening. The parking is valet only for $15 per day, but trust me.. On the strip you will pay much more! Also, the pool area is beautiful and the beach is great. You can choose to grab a no charge pool chair or for a fee rent a chair and umbrella on the beach from a vendor. Great beach area, perfect for walks. If you walk 20 minutes north you can find some some nice beachside restaurants, too! Enjoy this property if you are looking for a nice stay at an older well kept beachfront resort and do not mind buying away for the main craziness. We will be staying here again in a week and are looking forward to it! Fast, free wifi, too!

Room Tip: All of the rooms offer a partial view if the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for the great review. Your feedback is all things that we strive for.

We really appreciate the kind words and your observations.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,134 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,993 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#49 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
194 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,731 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#35 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $134 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing