We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #64 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotel Tonight (use invite code lhuebner5 for $25 off your first booking) and what a gem of a find! We were on the sixth floor and our balcony (all balconies) had a view of the ocean between the neighboring building. Not a full on view, but enough to enjoy as you sat in the Adirondack chairs provided on each balcony. The room was clean, with a small fridge and microwave and adequate space in the bathroom. We had a nice breakfast in the outside eating area overlooking the ocean - the view was worth the few extra dollars it cost us to have an omelet here instead of grabbing breakfast at the nearby McDonalds or Dunkin Donuts. The pool area is well kept and they have plenty of free lounge chairs for you to soak up the sun while listening to the waves of the ocean. Or just ten steps off the pool deck you can find an umbrella and lounge chairs for your use and you can put your toes in the ocean. There is also jet ski and kayak rental right there. And best of all you are right on Ft. Lauderdale beach - a long stretch of clean sand (we only saw one jelly fish) and clear water to swim or play in. Also, there is a Winn Dixie just two blocks south of the hotel, as well as McD's, Dunkin, and a few other small shops and restaurants. We would stay here again when visiting Ft. Lauderdale.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and had a great view, although rooms closer to the beach end of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby_travels_alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Tremendous review. Thank you so much.

We are very grateful to have you back with us any time.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

After reading some of the other reviews..................I booked a room for 3 nights. I wish we could longer. Everything was wonderful. The room was very clean. Coffee maker had real coffee mugs. The partial view of the ocean was great. Everyone we came in connect with went out of the way to make us feel special and glad that we were there. We did not eat on sit.....brought food from home. Did walk (make a left out of the parking lot)
to a pizza place called DaVinci,s...........................best pizza ever!!

The pool/hot tub were very clean and so were the hallways.

Yes.....$15.00 a day is high for parking.............

The grandkids did play mini-golf...............they loved it so paying the $10.00 each for them to play was well worth it.

WE will come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryinSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Your very kind words mean more to us than you know.

Thank you!
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly! The hotel had a very clean feeling! Smelt like fresh carpet and definetly was just remodeled! Pool and hot tub were clean! Right on the beach! Had a nice balcony where to the right I had a great view of the beach! I would stay here again and again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you very much. Your great review means alot to all of us here.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

the bugs turned me off- so my review may be a little harsh! arrived at night, the check-in and valet reps were both curtious and professional, as I unpacked I noticed a few bugs on my night table killed them off and went to bed. Our next morning's awakening was a little tougher to handle as we placed food on the main counter and it was crawling with bugs, took the bug infested food down to reception-they offered me another room-decided not to move, had to contend with killing bugs for the three days.... staff was great ( towel girl who gave us towels everyday, the valets, most of the bartenders{one was in the wrong profession}, the security staff, and the cleaning and maintance staff-great hires) they tried to charge us to use broken down beach chairs just outside the hotel( a little petty given thier condition) mini putt at 10$-take a look and decide for yourself if it is worth it- sorry not in my mind ....pool drinks were a tad expensive and resturant was empty due to being overpriced and having sub par food quality. location is great. views are great. rooms need an update!

Room Tip: our room was on the 9th fllor south side-a tad noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guspmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for the nice words but also please advise if you have any issues of any kind and we can rectify them very quickly no matter what they are. We hope to see you again.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having stayed in several hotels in Fort Lauterdale, I was pleasantly surprised about the Ocean Sky which is about 20-30 minutes from Fort Lauterdale Int. Airport.

So far, many hotels are not located directly on the Beach: you either have to cross the street; or walk over the bridge - to get to the beach.
Or you pay a lot of money to stay in the Marriott Harbor Beeach or Lago Mar...

The Ocean Sky has reasanable tarifs and: it´s located directly on the beach.
You walk out the door; or take the beach-elevator - walk over the pool area and you´re at the beach.
Superb location - with some eating options; supermarket and some fast food options in easy walking distance.

Parking: USD 19/day for valet parking.

Upon arrival: friendly staff, quick check in.
Nice and clean corridors; pleasantly air-conditioned.
Room: large. Bathroom: small.
The rooms could do with an update (both furniture and floor).
My room on the 4th floor was also close to the air-conditioning unit in front of the building which made it very noisy.


Minibar; coffeemaker and flatscreen TV.
Internet: slow (could also do with an update).

Breakfast: Slow service; relatively expensive for what you get; limited options.

Pool - relatively small; but you got a great beach just ahead.
Great whirlpool.
Beach/pool towels are complimentary; sunchairs at the pool as well.

Gym: OK; with a fair selection of cardio and weight training possibilities.
Unfortunately, they have automatic air fresheners with a disgusting perfume there; I hope they get removed soon.

If I will stay here again?
Definitely.
After my first stay in October, I also spent some days here early November.
And I´ll come back again.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the air-conditioning units (see picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

You are obviously a veteran to our hotels down here in Ft Lauderdale and you are very right in that there are very few hotels directly on the beach and not across the street. Thank you for the feedback and nice review and we are thankful to know that you will be back with us soon!!

Best,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Sky Hotel. The room was spacious and clean with a great view of the ocean. The beach was beautiful with lots of lounge chairs for the guests. Similarly the pool area was clean with an abundance of chairs and loungers.

There is a restaurant on site but nobody seems to go there for dinner. There are lots of really good restaurants within walking distance.

Valet parking is $15 per day. The guys there are fast and courteous. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments on the hotel, staff and valet.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

On the beach and there is a very nice pool and sun deck here too; lots of restaurants and stores are close by; there is hotel dining, okay, but you might step out for better food and service; rooms need some updating but all have at least a partial ocean view--

Room Tip: the closer to the ocean the better, also get a higher floor if possible for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrytomsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. It means alot to us all.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#24 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,191 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
4,158 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#33 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,943 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#47 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
219 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#89 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $133 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing