We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I booked my stay through Travelocity and when I arrived; somehow they showed my reservation as cancelled. The staff was not helpful at all in getting my issue resolved, pretty much I had to deal with Travelocity (which was another nightmare) and get my reservation resolved. The lobby is very nice but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The pictures on the website only show the nice parts of the hotel which is not at all comparable to the rooms.
Also, I reserved a king size room but when we arrived, there were no king size availables.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dargis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sometimes there can be miscommunication when there is a 3rd party reservation made but it does not happen often. Sorry for that inconvenience. We have done a lot of work upgrading the soft goods in the rooms and we have more plans in that area as well.
We hope that you come see us again.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    501
    351
    186
    163
See reviews for
455
558
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I did not like the parking issue. If you wanted to self park you had to park across the street for $12.00 / day or valet park for the same money. I don't like valet parking but I went with it. The Tiki bar was terrible. The bartender, a male, was the most unfriendly, rude tender I ever met. It seemed like he was doing you a favor. One beer and that was it for us. The room was OK. The vending machine on our floor was a bandit. Took your money but no product. Ice machine out of order. Went to another floor for ice and used that vending machine which did work but instead of coke it gave me sprite. Needless to say I will never be there again.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We actually studied the area for parking fees for hotels directly on the beach and found that our fee was quite low for the area.
We hope that you reconsider and give us another opportunity in the future.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel was really nice overall! It was awesome that it was right on the beach so you didn't have to go far to spend a day on it. The cleaning service was awesome for the rooms I definatly could not complain there! There is only one bartender who is absolutely amazing, Sarah. We spend one full morning at the Tiki Bar because of her. We had a bad experience before when a bartender Manny was caught watering down our drinks with water so unless Sarah is there I do not recommend you going to the Tiki Bar she will make the drinks amazing and definatly worth your while. She is very people friendly! I wish they had activities and a kid pool or other things for the kids to do. We had 3 seven year olds. and a 2 year old and they got bored pretty fast with the basic pool. Our stay was very welcoming and the rooms were really nice. I think you should have the option of not having to valet parking and parking your own car and not having to pay for it but we knew that was a fee coming into the hotel so nothing we could complain about. Overall, we will be coming and staying there again when our family gets together.

Room Tip: The suite rooms have the real ocean view so if they is something you are wanting make sure to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for the nice words and we are very pleased to hear that you will be coming back again. Please check out our new mini golf course which is a great activity for your children on your next trip here.

Thanks again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a warm welcome at the Ocean Sky and got rooms 908 and 910 with a connecting door. The door has not been used for a while, and has been paintet in the meantime that the color sticked the door to the wall.... After we opened it, you can imagine how dirty it was in between these two doors. One of the fridges was full of melted ice and so we called the front desk. A friendly room maid came immediately and cleaned the old carpet. As we had another fridge in the second room, it was not that bad that the dirty fridge stayed dirty until our departure.

The balconies were very clean and the chairs comfortable. The view is great – also during the night with the ocean on one and the lights of the city on the other side.
The pool was nice and the area more or less clean. When we arrived there by 5 pm, we 6 were happy, cause we got the last 3 pool towels. The lady at the poolbar could not organize more towels cause she was not in charge. Opening hours oft he pool: 7.am to 11 pm. On a normal thursday no towels for the pool for more than a third of the whole opening time. Well, so we did not have to try the pool bar – maybe the lady would also not be in charge. The old shower next to the pool was fun. We did not know that something like that still exists. There is an elevator directly from the pool deck to the rooms. This elevator was not working during our whole stay. Like this, we had to walk through the lobby with furniture of the fifties. A few more years and they will be modern again.

Parking costs $12 per night which is a moderate prize. And what we really appreciate is the free WiFi. This is a service we think is great.

What will await you in room 910: Aircondition is very old and loud but works. Not too confortable when you want to sit on the chair when it’s hot, cause the aircondition will blow warm air in your neck. 2 Lamps by the bed: are dirty but they work. Water in the bathroom: There is one way to stop the water: Bring it to one special position and try hard and you will manage that the water will not run the whole night. On the Hotel Information Manual you will find half of a chocolate bar on the second page. It looks like the room maids haven’t looked at it for a while – so maybe you’ll find it. Opening the balcony’s door is another challenge, but you will manage – as we did.

What you will find in room 908: The lamp standing next tot he window does not work. The same lamp as in the other room but luckily in the other room there was a button to bring it to work. We shouldn't have used the 3 coffee portions the first day, cause they haven't been refilled the coming day.

On the 5th floor we once saw workers come into the elevator. It seems like there are a few things they renew. So I would suggest if you still are thinking of going to that hotel, maybe you could ask for a room on a floor that has been renewed.

If the rooms would be as nice as the staff at the valet parking, front desk, concierge are friendly, it would be a lovely place.

Why it's called "Resort" is another question....
With the check-out we mentioned that we did not like it there at all. The lady at the front desk was very sorry and told me to tell it the room service manager too... The problem of a bad condition of the rooms can unfortunately not be solved by only a room service manager...

Room Tip: Floor 9 was bad. Floor 5 seems to be rebuilt right now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
As you mentioned, we have been renovating the hallways and just just the 5th floor but all of them. We also have many plans in the near future.
We hope that you give us another opportunity soon.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Before I begin my review, I just want to say that I did not stay overnite here so I cannot comment on the rooms.

We were here to spend the day with my daughter and her family who were vacationing here for the week.

The location is nice because it is beach front, but there are a lot of hotels on Fort Lauderdale Beach!

When we pulled into the parking lot, we did not see a sign that you had to pay for parking. As soon as we parked some guy came running towards us telling it would cost us 12 dollars to park....... Are you kidding me! They charge that per day for every vehicle even if you are staying in one of their rooms:( We found that just crazy!!! Anyway, we told the man that we were only visiting for a couple hours and asked if there was somewhere else we could park in the area. He told us no there wasn't and everywhere charges 12 dollars. So, we had to pay.

Then, as soon as we walked thru the front door, a man rudely told us that no coolers were allowed in the pool area or on the beach. We advised him that our daughter was staying here for the week with her family and she had asked us to bring some organic juice boxes and pediasure for the kids because they were both sick and were not eating as well as they should.

Do you think he cared...NOPE he didn't. The kids could come in off of the beach where they were playing, stand in the lobby dripping wet with sand covering them, just so they could have one of their drinks that we were keeping cold for them. Does that make sense? We did not have any alcohol, only kid drinks. He could have asked to see what was in the cooler 1st...

I am all about rules and I know there are reasons for rules, but sometimes there are circumstances where an employee needs to make a well informed decision! Things are not always black or white. There is a gray area in between that should be considered.

I imagine that there are people that try to come in off the street and use the hotel facilities, but there has got to be a way where the parking issue can be rectified along with the cooler issue.
I have been to ALOT of resorts and ALOT of hotels that deal with these issues in a more customer service related way.

Maybe a bracelet showing that someone belongs there would be a nice way to keep your patrons happy, but at the same time would help to keep people that don't belong there away!

Just a thought.........

Oh and by the way, my daughter and her husband had the same type of poor customer service as we did...

We will not be back nor will we suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomWifeGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved everything about the place! Our room, the food, the beach and most of all the water. We loved it so much we are going back in Oct. of this year.The beach was clean and the water crystal clear and warm with the most beautiful shells. The lunchs and dinners were 4 star!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words! See you in October!

All the best.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Ocean Sky 6 times now. I always have a great time here. The staff are friendly, rooms are clean and well priced compared with more up market hotels. All rooms have a terrace. The hotel is right on the beach on the Galt Ocean Mile. Watch the sun come up and walk along the beach to Lauderdale-By-The-Sea for breakfast. A great way to start the day. The pool deck is awesome and the pool itself is a perfect size. Only drawback is the lack of a hotel bar other than the small Tiki Bar. There is a bigger one in the hotel next door. Only a few minutes from downtown Fort Lauderdale it is worth staying a little further out of town to be right on the beach. I will come back here time and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room on a higher floor. Better view and sun throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for staying here 6 times. We really appreciate that and hope to have the pleasure of having you here for years.

Thank you very much.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,084 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
186 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing