We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #59 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Whenever we come to Florida, the ONLY place we stay is here. On our opinion, the best hotel in Fort Lauderdale.
From the 1st time 6 years ago we loved it and have stayed here 5 times since.

The hotel is clean, modern and the staff from the concierge to the valet to the general manager and the owners them-self, they could not be any more welcoming or friendlier.

The location is literally on the beach which is fantastic for a dip in the sea or any water sports. The hotel has a great pool, huge jacuzzi and cool Tiki Bar.

The rooms are big, clean and modern, some even have kitchenettes which are cool. In room safes, the usual tea and coffee making facilities and huge comfortable beds are just some of the features. Sea view rooms are a must and are great and the large balconies.

I can't praise this enough, we are coming back in November to this great hotel.

Please send our regards to everyone especially Issie and Mike.

Jason & Veronika from London.

Xx

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words and thrilled that you are returning soon as well.

All the best.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here after our cruise so maybe our standards were a little high. Having said that, it was nice to have Valet parking for the same price as self park. Check in was easy and very accomodating as we got there a bit early. The hotel is nice and you can tell they try to keep it clean but its clear that many spring break parties have taken their toll.
The rooms were ok and the beds were clean which is all we really were concerned with. The carpets instantly made our socks black so we kept our shoes on. The tv remote didnt work and the room had a musty odor. Probably a result of being so close to the beach.
We did have a beach view from the large balcony but the main lobby and restaurant are between the rooms and beach so the large AC units drowned out any possibilty of relaxation.
The large heated pool was nice with a large sundeck for lounging and the Tiki bar close by. 10 steps and youre on the beach equipped with Jet Ski rentals.
Over all, a nice hotel to stay at for a night or two but don't plan your vacation here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampinTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

We continually are looking to modernize our hotel and have made quite a few improvements recently. In fact, the carpet in the rooms is fairly new. We are also renovating the room hallways very shortly. We think that we are great for longer stays and hope that you try us for a longer vacation.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here because my in-laws are sweet and wanted to give us privacy. They booked this room for us and paid for it. They chose this place because they own a condo a few doors down and we wanted to be close to them. This stay started off well enough. The hotel itself is quite dated and walls are thin but it's something you can overlook due to the location. It's right on the beach, compared to the more upscale hotels where they are actually across the street from it. The room we had, had a partial ocean view and a balcony. It was okay but hey, it's not the Ritz and I wasn't paying for it, so my complaint doesn't lie there.

Just stayed for the 3 days my in-laws paid and just decided to go stay with them after instead of extending our stay here. Why? Because on the last day while packing up, I saw cockroaches crawling up the wall. Not singular but plural! I can ignore old, tired decor but I cannot ignore the fact that roaches may have been crawling on us and our belongings while we slept. ROACHES. The only way I will even consider staying here is if there's some sort of fumigation report and a massive overhaul or if someone paid me. You have no idea how hard it is to have one person hold the entire contents of one suitcase while the other shakes out said suitcase and clothes to make sure we didn't take any of those disease ridden insects with us. Told the front desk about it on the way out and they tried to keep it very hush hush. Not even one apology and basically just looked at us as if to say, "What the heck do you want us to do? Give you something for free cuz that ain't happening". We couldn't get away fast enough. Damn staying at the beach, go spend your money at a nicer place and ignore that you have to cross the road to get to some sand and water. Only reason this even gets 2/5 is because we didn't pay for it.

Room Tip: Walls are super thin. Avoid the ones close to the elevator. Heck, avoid this whole roach infested pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timayyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

We take great pride in our cleanliness and have one of the largest pest control companies taking care of us so I'm not sure how that happened, but if so, I'm sure that it has been taken care of. As for the location, we are very fortunate to be directly on the beach as you say. It's not easy for some to keep making that trek across the street to the beach.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

For the first morning breakfast I wanted to eat at the hotel. I ordered a coffee, to that coffee I
ordered a pouches egg, I was given two pieces of dry toast and a egg on the side. Never see
staff at restaurant. So I guess sit and wait to see if staff come out to host. The wait will be okay,

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKWQX04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that the breakfast was not to your satisfaction. We sincerely hope to have you back with us so that you find a better experience with our dining options.

Regards,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel is right on the beach which was exactly what I was looking for. Staff was excellent in every way. Great private beach, nice pool and lounging area if you want sun without the sand.
Had breakfast and lunch there and the food was good. The prices at the tiki bar were a little high for what you got but other than that is was a great stay.

I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJL5624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about the staff and food, as well as location. Glad that you found what you were looking for and we are grateful that it was our hotel.

Thank you very much.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. Very clean, located on the beach. Ammenities include heated pool, tiki bar, hot tub and veiw right on the beach. Very clean, friendly, quiet I can't wait to go back would stay there again, and again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for the great words and it is a real pleasure to know that we will have you back with us as regular guests. That means alot to all of us and we are very grateful.and hope to have you for many years.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location right on the beach and the pool. You're pretty much always able to get a chair at the pool. The cheap parking is a plus too. Don't plan on spending much time in the room if you stay here because the walls are paper thin. They say that the rooms have been newly renovated, but they have not been. The doors on the bathroom vanity are crooked and won't close and the closet is just gross! But, the bed and pillows were comfy so we were able to get a good night sleep. For the price it is a great deal. I'm not sure if we would stay here again though, but it was worth trying once.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We really hope to see you again. We have made a lot of upgrades to the hotel and will continue to do so and hope that you get a chance to visit us again.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,174 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,088 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
210 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#87 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
755 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $145 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing