We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Mountain Grove, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“horrible room”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

booked for two nights and we actually left after one night and lost our money for the second night. I would rather loose $200 bucks than spend two nights in this dump. Tiny very very old bathrooms and beds were extrememly old and rooms outdated. it was like a plush old old hotel 6. i wouldnt stay here for free if i was offered.

Room Tip: look at resorts near by but not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beckydowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
I respectfully and definitively disagree with your assessment of our hotel.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    495
    338
    181
    158
See reviews for
441
546
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were booked in this hotel by our travel agent as a stop over after our flight UK-Miami and prior to joining our cruise ship in Fort Lauderdale.
It was clean and the rooms of average size. There was a large function taking place when we arrived early evening but this did not create any problems.
The check in was impersonal but quick. In view of the hotel function and our long flight we decided to walk out to get a meal. There is not many restaurants or bars readily available however within 15 minutes we found a reasonable place to get a drink and small meal.
As a stop over it is OK but I expect anybody thinking this was a Resort hotel as the name implies would be disappointed.

Room Tip: Did not stay long enough to establish if there were any 'good rooms'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Please come and see us when you are coming to Ft Lauderdale for a longer stay as you mentioned. I t would be our pleasure to have you here.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Facilities were good. Clean and maintained. Rooms ok. Nice size. Comfortable. Bathroom vanity small.Elevators worked well. Halls were clean. Lobby impressive. Dining area dismal. Pool was good as was the jacuzzi. Outdoor lounge chairs very close together offering no personal space. Love they neighbor in that area. Lounge chairs not comfortable. However, despite crowding the lounging area was good. Overall the "resort" area was quite small.

Food was overpriced and in most cases simply frozen items from Sam's Club. The word resort implies more than low end foods, packaged butter and creamers. Very poor food management.
Location is in the middle of large condos. Eating and shopping requires a car or a cab.
The staff was attentive and pleasant.

Bottom line - the word resort does not apply to Ocean Sky. Motel on the beach is more accurate. We did not have a car and had to use cabs to get decent food. If the food manager had not botched his area the stay would have been much nicer and maybe resort might have applied.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We hope to see you again.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My best friend an I came to stay at ocean sky in feburary for a week. The price was great. Our view was amazing. We could not get over how much on the beach we were. We enjoyed your banana boat and the jet skis. We both enjoyed breakfast and a couple of dinners in your restaurant. We had a great air boat ride in the ever glades. Most amazing week ever. We plan to come back as soon as possible. I was hoping you could answer one question for me though. The comforters on our beds ( we loved) were they down or alternative down? We are both shopping for one like it for our own beds at home. I better mention that we met many of your guest while at the pool. Everyone was having a great time. Your place is great. Can't wait to see everyone again. Keep up all your nice work.

Cheri

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherilee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We will be very happy to see you again soon. I can't thank you enough for the kind words. I will research the type of comforter. Please contact me here at the hotel and I will find out for you.

Many Thanks.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

the person, answering the phone did not know, how to find the reservation in their computer system, the manager did it well. The heater, when was turned on, blew clouds of smoke fumes, but the manager said "We do not use them often, so it is normal, just open the door for a few minutes, it will go away". We ended up spending a good 20 minutes in the corridor before entering the room. The bath tub was re-glazed recently, but poorly, so the polymer paint was chipping off, peaces of it were floating in the water. The sink faucet did not work right.
The cleaning crew kept ignoring "do not disturb" sign, knocking on the door all the time. Even though check out time is 11 am, electronic keys stopped working at 10.30. I had to come down the lobby to re-activate it. The beach and ocean are great, but that's all I can say about this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Well that is very true, we don't use the heaters much down here in South Florida. We are working hard to try and continually improve the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Although a little tired, this hotel is in a lovely location, right on the lovely beach at Fort lauderdale.Very good value too, excellent for a short stay. Food was OK, reasonable price. Beach was just steps away. Nice pool. Good terrace for eating breakfast/lunch with graet seaview.

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms have at least a side sea view, so not worth paying extra for full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omeganatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for the nice words about our fantastic location.

We hope to see you again soon,..

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach and the rooms are reasonably priced for the location. Service is not great. The front desk staff is not very friendly, although the valet parking guys are great. The room was fine. The bathroom is very small and there is not much space to put anything down. The food was mediocre at best. The tiki bar is nice and the bartender was very friendly, but it did not attract many patrons so was a pretty boring place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing