We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ranked #33 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

The hotel room was clean. There were no bedbugs. My only complaint was that the bed was covered with a bedspread which you rarely see in hotels these days. The breadfast was mediocre but ample. The gentlemen at the front desk, at both our arrival (at 2:00 a.m.) and our departure the next morning, were both very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    385
    167
    58
    48
See reviews for
321
393
74
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a great hotel, but it could be excellent if it wasn't for the front desk staff. Very arrogant and didn't care who was waiting. We traveled with a group of 8 and every one was disappointed with the front desk. Other than that, it's a great location to get to the cruise. I would suggest a taxi instead of their shuttle. Taxi costs about $9 and their shuttle is $9 per person. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Make sure yo get the price you were quoted, they tried to tell us it was 30 dollars more than quoted, so good thing I had my email with me to show what was quoted. Continental breakfast was OK, Casino is about a 20 dollar taxi ride. Restaurants are close. I would stay again, but management better school the front desk staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickMalizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Booked this hotel through Hotels.com and they never completed the transaction with Best Western. Now you would think that a company whose business was making reservations would follow through with just that, but no they did not and we spent more than 2 hours on the phone trying to get a room. Hotel receptionist left me on hold for more than 20 minutes, 3 different times and then hung up on my while I was sitting in a rental car at the airport. Hotels.com had me on hold 4 different times each over 20 minutes and finally told me just to go to the hotel and they would have something for us. Our room was 1 double bed, paid for king and it was in the lobby, right next to the maintenance closet and in the area where the free breakfast buffet was held. I guess we should be thankful we had a room at all but I would never use Hotels.com again...ever! Their confirmation number does not correspond to hotel reservation numbers, completely useless when you are talking to a hotel!! Terrible way to start off our vacation!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

To be honest...I do not know how the rooms are or even the inside of the hotel as we were never allowed entry-just told "To stay on the shuttle!".

We had booked our rooms through Air Miles as we were going on our first cruise ever. I specifically requested this hotel based on what I saw online. I also called personally to the Hotel 3 nights before our arrival date to ensure they knew we would be a late arrival, as our flight came in after midnight. All appeared to be in order.

Fast foward to being in the airport and calling for a shuttle at 12:30 am, after travelling all day from Victoria, BC, to be told that NO we do not have your reservation but get on the shuttle anyways and see what we can do. At least I give the night crew credit...they did find us a room elsewhere but gave us the impression their hotel would be looking after the expenses...NOT SO come the morning. Not a welcome hit to our spending money.

Best Western Head Office had our reservations booked properly as did the Front Desk here when I called the few days prior so what happened? Horrible service!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichellC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Just by chance, because we came off our cruise ship and we planned to fly home, we found ourselves "stranded" in the airport due to the snow storm. We called Best Western Airport/Cruise port hotel and got a great rate. They picked us up along with many other passengers and we found ourselves in a wonderful hotel. The manager, Juan, and his staff were so great. The hotel is located near a shopping plaza with restaurants, stores, etc. The best part, free hot breakfast for all. Would you believe that this hotel was the cleanest and very well kept hotel I have been in. Free internet helped us get another flight home. The friendly service and suggestions on sightseeing made for a great stay, even though we were travelers in distress. We will visit them again...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelJudy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

The hotel and staff were wonderful- friendly, helpful... the shuttle service from the airport was prompt for us- although the shuttle is used for 4 other hotels and so I could see how you may have a wait.
That being said- the shuttle service that they offer to the cruiseport for $8/person was very poorly executed. There seemed to be only one shuttle running and it was used by several hotels. We stood outside the hotel for 90 minutes waiting for a shuttle with 10 other guests. My suggestion is to forget the shuttle and grab one of the numerous taxis which come through the parking lot every few minutes. We did- it cost the same as our 2 shuttle passes. I think that if the hotel had asked guests to purchase tickets prior to departure ( so they would have an idea of how many guests needed shuttle service) things would have gone much more smoothly and their guests would leave with a better opinion of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeeterplustbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

I planned to stay only one night, but circumstances turned my one night into a one week stay. The front desk and manager went above and beyond to extend my stay, and helped with every request I had. They were friendly, caring, efficient, and humane. Sometimes one caring person can make all the difference when you are a stranger on your first visit in town. Wi-fi service was spot-on every time I needed to use it. The room was extra nice, extra clean, and the bed was genuinely comfortable. The cable service was good. The temperature control in the room was excellent, compared to a hotel that cost three times the price that offered no climate control at all, in spite of the thermostat on the wall. There were also plenty of room delivery services available from local dining establishments for those times when I just didn't feel like having to go out to get a good meal. I definitely recommend this hotel to others, and will definitely stay here again. This hotel was much better than the "luxury" hotel I stayed at in a freezing cold room. Also, the parking is free!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyTourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#40 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#32 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#60 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Property: BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Address: 1221 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing