We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Cruises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ranked #38 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Place for Cruises”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel is the ideal place to stay before and after a cruise. The hotel picks you up at the airport and takes you to the hotel at no charge. Free shuttle service to the cruise port is also provided. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and neat. Free access to a computer is available. Breakfast was good. This hotel reduces the hassles and complications of getting to and from the cruiseport. Highly recommended for the before and after place to stay for a cruise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeekerofSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    445
    196
    67
    56
See reviews for
379
448
84
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This Best Western is my favorite 'average' hotel in Fort Lauderdale: not fancy, not expensive; but good value for the money, and reasonably clean and secure.
Located on State Road 84, approximately 15 minutes from the airport, and very close to the Lauderdale Marine Center on SW 20th Street. Several other marinas, including Bradford's, with all the big boat sheds, are just a little further west. (The famous Sailorman Used Marine Equipment store is even closer to the airport, a few blocks east on SR 84.)
Many fast food joints, lots of gas stations, and food stores. If you like Cuban/Latin American food, El Tamarindo Cafe is also a short drive east on SR 84.
The hotel really seems to try to keep up with the demands of the many budget travelers who are in town to take the cruise ships, which operate shuttles to this location. These folks are generally nervous, excited, and in need of much shepherding. If you're not one of them, make sure the front desk knows that when you check in, so you won't be awakened by the hub-bub at 5:00 AM (no one seems to sleep the night before they depart).
There's a swimming pool out back, but I've never seen anyone use it.
If you want to be near the beach, don't even consider this location, by the way. There are other hotels that are much closer.
For a king room, I usually pay $89 plus tax, AARP. I've seen others pay $79 and $99, so go figure.
Right across the street is a Holiday Inn Express, and out back is a Hampton.
Not too shabby, and I always get work done because there are few distractions here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aybceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We had a cruise scheduled for Saturday and since we had family, we traveled a day before. Wanted to stay at a hotel that would pick up from airport, drop off to the cruise port (for free) and provide clean, safe place to stay.

BW Ft Lauderdale Airport/Cruise port was just that. I have stayed at many BW in the past and this is an good hotel. It was clean, great location, decent rooms. We did not use much of the amenities( took advantage of breakfast, but not the pool).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoingtoPlaces123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Very Rude Front Desk person, pool was dirty, room was old and smelled. Don't plan to print your boarding pass here because the ink was out and the staff could careless. I was told I could go across the street to the Holiday Inn and print it. hummm.... maybe we should have stayed at the Holiday Inn!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

avoid at any cost!!!!

the bed was made when we arrived at the room. when we went to bed, my wife's foot found a maxi pad IN BETWEEN THE SHEETS! there were also brown smears on the bottom sheet. yes that is correct, a feminine hygiene product and skid marks.

the night manager carlo took photos and claimed to be filing a report, but when the day manager, Herns Eugene, was contacted by orbitz the next day, he denied knowledge of a report but (mysteriously) also claimed that he had checked the room that morning (after it was cleaned) and didn't see a maxi pad or dirty sheets, and therefore could not authorize a refund. i called the day manager, Herns Eugene, myself in disbelief that this incident would be so easily dismissed, and he was extremely dismissive and rude. He reiterated that he knew nothing of the incident, and when i asked to speak with his superior, he said "I don't have a boss." classic stuff.

Luckily, we booked the room through american express, so we won't have to pay for it, but i am so troubled by the lack of response from best western and the lack of any record of the incident, i have to warn fellow travelers that it is probably more hygienic to just sleep in the mcdonalds parking lot next door.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Longboardfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Arrived mid week @ 5 pm- day before going on a cruise. Free shuttle was provided from airport. Initially had some confusion with front desk telling me we had no reservation when we called for the shuttle pickup, but when we arrived at the hotel a different employee found reservation with no problem. The room was a bit musty smelling, but we turned up the air conditioner and the smell cleared. Beds were older style and somewhat uncomfortable - I prefer the softer mattress available in newer hotels. TV included a DVD player - had we known we could have brought a movie along.
Continental breakfast had great cinnamon rolls.
We arrived at supper time and there are several small restaurants and fast food places witrhin walking distance.
Free shuttle in the morning to the cruiseport was appreciated. It was shared with other hotels, so it did take about 45 minutes to get to the port.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank budgettraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so california
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We arrived before dawn from a red eye flight and after a bit of confusion about being picked up at the airport, which they don't do, the night manager kindly allowed us to check in early to our room. They provide a basic continental breakfast and non smoking rooms. The room was modern, clean and quiet but had a musty smell, It is very damp in Florida. The front desk put us in touch with a good rental car company who provided pick up and good recommendations to local area attractions. Everything was within a 15-30 minute drive. It was a nice way to spend the first night in Fl before we left on our cruise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sliska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,024 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Property: Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Address: 1221 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing