We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ranked #38 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
548 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Very nice property, convenient location”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel had very nice accomodations - the room was large, modern, and clean. It was a bit pricey, especially for a best western, but location is everything:) The complimentary breakfast was fine, too. Waffles, sausage, eggs, and lots of other stuff. Nothing great, but it was very good.

The complimentary airport shuttle was a nice touch, as well. All in all a good option when needing to stay close to the airport and cruise terminal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kencatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    442
    193
    65
    53
See reviews for
370
445
81
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Room with two double beds (not facing McDonalds) was very quiet and comfortable/clean. Shame about pool side! Rack for towels empty ALL day. Dirty overflowing ashtrays from the night/early smokers. Furniture needs repair/replacing. Heater in pool so hot no refreshing swim available

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In2pets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the kind of service that you appreciate, because it is rarely this good. Front desk was outstanding. If cruising, take the shuttle ($8 per person), and get the return sticker, they will drop you at the airport after your cruise. The pick up at the airport is free. The free breakfast is pretty decent also.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room, just ask for it , they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thincinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I read several mixed reviews about this property before our trip. I chose this hotel due to the favorable experiences with other Best Western hotels. It took quite a long time for the shuttle from the hotel to pick us up at the airport. There were many other shuttles for other hotels streaming through the pickup areas but not the Best Western shuttle. The cab lanes were nearby and we considered a cab. I called Best Western and they told me he would be there in 15 minutes or so. Once he arrived, I sat up front and asked why it took so long. He said that he was the only driver that night and he was working as fast as he could. In the mean time he told me of places near the hotel where to find sandwiches, etc. Nice fellow.

Upon arrival to the hotel the guests lined up to check in and that did take a bit of time. The staff was friendly and the delays were caused by guests and questions about the area. The staff maintained good customer service with the two people checking in the 6-7 groups.

The room was a King bed room and was very large and the bed was comfortable. The hallways did show some use but the room and bathroom was clean. There was no odd smell as some guests have reported.

The breakfast area was large enough with about ten tables with chairs and many guests were utilizing the waffle maker. The breakfast station offered a good varitey of complimentary breakfast items, including sausage, juices and milk. It was a clean area. The shuttle to the cruise port was reasonably priced at $10 and saved a lot of anxiety since the traffic into the cruise port area was a mess, squeezing several lanes of vehicles in to just a couple of lanes entering the port area. The driver was very nice and safe for the passengers.

Overall, our experience with the Best Western and its ammenities were very satisfying, allowing us to transition our way into vacation mode.

Room Tip: We chose the larger, King bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BronDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the night before flying home from a Florida Keys vacation. We chose it for its proximity to our car rental company near the airport. The property looks to have been redecorated. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Note: there are several fast food options in the strip mall next door if you're looking for something quick and don't want to drive. The hotel provides a nice breakfast. Overall it served our purpose.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Latebloomer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We'd booked here for our pre and post cruise stays. On the whole, the hotel is okay, but I felt for the rates charged [I am sure it's within the range charged through the city] there could have been some better options.

First off, we arrived in the evening, I called the hotel to enquire about the shuttle [and the clerk hung up on the first try] and then promised a shuttle would be there at 9 pm...by 925, I was a bit annoyed - called back to the hotel, and was told we must have missed it...Not so...we were watching and stopping any shuttle with Best Western logos. The clerk was unapologetic and didn't seem to care...she had challenges finding our room booking - so the experience was poor..

The next morning, we had breakfast [complimentary] - met up with our family from another area, then took the shuttle [$8 per person] to the cruise port. We also made arrangements for a shuttle to return to the hotel after our cruise [$10 per person - apparently the hotel subsidizes the outbound rate]

When we returned to the hotel on our return from the cruise - the staff were more helpful [it was daytime] and they stored our luggage while we waited for the room to be prepared. I felt this a better experience than the first night we spent in the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Cruiseport - and returning to this hotel post cruise - ensure that you pre-b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Long ago wrote off the Best Western (BW) chain of hotels as they had become old, worn and tired. A recent family emergency mandated being in the greater Fort Lauderdale/Miami area and, with the International Boat Show going on, there was not a room to be had. Could only find lodging at a BW in Fort Lauderdale.

Was dreading my arrival at the property as knew the bed would be saggy/lumpy, the general atmosphere dull and dismal and I'd be staying in a hotel in which I would NEVER stay, given a choice. I could not have been more mistaken!

The property was clean, neat, and had a good curb appeal. The lobby was pleasant, the staff attentive and kind and my room.....it was EXCELLENT. My personal accommodation was very clean, nicely appointed, well decorated and made me feel comfortable and at ease. Everything worked appropriately as nothing was inoperative. Loved the "clean remote control" and loved the fact on the bed there was only a duvet (which is laundered after each guest) rather than a spread from the previous 56 occupants of the room. There was absolutely NO street noise and the walls appeared to be well insulated as there wasn't even the sound of a TV from the next room.

Breakfast was a surprise as there were hot, scrambled eggs and freshly-cooked sausage in addition to the usual items found in a continental breakfast.

I WOULD stay here again and would also consider a future stay at another BW. It's nice to have been VERY wrong about something.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
5 Thank Eduard_Pineiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,018 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Property: Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Address: 1221 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing