We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-cruise rip-off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ranked #38 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pre-cruise rip-off”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is rather run down. Breakfast was very salty scrambled eggs and very greasy sausage cereal packaged danish juice coffee. Breakfast room very small. Don't bother eating here - go next door to mcdonalds. Room was ok and clean. For almost $200 for one night we expected much better. Add $8 per person for a shuttle to the port. Good grocery store next door.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    452
    200
    68
    57
See reviews for
389
454
84
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

There were 2 issues with the room.

1) Very bad stink/smell/odor in the rooms, felt like the carpets were not cleaned properly and dried thereafter.
2) The bathroom tub was collecting water and draining was extremely slow. Had to wait 15-20 min before you could take a bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank phillips_sumeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuswap Lake
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great hotel close to airport and cruiseport. Chose this hotel over other nearby Best Western we have stayed at previously because your airport shuttle ran 24 hrs. a day and our flight was scheduled to get in at midnight (then delayed 2 hrs.)

Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Very efficient shuttle service, rooms clean and comfortable.

We stay in many Best Westerns each year and found your hotel to be a "find".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank preschoolpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Everything was just about perfect, very friendly staff, shuttle bus from the airport was perfect! Shuttle bus to the cruise port, although contracted out, was not reliable. This is not the fault of the hotel.

Otherwise, we had a very enjoyable stay, as always, at Best Western.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank LARRY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We got an amazing price on a room right through the Best Western website. Somethind ridiculously cheap, like $59.99. Figured I was going to get what I paid for, but we got much more.

Shuttle service from the airport was fast and the driver was very courteous. The hotel is located alongside a busy highway, but our room faced the back and was nice and quiet. Bed was VERY comfy and the sanitary remote control cover was a nice touch. Room was clean, big bathroom. Very good complimentary breakfast. The pool area out back was big enough, and clean. Lots of smokers out there though, would be nice if it was smoke free.

There are several restaurants within walking distance, although you have to cross a busy off ramp from the highway and walk under the highway. There's a large plaza on the other side of the highway as well, with an Old Navy, K-Mart, etc. Good for some last minute pre-cruise shopping. There's several fast food places as well. When walking back to the hotel from that area, be sure to cross the main street BEFORE the highway, or else you're stuck without a crosswalk and have to make it across a very busy street.

Check-in and check-out were simple. We were picked up by SAS Transportation for the ride down to Miami.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and we did not hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CDNJehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before our cruise from Miami. The hotel has a free airport shuttle, which was nice, but takes a little while as it stops at some other hotels as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, but nothing fancy. It was good enough for one night before our cruise. Also, it was convenient for us that SAS Transportation picked us up there to take us to the Port of Miami. The free breakfast wasnt that good, but there are a couple of restaurants nearby, as well as a Winn Dixie, which was good for picking up snacks, etc. for our cruise. It wasn't much, but a decent place to stay for the night. Would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wings34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,029 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Property: Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Address: 1221 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing