We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here on a few separate occasions and every time i do the hotel continues to impress me. Great location close to ocean drive, clean rooms and friendly staff make this hotel a great pick! The bw chain of hotels are top notch and rooms are priced right

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY01453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Gary,
On behalf of our staff and Best Western we thank you for your continue patronage. It is guest like you that make our day great. Thank you for the lovely review. Looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    543
    212
    69
    48
See reviews for
382
491
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Short taxi ride from the cruise port. Perfect location for pre or post cruise stay. Steps from the beach, many restaurants and shops, lots of activity. Great area for walking. Only downside of this hotel was the air conditioning which hopefully they will look into, it was noisy, looked old and ran all night which contributed to interrupted sleep. On our second night, we left the door ajar in order to get some air flowing through. Pool side is the best location for a room. Good breakfast and on nice days pleasant to eat outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maddie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Maddie,
We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the beach and all that the area has to offer. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about it. I apologize for the noisy a/c we are looking into this and changing them as needed.
We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spent six days in this well located hotel. The staff are helpful and everything is spotlessly clean. On site parking is a bonus. The included breakfast is plentiful and a reasonable choice of hot and cold food is available. The swimming pool is clean and well maintained. Will not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor on the sun deck overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antho204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel may appear a little run-down (it is a Best Western after all, not the Sheraton (which is next door) or the Marriott down the street, but don't let looks deceive you. You walk the same path as the Marriott guests down the street do to get to the beach, which is probably about a 3 minute walk from the back of the hotel. The front desk staff is very accommodating. The included breakfast has the most items I have ever seen in a hotel breakfast - the food is spread out nicely, so there are rarely any crowds at any one station. The food choices also rotate, so you don't get the same food from one day to the next. None of the rooms have an oceanview, but you may get a sliver from the shared balcony (basically the balcony is a shared walkway) depending on which side of the hotel you're on. The locks on some of the balcony doors are questionable, so just a warning if this is a concern. The pool area never got loud when we were there in November. Parking spaces at the hotel (for a fee) are very tight. There is a small bar/lounge in the hotel which offers some room service items. Overall, a good value for what you get. Also, thanks to the previous poster who warned of the construction work next door at the Sheraton and the tip to request a room on the opposite side of the building.

Room Tip: Some 1st floor rooms are poolside; some 2nd floor rooms are on sundeck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannibal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was recommended sight unseen. For the price and location, it was an excellent choice. The rooms were very clean, a hot breakfast was included, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is old in areas, but it looks like they are updating the areas a little at a time. The bathroom was a decent size, very clean, the beds were comfortable. This was a 2 day stop before cruising. We were within walking distance to the Jungle Queen, the water taxi, a store and a restaurant. The beach was within a 5 minute walk. And the trolley stops nearby to take you downtown to the beaches and restaurants. Well worth the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Donna,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, specially since it was recommended to you. We continue to make improvements and enjoy reading our guest comments and suggestions.
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was the worst I have EVER stayed in during a visit to the US, and my advice is stay elsewhere. We booked a sun deck room, if you must stay here make sure you get one of these, as they are the only ones worth having . Having said that to get to them means traversing the dark seedy alley from car park to elevator, the depressing foyer, and dingy corridors. The staff were the most incredibly inept I have ever had the misfortune to come across. They messed up our booking bad style. When we arrived in the tacky foyer, a very miserable and combative trainee called paulina gave us a taste of what was to come. She insisted she couldn't find our booking demanding a confirmation which we gave her ,15 mins later still standing there tired an. d confused. No apology, or reassurance that she had now found it, she started to book us in . She was contradictory and was just hopeless and unpleasant. We asked to see the duty manager, eventually she called her after us insisting that we were unhappy. The manager Teresa came and was apologetic, and took over booking us in , unfortunately under someone elses booking details . This resulted in an "upgrade" that actually downgraded us from our booked sun deck room to a pool view room that was a lower grade than room we booked. When we realised what had happened I rang down and the mistake was discovered. It then took a further 30 minutes to get into the room we had booked and paid for, that was an hour and a half in total from our
arrival.
Our room was just OK, the sun deck was a filthy tiled verandah shared by the odd numbered rooms on second floor ( don't accept 209) with steps down to pool level unfortunately for us out of use due to painting. Talk about faulty towers, situation just went from bad to worse, Teresa gave ya a free drink ticket which I took to bar. There was no one behind bar just an elderly gent sat at the bar reading a paper. I asked him if the bar tender was around, to which he replied that he was the bar tender. No kidding ! He was unsmiling, and it was like I was disturbing him unreasonably to expect him to get us a drink. This place was just laughably bad, and we hated it. It's hemmed in all round and I am sure you could do much better.
By this time we had lost the daylight which impacted on our short stay in fort lauderdale.
The only positive about this hotel s location, but be aware you cannot see the ocean despite the name of the hotel.

Room Tip: Sun deck but ask them to mop round your table and chairs as the guy who s supposed to do it does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecaz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Cheshirecaz59,
My sincerest apology for the negative experience you had at our hotel. The lack of quality service you received is not normal and definetely not up to our standards. Unfortunately the trainee got flustered and made huge mistakes including not getting the supevisor involved promptly. I have shared with the staff all your comments and have taken steps to prevent situations like yours in the future. Once again my apologies.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#30 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#58 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,125 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#36 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,881 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
Address: 1180 Seabreeze Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#46 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach side Hotel, located just 100 yards to Fort Lauderdale Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western
Best Western Oceanside Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing